We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawkwell House Hotel

Expedia.comUS$93*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hawkwell House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

966 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 924: English reviews
Start your review of Hawkwell House Hotel
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1 night, I had to ask for our room to be dusted as there was thick dust on the surfaces, phone, kettle, tv. It seemed as though the room had not been used for some time! It was dusted but not thoroughly. Visited the bar during the evening. Passed 2 receptionists on the way, the bar was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SP8Cambridge
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extremely disappointed after spending £3,000 (£30 a head) on my 50th Birthday. Agreed: disco - 7.30-12 Buffet to come out around 8.30 Table cloths and I would bring my own balloons Went in the afternoon to set up balloons only to arrive to a sit down meal setting, which I helped clear away. Received: disco started at 9.15 - 12...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisesJ5464MN
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear denisesJ5464MN, Thank you for your review following your party last year. I am sorry to hear that you have not received any follow up to any of your emails, we have had a change of team here in the last few months so perhaps you have been using an old address? I would be very happy to speak directly...

Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was lucky enough to win a competition to stay here for one night and now would love to return. The room was spacious and immaculate, the staff so friendly and the restaurant one of the best I've eaten in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shelley S, It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Hawkwell House and especially under such wonderful circumstances! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and I do hope we are able to welcome you again. Very best, Sally Russell

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in April 2017. The hotel is easy to find and close to the city just off the River Thames. We found the hotel to be a little dirty, more so the communal areas like the restaurants and bars. All the glasses seem to be dirty and chairs had stains in them. The hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shoegirlie2017
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shoegirlie2017, May I firstly thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in April and I am pleased that you found the all of my team helpful and friendly. I would imagine from your description that you stayed in one of our club superior rooms which have large atrium roofs (with opening...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed overnight at this Hotel. There was just l little hiccup in booking a large group of us in together, but apart from that we had a warm welcome and the Staff were very efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was spotlessly clean with a well stocked welcome tray. Plenty of tea, coffee, milk,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret S, Thank you so much for your five star review following your group stay with us recently. I am pleased you enjoyed yourself and especially pleased that the breakfast was such a hit... the best way to start your day of visiting Oxford! I hope we are able to welcome you again. Very best, Sally Russell

Helsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reception girl had very poor knowledge of English. Our party of 32 turned up early evening and she had no idea how to process their arrival. We asked for ground floor room and were given a random numbered key which was up two flights of stairs. Anyone seemed to go anywhere. Hopeless. No staff could direct us to our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleen B
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kathleen B, I am so surprised to receive this review but thank you for your time in feeding back. Your group organizer and other members of your party have already posted very positive feedback following their stay so I am sorry that your experience was so different from the rest of the group. Just to clarify, we had not...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was under quite unusual circumstances that I found myself at Hawkwell House in the early hours of Saturday morning. My first contact was with the reception manager Laurence who at 6am realising that I was in need of a place to stay told me to come over and they would work something out. And that he did! By 6.30am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redblue22
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear redblue22, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review! It was a pleasure to welcome you and meet you personally during your stay. Laurence was delighted to read he made such a great impression and the team were very happy with the chocolates left! Thanks again and I do hope we can welcome...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for bed and breakfast and evening meal before our vis it into Oxford. What a gem. The bedrooms were amazing, spotless very spacious tea coffee and water. Large bathroom with various toiletries. The evening meal was delicious and plentiful. The breakfast was waitress and waiter service and very filling and plenty of choice. The hotel had I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret M. Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to be able to welcome your group and I sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your journeys. Thanks once again and I hope we are able to welcome you again soon....

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night as a birthay treat for him, we wanted to swap our busy lives in London/Essex for the countryside. The hotel was lovely, from the moment we arrived the staff were brilliant and very friendly. We stayed in a superior room which was a good size with nice decor, it was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenziepe
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear laurenziepe Thank you so much for this lovely review! It was a pleasure to meet you both and I am so pleased that Rute and the team looked after you so well and in particular the cocktails were enjoyed! I hope the gin always tastes better in your new glass! Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 13 April 2017

A friend and I stayed in a twin room before Christmas. The hotel was nicely decorated and our room was clean and nice. However we were both exhausted in the morning because neither of us got any sleep. The beds were so hard that I twice had to check that they had put mattresses on our beds and that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WaterSteam
Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WaterStream, Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us last year. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the hotel. I am sorry the mattress was not to your taste, we have a mixture of sprung mattresses and tempur mattresses so if you do wish to stay again then just...

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Room with Outdoor Access (28)
Viewed
Superior Black and Gold Accents Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Green Accents Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (169)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.6 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,692 reviews
3.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
3.0 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.7 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: RM499 - RM1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley
Hawkwell House Hotel Oxford, United Kingdom
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawkwell House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hawkwell House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our Group stayed in rooms on all levels. We all agreed that the beds were comfy and the rooms were very quiet.”
J925UYmargarets, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Try and learn a foreign language as all staff were poor English speakers. Evening meal chaotic, poor menu. Service very slow.”
kathleenB629, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms will have lovely views I think. Tip, go for the honeymoon suite with jacuzzi for sheer luxury.”
redblue22, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My husband and I had 203 perfect. Spacious quiet lovely bathroom. View from window as far as the horizon. . No road noise. 10 out of 10”
M3558CDmargaretm, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you don't like super hard beds find another hotel”
WaterSteam, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$93* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$93
HotelQuicklyUS$100
TravelocityUS$93
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates