We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gillygate Guest House

Show Prices
#60 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Gillygate Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

A good location, short walk to the Minster and all that's in the centre of York. A small car park that is tricky with more than two guests cars. Rooms are ok, a little noisy at the front, a little more investment in the rooms and this could be one of the best. The breakfast has a good choice but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilsFamilyView
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January with our dog in rooms 7 and 8. Rooms were really well decorated, warm and clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The only real criticism is that the shower lacked any oomph which was a bit disappointing. The bar areas were really nice and the atmosphere was great, a nice departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Thats grand you had a good stay at the Gillygate Pub with rooms but you have us mixed up, we are across the road and don't have a bar as we are the Gillygate Guesthouse.. But overall its great to hear you had a good time in York. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This guesthouse is located in the city centre within walking distance of the Minster and National Railway Museum. There is a friendly welcome and the breakfast was freshly cooked. My single room was quite cramped and drafty, since this is an old building. But at the back there was no problem with traffic noise - this might be an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with our experience. We found Mark to be very helpful and genuinely friendly, he made a real effort to engage us in conversation and made us feel very welcome. Checking in and out was very easy and hassle-free. The room we stayed in was perfect, literally no complaints. The décor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bexxie11
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks and its grand to hear from you... take care and will happily cook the scrambled egg for you when you visit next.. All the best.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night with friends for some shopping and drinks. Ended up in the attic twin double room, could hear the water running constantly and the wind was loud (no warning of this) The shower isn't ensuite and next to the room, meaning you had to leave the room in the night to use it. The shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, thank you for your feedback as its always valued, but Id like to reply and explain. Firstly we have a long standing reputation especially with this room with many returning guests very happy in there and love this room as it gives privacy and own space to the two people. Unlike other twin rooms where your next to...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Just got back from 4 days staying at this lovely place,our 2nd time with Mark n Joyce who make you feel Very welcome,we stay on the first floor which has 3 rooms very easy access as I have a knee condition,our room was lovely perfect size with a small sofa in, ensuite and wall mounted tv ,really comfy bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinknmoo
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi and thats grand to hear from you, we look forward to seeing you again next year as it will soon pass.. I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year.. Warm regards, Mark and Joyce

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Stayed for one night, friendly guest house with parking which is ideal for those who want to be within walking distance of York city centre, this is an ideal location as York Minster a few minutes away and a 5-10 minute walk to the shops Twin room clean and warm although due to low beams and separate toilet will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheena K
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sheena, Thanks for this.. Great to hear from you and hope you had a great Christmas and New Year.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Location is excellent. The cooked Breakfast is pretty good with the portion size more than adequate. The owner, Mark, was very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was quite hot but that was easily solvable as the radiator had its own thermostat. Only complaint was the bathroom was quite compact but as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, Thanks for this and we look forward to welcoming you again.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Just a block from the old walled city this BnB is great. Marcus will park your car expertly and bring it to you when you leave to pack out. Stayed for two nights in a comfortable room,with not much of a view and many stairs, but we loved the location. Breakfast is very good as well as the service and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marquittaholtsclaw
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for review.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The owners are very friendly, and the rooms are very comfortable, clean and well decorated. The breakfasts are amazing!! I love that you can pick the time and what you want to eat, very useful for picky eaters like me. A lovely stay and we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrulyYorkshire
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 km away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#42 of 206 in York
347 reviews
0.3 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#27 of 206 in York
962 reviews
0.3 km away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#167 of 206 in York
88 reviews
0.1 km away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#38 of 206 in York
832 reviews
0.2 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#31 of 206 in York
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished, high quality, boutique style accommodation offering locally sourced breakfast, next to the city walls and within 5 minute walk of the Minster and city centre. Luxury rooms all en-suite. Free private parking and WIFI throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gillygate Guest House

Address: 43 Gillygate, York YO31 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: RM402 - RM593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gillygate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gillygate Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gillygate Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Might be noisy at the front”
 of 5 bubbles stevepmorris, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would advice those with poor mobility not to book the twin bedded room, but to choose a double room with ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles SheenaK569, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book the attic unless you like cramped spaces and LOTS of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles marquittaholtsclaw, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms over the road are surprisingly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TrulyYorkshire, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“So close to the city centre.”
 of 5 bubbles Billycat64, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay