We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
15 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (146)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (327)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 01/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from B+B York
Updated 01/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 51 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
B+B York is a privately owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel, offering four-star accommodation to our guests in the historic city of York. Situated just a few minutes from the famous city walls, we offer the perfect location for exploring the jewel of Yorkshire. We have 26 bedrooms, ranging from a single room to a large family suite. As well as stylish, comfortable bedrooms and delicious breakfasts, the property hosts a cosy hotel bar, serving wine spirits and local ales. The B+B concept is the brainchild of a group of like-minded professional hoteliers who have rewritten the rules, and created a new style of bed and breakfast hotel for the 21st century.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1547Reviews27Q+A95Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,059
  • 382
  • 75
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cmccle776316 wrote a review 25 Jan
1 contribution
We had a wonderful two-night stay at B+B York. We arrived before check-in and left the car in the car park whilst we went exploring. Check-in was thorough, efficient and friendly and we were able to make our breakfast choices there and then for waiter service in the mornings. The room was clean and had everything we needed; nice to have some chocolate each day! The ability to be able to grab a hot drink from the machine in the breakfast room, or a bottle of water, was very much appreciated. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and with staggered eating times (times of our own choosing), very well managed. York city centre was less than 10 minutes' away on foot and the receptionist suggested two great places to eat dinner - we'd go back to either again. Every staff member was polite and friendly. Our only negative was that the room was too warm, even with all windows open and the radiator turned down. Probably nothing more that could be done about this and we may be a little odd in wanting a cool room in January anyway! I would certainly not let this put me off returning to this lovely, well-run guest house.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at B+B York
Responded 2 days ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we really do appreciate it! I'm thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, We are happy to be able to offer chocolate in the rooms and some great amenities, which I'm glad you made the most off. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. For any future bookings, please do contact us at the hotel as we will beat or match any online price. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Joseph
Read more
lulubear12022 wrote a review 21 Jan
Leeds, United Kingdom1 contribution
Spotlessly clean, very friendly & courteous staff, great location within easy walking distance of the city centre this hotel was a great little find and I would happily recommend to everyone. Dog friendly too!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at B+B York
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we really do appreciate it! I'm thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the team. For any future bookings, please do contact us at the hotel as we will beat or match any online price. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Joseph
Read more
cnix475604 wrote a review 16 Jan
Preston, United Kingdom1 contribution
Very well run hotel in a fabulous location. Just a short walk into the centre, but nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Extremely clean, comfortable and friendly. We will definitely go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at B+B York
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay here at B+B York, we do appreciate it. I'm pleased to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us and that you will definitely stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. For any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel as we will beat or match any online price. Kind Regards Vicky
Read more
Jip001 wrote a review 9 Jan
Beverley, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with super friendly and helpful team. Special mention to Joseph who was very welcoming. Room was very clean and whilst not huge it had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Breakfast was first class, perfectly cooked and piping hot. Complimentary tea, coffee and water available in the lounge 24 hours as well as being well stocked in the room. Plenty of private off street parking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at B+B York
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jip001, Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time spent here and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
brown863 wrote a review 6 Jan
Suffolk1 contribution1 helpful vote
Rudeness from staff and no compassion when unable to keep booking due to COVID. My partner contacted hotel when initial LFT was positive, to be told not a problem in transferring dates .. checked LFT on day of arrival and was positive so contacted hotel to be told by rude assistant manager that he required another date on cancellation. We gave him a date on top of our heads to then be told the price had increased by another £80 odd pounds . We asked him if he could check what dates would match what we had paid to be told he doesn’t have time . Not helpful at all. He then put the phone down on my partner after he told him he was being extremely rude and unhelpful. Again my partner called back to tell him customer service was poor for putting phone down . As he wasn’t going to be spoken to like this he told them he no longer wanted the booking and cancelled the booking to my annoyance as that was £182.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at B+B York
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear brown863, At B+B York, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Our team have been working hard following guidance provided by industry professionals and the UK Government. In line with this, you are correct, we did offer you a date change (whilst you were out of your cancellation policy). However, our rates are not static and are different for every day of the year, for this reason - we are unable to check every date in our system to match your current rate. After reviewing the telephone call, I can confirm that your telephone call was disconnected due to the abuse and shouting that our team were subjected to. I'm sorry we weren't able to assist you on this occasion, however, as you can see from our previous reviews our team are more than happy to assist and work with our guests where possible. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the groves hotel york, groves hotel york
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Groves
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about B+B York
Which popular attractions are close to B+B York?
Nearby attractions include National Railway Museum (0.9 km), York Minster (0.8 km), and Shambles (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at B+B York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at B+B York?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at B+B York?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to B+B York?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Taylor Made Kitchen, Wine Stories, and Wheldrakes.
Are any cleaning services offered at B+B York?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to B+B York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.1 km), Holy Trinity Church (1.0 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (1.4 km).
Is B+B York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.