We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Steer Inn

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Steer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2012

stayed for one night and ate in the restaurant. speaking on the phone and in person the owner was friendly, helpful and polite, in a no-nonsense yorkshire way, which is what you want. the room was apparently one of the smaller ones (judging from the other reviews and the fire escape map), but even so it was perfectly adequate in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happygirl189
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked with Nigel for a weekend away with friends to go to York Races, all the staff were great and very accommodating, the food was amazing, the room clean. The whole weekend was brilliant the guitar playing and sing along on the Saturday night was a nice end to a great day out at the races, I can't say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We booked out most of this hotel as a family to stay for a wedding and we were very pleased with everything. The owners were lovely and accommodating, letting us check in early. A lot of us had lunch there before the wedding which was great. The rooms were good with tea/coffee making facilities, and the breakfast the next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimbob82
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Had lots of rustic charm, with very friendly and helpful staff, who went out of their way to accommodate myself and my colleagues. Bed was comfortable, shower a little on the weak side, but hot - stayed in room 4 and had undisturbed sleep. Tea/coffee facilities in the room with a TV. Breakfast (8:30-9-30) was delicious, with plenty of tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We booked these guys for an overnight stay when we were performing at Castle Howard, and they were a friendly bunch of guys, would definitely recommend them! :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garethlieske
Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a dive! My husband and I stayed at the Steer Inn as we were attending a wedding close by we booked the Steer despite the poor reviews more fool us! We booked a family room and arrived on the Friday night, the room was tiny and filthy! There were cobwebs all over the ceiling in the bathroom, mould on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apples2012
cram077, Owner at The Steer Inn, responded to this review

lets get this right, this posh woman books a family room clearly stating 2 adults and 1 child,then turns up with 3 children,we tried our best to accomodateher family,but the only room that would was an older room we hadnt refurbed yet,when asked if ok for her the reply was yes??next at no extra cost we served breakfasts for all...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed for one night and glad it was only that. THe staff were very nice but the hotel was disappointing. The room was ok but could do with a makeover. We ate in the restaurant that had life to to. Both of our first choice of food was off the menu and the second choice was not good. York on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nawtHertfordshire
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed for one night as some friends were getting married nearby. I arrived hours early but the owners were happy for me to check in - they were really friendly and drew a map for me so I could find the wedding venue. My room was good - had booked a single but was pleasantly surprised to find I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bexsmith82
cram077, Owner at The Steer Inn, responded to this review

sorry you wernt up for breakfast,and updating? its an east yorkshire inn and thats its character thats what all the good reviewers love,why would we take that away and make something that it should never be,. premier inn for you next time then,have a nice day

Sheffield
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel is a great little place and has its own little style. Room was great, minor moans where the remote control was broken, a dent in the wall. Aside from that was very clean. What made it for me was the lady who was running the place, she was really nice and very cheerful. Food was top notch in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil945
England
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I have just stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and would definitely recommend it, it’s located just outside York on a main road, our room looked onto this, but I had absolutely no problems with noise from it. The room was a spacious double, very comfy bed, well located plugs and lots of wardrobe space with plenty of hangers!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank threeholidaysperyear

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.6 km away
Alder Carr House
Alder Carr House
#1 of 2 in Barmby Moor
20 reviews
5.1 km away
Yorkway Motel
Yorkway Motel
#1 of 2 in Pocklington
170 reviews
14.3 km away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#59 of 192 in York
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
16.4 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,042 reviews
15.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Steer Inn

Address: Hull Road | nr Wilberfoss, York YO41 5PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Class:3 star — The Steer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Steer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steer Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Steer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If there is a good room in the place I would be surprised, based on our experience.”
603grahamc, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for the newly refurbished rooms”
660guyb, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear so you can't hear the road traffic as this is quite busy at times.”
ChristineT525, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
Yorkswheels, 18 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Find another hotel..”
56SallyC, 31 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5