We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 693: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

My fiancé and I stayed here on Saturday 28th March so we could attend a party in Oxford. The room was very spacious and clean, although the lighting was really poor so applying make up was difficult! We had breakfast included in the price, which was very basic, and the hot food pans were empty so we just had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SARAHandJAMES1985
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you thought that the hotel was expensive. Our room price includes breakfast, wifi and parking is free. We ask guests for a credit card swipe upon arrival to deter unruly, noisy people from staying. The credit card swipe is cancelled by the hotel after checkout Kind regards Chris...

England
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We stayed here for one night as we were going to see Derren Brown in Oxford. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was okay except that when you had a shower, the floor got flooded as there was only a curtain which did not reach down to floor level (this was an accessible room)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greeenie007
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection. unlike many other hotels we do not charge extra for breakfast. The vast majority of guests have indicated that they would prefer the selection to remain as it is rather than pay extra for breakfast. Our ownership group keeps a close...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Having never stayed at an Holiday Inn before, but having stayed at many different types of hotel we were disappointed with this. Although the room was adequate it appeared very basic. What made us decide not to book another Holiday Inn was the breakfast. It was very limited and most of it looked as if it had been standing around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you found our hotel to be expensive. We aim to offer a competitive rate in Oxford. We also do not charge extra for breakfast and parking & wifi is free. Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015

I arrived early evening for a two night stay for work. Booking in was quick and the staff pleasant. The room was nothing to shout about but clean, tidy and well maintained. Breakfast was the usual ‘continental’ type seen in most hotels these days. I did find the coffee better that usually served. As I was staying with work colleges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellkyn
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that to read that your were happy with what the hotel offered you. Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015 via mobile

I had a couple of nights on business staying at this hotel at the beginning of March. The rooms were clean and pretty well appointed for this sort of budget hotel. Free breakfast was included, as was basic Wi-Fi across the hotel. There is plenty of parking outside and it's only a short drive into the middle of town –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucasorg
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that to read that the hotel suited your needs Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

We were here on a Sunday night but the car park was still busy as was the hotel. The location is a bit far out if you plan on not nominating a driver for any ventures into town but that would be my only complaint, staff were friendly on check in we were given 2 keys and oir room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that the hotel suited your needs. I would just point out that there is another nice pub on the River Thames. The Kings Arms at Sandford Lock is about a mile from the hotel. Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 March 2015

I stayed here on a business trip and wasn't expecting luxurious accommodation by any means but I also didn't expect the dark and depressing surroundings I was met with. The staff are very friendly, I cannot fault them but the communal area is like something you would expect in a bus terminal, not a Holiday Inn. My room wasn’t very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYC_hasmyheart
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disppointed with certain aspects of your stay. The Vue Cinema building has three restaurants. Aziz Indian, Frankie & Benny's and Oxy Oriental. We have noted your comments re offering food in the hotel which will be passed onto the ownership company Kind regards Chris Mason General...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We've just spent our second visit here and enjoyed it just as much as our first. Pleasant, helpful staff, very good breakfast, comfy beds, very clean everywhere. Several months ago we stayed at the HI at Peartree, Oxford (almost twice the price but not as good as this Express) but we'd choose the Kassam HI Express any time. Yes, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuthS1977
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and that the location suited you. Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2015

First the review rating is not a reflection of the staff, I found all of these to be particularly helpful. For me it was the location which made me rate this Hotel so poorly (this is not the fault of staff). If you were attending a football match or an event at the small conference venue adjacent you might consider...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikky
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you did not like the location. There is a very regular bus service to the City Centre (buses 1 or 5), our taxi company has a £10 fixed rate to the City Centre and we are also near the Park & Ride. The City Centre hotels have limited...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Stayed here over a period of three weeks. In three different rooms and all were as cold as each other. The radiator whilst on full did little for the room at all. Not what you need in February in the UK... Apart from that, everything else was fine with my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you found the rooms to be too cold. We have extra heaters which we can put into rooms for any guests who want more heat in their rooms. Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

307 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Accessible Room (41)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Twin Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
8.0 km away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
590 reviews
9.6 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
7.1 km away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
10.4 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: RM348 - RM640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Express Oxford United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Oxford staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Oxford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 27 on the ground floor, quiet location and convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles Abogail, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a from away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Y3693ZFchriss, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Always try to get a room at the end of a corridor”
 of 5 bubbles Pezzaruss, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid disabled room”
 of 5 bubbles magix666, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not sure we were on ground floor and was ok”
 of 5 bubbles Q8849VIjanes, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5