We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St Hugh's College

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
St Hugh\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of St Hugh's College
 Click to rate
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I totally agree with the below reviews that state it was a fantastic way to enjoy the student experience and stay at a place a third of the price of even basic hotels. I booked through speedybooker.com and the whole process was quick, easy and secure. I opted for the more modern looking Mablethorpe building. Generally everything was very pleasing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry G
AccomManager, Public Relations Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Many thanks Harry G for your positive review. We're glad you had a great experience at our lovely college. Apologies for the issue of the shower - this has since been looked into and rectified. Thank you so much for letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you again to St Hugh's.

Munich
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My room was an absolute disaster. Really. Very very dirty and damaged furniture. Dirty old carpet.Walls badly need fresh paint. Small cramped bathroom with mold everywhere. Super dirty shower drain grid. Refurbishment is badly overdue, and there is no possible justification for offering a room in such a state to customers. Just a shame... On the positive side, shower has...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Voyager059
AccomManager, Public Relations Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Dear Voyager 059, We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the condition and cleanliness of your room when staying with us recently. We would have done our utmost to offer you an alternative, had you approached us during your stay with your complaints. These are all student rooms in term-time, and are advertised as such. Unfortunately,...

Portsmouth
Reviewed 30 January 2017

For individuals such as myself, who lacked both the intelligence and the determination required to get decent "A"-Level grades, the opportunity to experience the joys of life as an Undergraduate at the oldest University in the English-speaking world would be forever denied to me. Or so I thought, until I discovered the "Oxford University Rooms" web site which allows ordinary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prickles1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Stayed there two nights recently and were very impressed. We were in the Main Building - the bedroom was a little old-fashioned and could maybe do with some updating, but that is really the only fault I can find; we were very comfortable, had no problems at all with noise, and the breakfast was superb. In addition we had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
AccomManager, Guest Relations Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Many thanks Sue for your positive review of St Hugh's. We are glad you enjoyed our tranquil gardens, which really are a delight. St Hugh's aims to be a more peaceful and spacious alternative to the hustle and bustle of city centre accommodation, but still within easy walking distance of all of the sights of the city.

Lifton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Was surprised to read of complaints about it being noisy as we were there during freshers' week & were surprised at how quiet our room was. Beds were comfortable, room serviced every day (not always the case in these establishments) hospitality tray replenished. Breakfast was better than many we've had in hotels. Great choice of cooked food which is buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay with St Hugh's College and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Frenchs Forest, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Great x2 days stay. We were upgraded to Dickson Poon build due to some renovations going on at St Hugh's. We are x2 couples visiting. One double bedroom turned out to be fitted with disabled facilities, microwave, cooktop, fridge, etc. very new & modern. My husband & I were given x2 single ensuite rooms on different buildings. Very clean &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms in the Dickson Poon Building to your liking.

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This is old school Oxford. Where the porter would rather you weren't staying and is rude to your face. I studied at Oxford for undergraduate and then MBA and am noting that only to say how much the non-welcome at St Hughs disgusts me - don't stay here until they change their night porter staff as they are rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We will be investing in further customer service and wider training programmes for our staff. If you were able to provide further details to help us address the issues you encountered by emailing accommodation.manager@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk we would be very grateful....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The rooms are old and poorly maintained. Bathrooms are shared. On top of that, the place is really loud and the sound of old wooden doors banging wont let you rest. No one show you to your room, they just give you a map and up you go. I would never visit again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil_Kimby
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We are in the process of instigating an extensive refurbishment programme of our accommodation. Our website does state that: “These have shared bathroom facilities” and that “Our rooms are basic”. When staying with us during term time, regrettably there...

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

After having used St Hughs for a rugby World Cup volunteers dinner, our Oxford Refs. society decided to hold our end of season dinner here. We were not disappointed. Met by attentive staff, with Champagne in the garden, it proved to be a chilly evening. They moved us inside with no problem. We then proceeded to dine. A tasty three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cynthiarob
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We booked rooms at St Hugh's so we could attend a conference on the site the following day. The rooms were charged at £100 per night so we were expecting something more than we received.. The rooms were tiny with only the absolute basics (bed, wardrobe, kettle, desk, light and bathroom), essentially a bedsit. The parking was also pretty bad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy F
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. The rooms provided for your visit are charged at £75 to include basic student accommodation in an Oxford College. Our website does state that: “Our rooms are basic, comfortable and represent good value for money. All rooms are provided...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.4 km away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
705 reviews
0.2 km away
St Margarets Hotel
St Margarets Hotel
#32 of 83 in Oxford
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#10 of 83 in Oxford
272 reviews
0.8 km away
Noa Residence
Noa Residence
#15 of 21 in Oxford
15 reviews
1.8 km away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#18 of 83 in Oxford
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whilst not one of the old colleges, St Hugh’s can offer accommodation set within fourteen acres of quiet, leafy North Oxford. Located just outside of the city centre, we are only a 15 minute walk from the main attractions of Oxford.We can offer ensuite bedrooms within the relatively modern Maplethorpe and Rachel Trickett buildings. We can also offer rooms with shared bathroom facilities within our more traditional Main Building. All rooms are provided with bed linen, towels and toiletries, and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Hugh's College

Address: St. Margarets Road, Oxford OX2 6LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: RM297 - RM437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
St Hugh's College Oxford, United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Hugh's College staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think you have much choice as to which room you stay in!”
  • The shared toilet and shower facilities at St. Hugh's College are clean and well-maintained
  • My study-bedroom in St. Hugh's College had everything needed to work, rest and play
Prickles1, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The main building is probably your best option; no en-suite bathrooms but this is made up for by convenience in other ways.”
suej452, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in Dickinson Poon building is great”
G1852JCjaned, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 61 was overlooking the garden”
15travels15, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in Maplethorpe building are fairly new and modern. Building has lifts, so this is helpful for people who have heavy luggage”
SingaporeSQTraveller, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5