We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin York

Show Prices
#18 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,435: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin York
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was incredibly disappointed with my stay last weekend. I have stayed at the hotel a few times over the years and frequently visit the Hotel du Vin in Wimbledon and I have always had excellent service. There was a wedding taking place in the hotel during my stay (which I was not advised of when I booked) meaning that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fann77
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arriving in York is interesting and the satnav helped. The Hotel is situated on a main thoroughfare into town. As all of the HdV units this was housed in an old orphanage but there are a significant number of rooms in new builds. The entrance has the usual character of the group and from the reception you enter a hallway...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael O
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Good * Beautiful building * Beautiful interior * Attentive staff * Parking at the hotel * Food = Amazing * Beds are the comfiest ever * Location of hotel * Bar Menu * Shower is amazing * Bath in the room was perfect relaxation aid Bad Points * Two nights wasn't enough Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here , will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maemaelove1
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear maemaelove1 Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards Matt Strawford

Atlanta
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We hadn't stayed in a HdV for over 10 years so were looking forward to returning to one. The Hotel was great. Situated close to town, with about 5 mins walk to the wall. Quite a few bars and restaurants nearby. Our rooms was great - large with everything we needed. We had dinner in the Bistro and the quality...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan_ATL
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Jan_ATL, Thank you for such a fantastic review on Hotel du Vin, York. We really do appreciate such wonderful feedback and we hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards Matt Strawford

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Attending a wedding in central York over Easter,this hotel was the ideal base.As a family we booked three rooms,all were excellent,the bistro was really good and breakfast wonderful,not cheap but worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Jo S, Thank you for your review on Hotel du Vin, York. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards Matt Strawford

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although very stylish this hotel has got to be one of the poorest places I have stayed in. For how much we paid for our room, the bed was really uncomfortable, one towel was dirty when we arrived, and it was ridiculously noisy. Whenever anyone in the room below flush their toilet or ran a bath, you heard it. That's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Queeny113
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Queeny113, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel du Vin, York. It is disappointing to hear that you were unhappy with the aspects of your stay that you have mentioned. I do hope your recent visit to us hasn't hindered any future reservations and our reception team would have...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very nice and looks good on the surface, tidy and clean, based on the people staying it seemed a bit like a business boutique hotel for groups. We had a basic double room which was very nice, spacious, nice bathroom with a tub, pretty good bed, most importantly clean. The cons of this place are the following...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smaskifa
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Smaskifa, I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear you were unhappy with your bedroom during your stay, Please do feel free to make reception aware of any issues you have in the future and we would be more than happy to find an alternative room for you. I...

birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a night here over the Easter holidays, and was extremely impressed. We were met by the receptionist, who was very friendly and presentable. The room was spotless and the amenities were impeccable. We stayed for breakfast which was delicious. The selection of fruits, yogurts and oats was a lovely touch. The location is not too far from the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pughleah
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear pughleah, Thank you for your fantastic review on Hotel du Vin, York. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Matt Strawford

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent 2 nights here for my wife's birthday treat and upon check-in were advised that because it was a special occasion we had received a complimentary upgrade. The suite we were given was amazing, a huge amount of space and comfort with a fantastic roll top bath and a walk-in monsoon shower as well. We also found the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James P
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear James P, Thank you for your 5 Star review on Hotel du Vin, York. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with your complementary upgrade. I hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards Matt Strawford

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I will start with the negatives (just to get them out of the way)... first of all charging £10 per day for car parking at the rear of the hotel is disappointing especially when its highly likely that you would have paid a considerable amount for the room there. I understand that parking in York is a premium so the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DSJ-DSJ
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear DSJ-DSJ, Thank you for your mixed review on Hotel du Vin, York. I appreciate your feedback regarding the vegetarian breakfast and I will pass this feedback onto our Head Chef. However, it was lovely to hear you enjoyed your bedroom and that you found our staff helpful. I hope we can welcome you at some point in the near...

697 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (323)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (358)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Browns Brothers (24)
Viewed
Dom Perignon (30)
Viewed
Krug (27)
Viewed
La Grande Dame (41)
Viewed
Moet Vintage Collection Suite (34)
Viewed
Penfolds (37)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Tattinger (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Umani Ronchi (37)
Viewed
Veuve Clicquot (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,090 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,046 reviews
2.5 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.2 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Cuisines: French, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: RM537 - RM1,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in York
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
4 days ago
Beverley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Chester, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get there early to bag a car parking space,stay in a room at the back for most peace.”
JoS346, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you're bothered by traffic noise ask for a room with a window facing the backyard.”
Smaskifa, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request room to rear of hotel as main road can be busy”
, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't have Pol Roger”
kafrins, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 'Superior Rooms' a little extra but worth the cost but if you have a deeper pocket opt for a suite, ,sublime.”
jagojamesh, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5