We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$169
View deal
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Marriott Hotels
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (675)
Room & Suite (275)
Dining (55)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from York Marriott Hotel
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#47 of 51 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howards, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel in York, United Kingdom. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms, the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style. Secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Cast Iron Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Park View
Languages Spoken
English
2558Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 780
  • 865
  • 522
  • 240
  • 151
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anne E C wrote a review 23 Jan
Uddingston, United Kingdom129 contributions137 helpful votes
This hotel exceeded our expectations. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable with a good view of the racecourse. The staff were pleasant and helpful especially the three young men behind the bar and the ladies in the breakfast room. The younger members of our group loved the swimming pool which was open well into the evening. A big bonus for us was the regular bus service into town. The no.4 bus arrives every 10 mins.and takes about 10mins. to reach the town centre even late into the night. The bus stop is right outside the hotel. The food in the bar was hot and tasty with quite a large choice to suit everyone in our group. This hotel was a good find and we will definitely be back when we next visit this beautiful city.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plenty of parking spaces in the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the York Marriott, i am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with and that in particular you were happy with the service from staff - these comments have been passed on to the hotel leadership team - and our wonderful Leisure facilities. i will look forward to welcoming you back when your travel next brings you to York Kind Regards
Read more
Rob wrote a review 23 Jan
Mold, United Kingdom28 contributions26 helpful votes
Pretty poor all round. Booked thinking it was a 4* but wouldn’t give it any more than a 3* at best. The whole place is dated, and the facilities poor. Room was adequate but everything is old, so no USB sockets to charge a phone, etc. Extractor fan in the bathroom not working, so it got very steamy. Breakfast was ok, but nothing to write home about. Staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, and that’s the only reason it gets as high as a 2/5. Not recommended for the ridiculous price - in hindsight wouldn’t even pay half as much.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the hotel facilities, i have passed on your comments to the hotel leadership team. i am happy to read that you had pleasant interactions with our staff at the hotel I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the near future Kind Regards
Read more
RickAA wrote a review 22 Jan
Warwick, United Kingdom18 contributions9 helpful votes
We stay in Marriott Hotels a lot as they are generally excellent. This can't be said for the York Marriott. We were upgraded to a two room suite type room, however, the heating wasn't working so we couldn't use the sitting room area as it was December and cold. The bedroom had an oil heater to compensate. You know when you're staying away, it's a treat, you work hard and want to enjoy your experience. This was hard at the York Marriott as so many little things just got in the way of our enjoyment. We had a 'clean' towel left in the room which can only be described as disgusting, stained beyond belief, you can't tell me the person leaving this could not see the stains, or maybe they just didn't care. We ordered flat whites with breakfast, they came luke warm, we told the person who looked to be in charge, yet 2nd day, luke warm and again and on the 3rd day. Where's the training or retraining. We orderd room service food on 2 nights, the gentleman taking the order couldn't be ruder if he tried. The worst part of our visit was the check out. We booked a late check out but left early as we were not enjoying our break. The 'curt' young lady who checked us out was award winning. She said "Do you want to pay your bill" I pointed out that the name on my TV screen account was incorrect so I hadn't seen my bill. Her reply "Yea well the system's down" I'm so sorry I was unaware of this fact, this maybe due to the fact I don't work for you so didn't know. That was the end of the dialogue with the young lady. No "How was your stay" "safe journey home" or "Merry Christmas Mr Allen". I've never had such an appalling check out at a Marriott hotel. On the positive side the room serve food was excellent as was the cheerful disposition of the young staff that brought it to our room. I'm writing this review as I'm in another Marriott who are getting it right and delivering the service that I expect from the Marriott group. You need to better York Marriott as I know for sure, we won't be coming back...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ots about a 20 minute walk into the city, but very pleasant.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, please accept my apologies for the things you have outlined above. I have passed on your comments to the hotel leadership team and I will be speaking with the receptionist that checked you out. I do hope that in the future we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the York Marriott to show that this is not our usual high standards of service. Kind Regards
Read more
davidY692ATgh wrote a review 7 Jan
Bristol, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi I’ve just spent 3 nights here. Rather disappointing; jacuzzi was not very warm, heating in the rooms was awful. First night was noisy due to next door. May I just ask why you cram everyone together when you have 5 floors. Surely when the hotel is very quiet like it was this week you could spread people out over the hotel so they can have peace. With reference to the heating there we’re fan heaters dotted around the bar. Clearly as another guest has said it’s a problem in rooms too. Ours was freezing. When I complained to Marriott about my experience they insulted me by saying they may give me 3000 points which they haven’t as yet. The equivalent of £15. The 3 nights including breakfast cost me £450
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review after your recent stay, in answer to your question about room allocation, when the hotel has less rooms sold we just this opportunity to ensure that Planned preventative Maintenance can take place and to minimize noise and disruption to guests as a hole, certain areas of the hotel are not used, however our reception desk is a 24 hour desk and any noise complaints can be reported and our team who will do every thing within our power to ensure that this is rectified to ensure that all guest have a restful night. with reference to the heating in the bar and the fan heaters dotted around the bar, these have been placed in the bar areas as we are following recent guidelines that windows should be open to allow the dispersal of any possible covid-19 particles in the air and so we placed heaters in the bar area to try and improve the overall experience for all guests. this has no reflection on the heat of bedrooms. further heaters and blankets/duvets are available if needed.
Read more
Sue Q wrote a review 4 Jan
Wellingborough, United Kingdom4 contributions
We stayed at the York Marriott hotel on 17/18 December 2021. When we arrived the lady on reception was quite matter of fact and didn't make us feel very welcome. We were directed to our room and were very disappointed with it given how much we had paid for our stay. It was very tired and needs a complete overhaul. Carpets were shabby, the wardrobe only had one door which when I asked at reception if that was right was told 'I'm not familiar with room 109'. The extractor fan was on all the time and when I asked for something to be done about that was told that 'maintenance don't work over the weekend, someone will have to look at it on Monday'. When I complained the receptionist said she would have a look and see what she could do. The bathroom was stark and tatty with protruding screws on the inside of the upvc window frame. It was also evident the blind hadn't been pulled down for some time as when we did use it there was a dirty line on it. One of the pillow cases was dirty and we asked for that to be changed, which was done, however the dirty pillowcase was left dumped on a chair in the room. When we spoke to reception and told them we were asked 'would you like it removed', not sorry we'll get that removed for you. The fire door at the top of the stairs was constantly left open which would be in breach of fire regulations. We closed it every time we went downstairs. We ate in the restaurant for the whole of our stay - breakfast was at best mediocre and the evening menu limited. The steak my husband had was certainly not the best. All in all not a very good or positive experience for the price and we certainly won't be coming back - not what we would expect from a major chain like the Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your stay at the York Marriott, your comments have been passed on to the hotel Leadership team to be investigated. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to our usual standards and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to see that this is in fact not how we usually operate Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott york, york marriott
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marriott York Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
151
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about York Marriott Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to York Marriott Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Goddards (0.1 km), York Racecourse (0.8 km), and St Edward The Confessor Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at York Marriott Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at York Marriott Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to York Marriott Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fox and Roman, Cross Keys, and The Blue Fin Fish & Chip Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does York Marriott Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to York Marriott Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.9 km), Holy Trinity Church (2.6 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (2.5 km).
Does York Marriott Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is York Marriott Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.