We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,888: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I must be honest, I'd never heard of pentahotels. It was the venue for a friends party so I got a special rate.It is an ideal location very close to Reading centre and not too far from station. Check in was efficient and staff friendly. My room was clean and the bed was huge and comfortable.The breakfast one of the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilslondon
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very disappointed. This is supposed to be a quality hotel - having the reception off the end of the bar does not scream high class. The staff were young and unhelpful - no porter or concierge service which meant having to struggle with the luggage trolley ourselves. The music was appalling in the public area and 2 of the 4... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
Framingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First off the hotel staff is great and I mean all the hotel staff. Very genuine and friendly. Pro: Cool decor nice gym great hotel bar area good food good comfortable beds and pillows Con: Very hard shutting room entry doors Impossible from keeping the shower water in the shower

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aleksjd
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, and were well looked after by the team. I am sorry that you found the doors hard to close and had issues with the water in the shower. The team are on hand 24hrs to help with absolutely anything so please... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Five stars overall for location, ambiance, reception staff, cleanliness etc. The only minor nuisance was the heating, had to keep it at max (30C on highest level) to keep the room warm for our taste - there was a pretty chilly air coming from the Windows (which don't open btw). But that being said, it truly was a great stay.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lucianf
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am really pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, and were well looked after by the team. I am sorry that you had issues with the heating. Please be assured that this will be looked into. Should you ever require additional heating then please just see the team who... More 

Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed here for business about 20 times previously but took a break because they don't remember the fact that I have stayed before and ask me for my address every time and the internet is so slow I can't watch a programme on my iPad. I thought I would try them again and guess what they still didn't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ant W
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the team did not personally recognise you on your return visit. The team do their upmost to remember our returning guests so apologies for this. Due to the way your reservation was made, there were not notes put on to advise you had stayed before, nor had any of your personal... More 

Ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything about this hotel is ok, except that in the foyer and restaurant they play intolerably awful music, very loudly. I mentioned this to a receptionist, which said "I share your pain". One could hardly do more to create a bad first impression.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank keithkeithkeith2014
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the music. We have a huge abundance of music that streams through the hotel and plays a massive aray of different styles of music to suit the time of day. I am sorry that you did not like... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My second time staying here. And it seems like deja vu. Stayed here for the RTS dinner dance. And for the second year in a row the darn lifts were down to 50%. Bit of a problem in a fully booked hotel. Rooms were fine great in fact but staff seemed unsure what to do. They were completely and utterly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you were not totally satisfied with your visit to us, this is most disappointing to read. I note from your review that you state that one of the lifts was down this time last year. Having checked my records I do not see this. The day before your arrival we did in fact have... More 

Cranleigh
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very good stay. One annoying thing was the big screen in the bar - what's the point of having it if there is no sky sports and a dreadful picture quality like we were stepping back in time to the 80's !!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank benalistairc
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we could not provide you on the big screen with what you wished for . We do have Sky Sports 1, but not 2. We also have several other sports channels inc BT Sports. I hope this did not deter you from having a great stay with us. Best wishes Steve... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My first time staying at the penta hotel in Reading and I was pleasantly surprised. Rooms are very nice, clean with really comfy beds plus an excellent shower. My only negative comments are that the staff behind the bar don't exude customer care and it is very dark in the lobby and bar area. On a big plus breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard J
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am really pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and really enjoyed the rooms and showers. I will pass on your comments to the bar team as this is disappointing to read. Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast, this is great to read. We hope to... More 

Bracknell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Highly recommend this Hotel, but you really need to use the "Penta Gamer Suite" if budget will allow. The biggest bed, the biggest bath, PS4....and a retro Pin Ball Machine! A great location in Berkshire.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. It's really great to see that our newly designed penta gamer suites are been thoroughly enjoyed to the full. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another great stay. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team. More 

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 km away
The Forbury Hotel
The Forbury Hotel
#2 of 32 in Reading
447 reviews
0.5 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
853 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
873 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: RM381 - RM1,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Pentahotel Reading Berkshire
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Reading staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
3 months ago
Essex, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quieter room on a higher floor, when you book”
 of 5 bubbles 727nickl, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try not to be in a room facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles 560lulua, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the expressway and on higher floors should be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles divtao, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you despair the morning's sun but with little noise from 5th floor, rooms on the west side enjoy the view of Central Reading.”
 of 5 bubbles MariosC140, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upper floor as the road can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles B1159XDvictoriac, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay