We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Oxford Thames

Show Prices
#5 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Oxford Thames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,077 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,039: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Oxford Thames
 Click to rate
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this online with Secret Escapes, a chance to give our old car a run with friends. The hotel is located in a small village with a pub on the Thames, its an attrctive building with great facilities and our deluxe rooms did not disappoint, well appointed with robes, courtesy drinks and a chilled bottle of wine. The lounge bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eckingtonrooms
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Nice contemporary rooms, in quiet surroundings. Bed was large and comfy. Not particularly romantic but very pleasant. Breakfast had a good selection. Wouldn't call this a destination hotel, but it you are in the area it is a good choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAHoulwood8284
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear SAHoulwood8284, Thank you for your positive feedback of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you had a super stay with us and that all elements of your visit made us a good choice. We hope you will visit De Vere Oxford Thames again in the future. Warm regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stay here fairly frequently on business and was there this week again. I have to say it has improved considerably. The staff were particularly pleasant and helpful especially in the dining room. I joined 2 colleagues for dinner and the food was really excellent. Well done. Also the wifi was excellent and the new rooms on the ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy0106
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy0106, Thank you for taking the time to review De Vere Oxford Thames, and thanks too for your positive feedback. The team and I are delighted with your comments and so happy that you have noticed all the positive changes we have made and strive to make each day, to ensure all our guests, new and regular have a...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just had a one night stay with friends as was visiting the area Lovely hotel , big car park - easy check in and staff on reception were very helpful Had a lovely room , very big with sofas and spotlessly clean . We ate in the bar and the food was very good and reasonably priced , nice relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie d
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear julie d, Thank you for such positive feedback following your recent stay with us at De Vere Oxford Thames. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your whole stay experience and were able to relax and appreciate the ambience of hotel, the food and our grounds. I am thrilled too that you were able to experience your best nights...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is beautiful, particularly the reception and bar area. The staff were very professional and attentive, particularly in the restaurant where the food was great. The pool looked very inviting and I would use it next time. My only criticism would be that the room I was allocated was a little tired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemonsherbets
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear lemonsherbets, Thank you for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food and that the staff were professional and attentive. Thanks for your comment re your bedroom; we do have an on-going continual programme of upgrading and...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I wanted to get away for the weekend and found this little beauty in Oxford! It was so lovely and such a pretty location and building. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and the little touches in the room made the stay even more special. Free drinks and snacks and even fresh milk in the fridge for your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariasav84
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Mariasav84, Thank you for the super review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am so pleased that you found everything to be "perfect" and particularly delighted that the staff were pleasant and friendly. We look forward to your return visit to De Vere Oxford Thames. Many thanks, Jonathan Oldroyd

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at the hotel on the 19th April for 3 nights, I can comment as follows: 1) First impressions when we drove in was a very neat hotel. 2) All the staff were very polite and helpful, Diana who works in the restaurant who, even when busy could not do enough for you, very professional. Another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear David B, Thank you so much for your kind review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and your detailed and constructive review will certainly help others decide to stay with us. I hope you will visit De Vere Oxford Thames again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Whalley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Let's start with the positives. Very clean, nice grounds, pleasant staff and plenty of parking. On the negative side the breakfast was only of average quality and beware of the bar where the prices are quite high ( a pint being around £5.80 and a double Irish whiskey over £12. The main issue however is that the hotel just lacks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fussyhotelguest
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear fussyhotelguest, Thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed and surprised that you found the hotel lacks character and atmosphere. The Hotel is an amazing historic and characterful hotel, dating in parts from the 1500s and built in attractive Cotswold stone, set in 30 acres of idyllic grounds, leading down to the River...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is set in pleasant grounds and not too far from Oxford if you have a car. I used it for a one night stay while in the area with work. The grounds are attractive and the hotel is nicely decorated but it seemed a bit lifeless to me. Although staff were helpful and friendly they were often stood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24HoursFromTulsa
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear 24HoursFromTulsa, Thank you for taking the time to review De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience, but obviously disappointed that you did not feel the "wow factor". We certainly strive to exceed our customer's expectations each and every day and will take your feedback and share it...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was lovely. Staff very helpful and the housekeeping came in to spruce our room up every day and that was fabulous.Made the beds, replaced towels and beverages. There is also a silver tray that has a few other drinks on it, including wine and we wasnt sure if it was some kind of mini bar/service tray that may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl K, Thank you for your review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we will of course use your constructive feedback to improve and make changes where we can. If you have booked and payed for a Superior or Deluxe bedroom, the complimentary drinks tray is included, but...

543 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
College Chic Room (26)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Balcony (22)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Terrace (20)
Viewed
Garden Chic Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sitting Area (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.8 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
5.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.7 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,661 reviews
5.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
663 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: RM623 - RM1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford
De Vere Oxford Thames United Kingdom
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Family Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 24/25 overlook the garden and were quiet”
eckingtonrooms, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“New rooms on ground floor”
Jimmy0106, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the executive with a view!”
JoN705, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“overlooking the thames”
beeniecrew-182, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden room”
lisamZ7510RW, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5