We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel du Vin York

Show Prices
#16 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,398: English reviews
Sheffield
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I booked the junior suite for a surprise for my boyfriends birthday, everything exceeded my expectations. The staff were more than helpful and very knowledgable, the room was amazing with the roll top bath! I can't recommend this hotel enough great value for money! Made our celebrations extra special!

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aliciab908
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear aliciab908, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York, thank you for choosing us for your boyfriends Birthday surprise. It’s great to hear that you had an amazing stay, we take great pride in delivering consistently outstanding service and feedback such as yours helps motivate the team...

derby
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Picked this hotel for a trip to york for 4 days sightseeing. Picked it because it wasnt the cheapest but certainly wasnt the most expensive. On arrival the staff were very helpful were shown to our room which was immaculate, had everything in it and was spotlessly clean. The hotel is only 5 mins walk from the city wall within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KCGT
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear KCGT, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. It’s great to hear that you felt everything was first class, we take great pride in delivering consistently outstanding service and feedback such as yours helps motivate the team to hit those high standards. We very much hope...

Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for our wedding anniversary...upgraded to the bridal suite (for a small charge) and what a fabulous room! couldn't fault anything. Ate in the restaurant and food was delicious and service was faultless...couldn't find anything to fault! Well done Hotel du Vin! Would definitely come back x

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clare D
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Clare D, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your recent visit to Hotel du Vin York. We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, we are very glad we achieved this for something as important as your Anniversary. We very much look forward...

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Excellent hotel would recommend and stay again. Service was above par, atmosphere relaxed and genuine. Great location, good parking with no charges. Breakfast was delicious and varied choice - good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 82victoriaw
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear 82victoriaw, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your experiences. It just great for us to hear when guests such as yourselves are made to feel relaxed, and are able to appreciate our informal yet professional level of service we deliver, it is something we...

Sydney
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We in York by train from London and picked up our Avis car and headed GPS assisted to the Hotel du Vin. We arrived early and could not book in before 3pm. When we did arrive we were shown to the room but we had to take our own bags. There was no assistance. Our car was parked in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear John D, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify the areas you mentioned for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either...

Reviewed 22 July 2015

Never stayed here as I live 10 mins away. I eat here with my partner quite regularly as it's easy to book on OpenTable and they always seem to have space. The food is really good quality, the wine superb and they make excellent cocktails. The service staff are very attentive and the bar area although small is excellent to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard W
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Richard W, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a fantastic glowing review about Hotel du Vin & Bistro York, and more importantly for your continued loyalty to the Hotel which we value hugely. I would be very keen to meet to thank you in person, so please don’t hesitate to ask for...

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

What a lovely hotel! The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. Food great, especially the huge breakfast! We stayed overnight after our brother's wedding. The wedding breakfast was held in the main dining area. The evening reception held in one of the courtyards. Big car park at the rear. Modern facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CathB78
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear CathB78, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review about the Wedding you attended at Hotel du Vin York. It’s wonderful to read such positive comments from such a special day, and we very much hope that you will choose to return to the great City of York and use us as a...

Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Although there seemed little choice for better quality hotels (sorry York!), we picked the Hotel du Vin as the location was ideal and parking was on site. The first night (of 3) we had dinner at the hotel as we were tired, and oh dear, what a mistake. Service was derisory, and the food - my fish was overcooked and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabywiz
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Gabywiz, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify areas for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now or in the...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I stayed here on a solo holiday trip. The hotel is very convenient for the city centre & the railway station. I felt well looked after by all the friendly staff. The bed was comfy & the room large & quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruinLAR
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear BruinLAR, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out of your day to feedback about your recent experience. We are very glad that you have found a comfortable base to visit York, we like to be considered a home from home and it appears we have achieved that which is fantastic. We very...

Wimbledon, London
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We must have booked a larger room last time, because whilst the room was perfectly adequate in the annex rather than the main building, it was smaller (as was the bed), and if the weather was inclement, it wouldn't be so nice running across the short walk. Breakfast was good again. We had dinner last time and it was good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Mike W, Thank you for returning to Hotel du Vin York and for writing a review. We are happy that in general you enjoyed your experience, however a little sad we did not meet fully your expectations following your previous stay. We do very much hope you will choose to stay with us again when you come to returning...

666 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (298)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (154)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (358)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Browns Brothers (24)
Viewed
Dom Perignon (30)
Viewed
Krug (27)
Viewed
La Grande Dame (41)
Viewed
Moet Vintage Collection Suite (34)
Viewed
Penfolds (37)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Tattinger (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Umani Ronchi (37)
Viewed
Veuve Clicquot (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
977 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.2 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Cuisines: French, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: RM512 - RM1,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in York
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles M366EHanneb, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a superior room it's well worth the additional cost.”
 of 5 bubbles 521NEILS, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the one above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles gilbertpeter, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“pay extra and book superior, we will next time.”
 of 5 bubbles stephensE2602RH, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Arrive for brunch early to get the full experience.”
 of 5 bubbles Country-queen40, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5