We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Show Prices
#22 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 484: English reviews
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and myself recently stayed for a long weekend at Bootham Gardens - we stayed there twelve months ago and booked again as it was such an enjoyable visit. Anne and Ian are superb hosts, nothing is too much trouble, the breakfasts are absolutely wonderful, location is a quiet road ten minutes from the city walls, the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malr
Lyman, South Carolina
Reviewed 29 October 2013

great spot, for a leisurely 15 minute walk into town! You can even hear the Minster bells from the house. Several restaurants within walking distance. the car park only holds 2 (very) small cars, but you may be able to park out on the street. Good wifi service in the rooms, free computer access in breakfast room. Breakfast was great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anissa B
Essex, England
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at Bootham Gardens (for the second time) for the York marathon weekend. As last time, Ian and Anne were wonderfully welcoming and helpful. I've been visiting York since my teens so have a pretty good knowledge of the City but for anyone who's new to town Ian and Anne have put together a wealth of information about places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UltraKaz
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for that and please remember clicking on the Bookings.com calendar will always show no prices availability even when I have rooms available. This is because I have refused to pay TripAdvisor £159 per bedroom per year AND 22% of the gross value of any booking through them. In effect I am being blackmailed. They also refuse to remove false...

tarporley
Reviewed 24 October 2013

All the reviews are spot on ## we have stayed in a few B/B in York as we go to the racing .this B/B is a great find we will not be staying anywhere else when we go to york all i can add to my review is FANTASTIC FANATICS

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beechbabe043
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for that and please remember clicking on the Bookings.com calendar will always show no prices availability even when I have rooms available. This is because I have refused to pay TripAdvisor £159 per bedroom per year AND 22% of the gross value of any booking through them. In effect I am being blackmailed. They also refuse to remove false...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having cancelled a booking at another York B&B due to unbelievable rudeness I was just glad to be able to get a place at such short notice. We really landed on our feet here. Ian and Anne extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was superb with quality ingredients, no basic value sausages etc...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil1864
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for that and please remember clicking on the Bookings.com calendar will always show no prices availability even when I have rooms available. This is because I have refused to pay TripAdvisor £159 per bedroom per year AND 22% of the gross value of any booking through them. In effect I am being blackmailed. They also refuse to remove false...

Tonbridge
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A really, really good find. Ian and Anne very welcoming. My single room had all the facilities needed, was clean, comfortable and well furnished with very nice ensuite. A huge difference to the single room broom cupboards (with narrow short beds) that I usually get.to stay in. Breakfasts superb. Huge choice, quality food, home made bread and preserves, all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3RDP
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very convenient location close to walled city. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast great. A computer was placed in the dining room for guest use - this was great. The proprietor was friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waterfall21
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently returned from our second stay at Bootham Gardens and again it was brilliant!! Ian & Ann are both extremely helpful and very welcoming. The choice of breakfast is fantastic and caters for everyone, there is an extensive range of jams and marmalades, including Gin on toast!!!! The rooms are imaculate and very comfortable, just what you need after...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dawn A
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What can be said, we have stayed at numerous Guesthouses throughout the UK and this is definitely the best so far. Anne and Ian were great, the food brilliant and plenty of it, rooms very clean and spacious, water piping hot. The hosts full of info and advice, very friendly, a home from home. Great Criac was had by all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vera A
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our first stay with Ian & Anne. What a delight! A warm welcome to start with. Our room was well appointed and very clean. We stayed for four nights which was nowhere long enough to see all the sights so we have booked six nights for 2014. Breakfast was delicious - home cooking at its best, and all freshly cooked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 km away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 206 in York
289 reviews
1.8 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 206 in York
327 reviews
0.5 km away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#17 of 206 in York
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.5 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 206 in York
651 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#3 of 206 in York
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: RM435 - RM685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bootham Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bootham Gardens Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lancs
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bootham Gardens Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only 6 rooms, two upstairs and 4 down,”
 of 5 bubbles carolwN7284FM, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The single room was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles paulrB9408XK, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are on the ground and first floor. Ours was a twin on the ground floor overlooking the owners garden and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 95julieah, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps downstairs is a good option”
 of 5 bubbles tgricho, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 5 and it was lovely and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 661amandad, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay