We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

pentahotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,072 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,001: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The prospect of 4 nights in Reading didn't fill me with joy but I have to say that the staff at the Penta hotel really helped keep my spirits up. I love the relaxed atmosphere and the staff are so friendly without being sickly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank StewBow
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us, and that the team looked after you well during your 4 nights with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes Steve Thorne-Farrar Operations Manager

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Penta, both times on business. I found a room for £89 on LateRooms.com which is very good value (breakfast not included). The bar is a good place for a drink with a variety of seating options and a decent house white. The rooms are clean and spacious and reasonably furnished, slightly disappointed there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm really pleased to read that your second visit was brought on by a great first visit. Please do let us know in advance if you require a bath in your room. These cannot be guarantee but we always do our best to allocate where possible. Great that you enjoyed...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I have stayed at the Penta hotel a few times now for Business and do love the rooms and hotel in General but theres a few things that let it down. The rooms are generally too warm in the summer and can be cold in the winter. On my stay this week the room was too warm even with the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittykat75
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you were not able to open your window. Please do let us know if you have any issues as a member of the team are always on hand to assist our guests 24/7. As you will have noticed on our adjoining building, it is having a refurbishment....

Reading
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Hotel and room are good, however my room was at fromt and I was disturbed by noisy drunks in high street until 1am. Also, the WiFi did not work due to local fibre problems. Breakfast was good, however not replenished quickly enough e.g. no fried eggs available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkT2907
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you were disturbed during the night. Should this happen on a future stay, please call the reception team as they will be more than happy to go the late night revelers move along. I am sorry that there was an issue with the wifi on the...

.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We came just for 1 night and found the Penta Hotel very easy, in the middle of the city. The room was clean and very comfortable especially the bed. The staff were professional, helpful and very friendly. We'll definitely use this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peeterss2016
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Great to read that you had an excellent stay and were well looked after by the team. I'm really pleased to read that you enjoyed our location in the town center and loved our great bedrooms and huge beds. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best...

London
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I stayed at the Penta for business on a Sunday night. It is a great hotel with lovely staff, spacious room, awesome breakfast and a good, fun vibe on arrival. Added bonus: the bar is open all night, and hot food is available all hours.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katw259
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us. Great to read that you loved the team, your room and our brilliant breakfast....and of course our 24/7 bar which service great cocktails as well as a fully stocked bar with great beverages. We hope to welcome...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This was a short 2 night break. The location is excellent for the city centre without being right in the hustle and bustle of Reading. Friendly staff, there if you need them whilst leaving you to yourselves. A pleasant overall stay and the smoking room was a very welcome option to save those trips in and the building! Would be...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HSignum1
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really pleased to read that you had a brilliant stay with us and were taken good care of by the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another stay. Best wishes Steve Thorne-Farrar Operations Manager

Slough
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Black out curtains in room 607 were broken. Let the light in as unable to close fully. Ideally would like onsite parking. Nice to have a complimentary late checkout on Sunday's. Snack vending machine is very overpriced! Hairdryer was very low power.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabrinasJ1950BV
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you found the blackout blinds were not working correctly. I will have the team check this out immediately, but please accept my apologise for this. Should you require a higher power hairdryer on your next stay, please just see the team who will be...

hull
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a trip to reading 2 weeks before we were due to go. This hotel cost £148 for two nights, no breakfast. Which at last minute is a good deal, however we got put in a room that was next to the motorway. The room was that hot you needed the window open to sleep... But the noise made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demi-leigh A
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I m sorry to read that you did not enjoy the room location on this occasion, but please do see the team should you return who will do their best to allocate you in a location that you feel is better for your needs. Our bar is very competitively priced...

Chicago
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Overall, the hotel has a great vibe--nice decor, cool music and lighting in the lounge/bar/reception area, nice modern appointments in the rooms, nice breakfast offerings--but there are few details that made my stay unnecessarily unpleasant: 1. Wifi - The free wifi is TERRIBLE - only 0.2 MBPS--a throwback to the days of dial-up. Having to pay extra for reasonable speeds...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drew589
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for the issues you encountered with our wifi. This is something that our team is looking into as I type. I am sorry you found the room too warm, but do hope the team put some additional fans into your room to keep you comfortable. We are currently...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
889 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,669 reviews
0.7 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 32 in Reading
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: RM332 - RM907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Pentahotel Reading Berkshire
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Reading staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
25 days ago
5 months ago
Essex, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great bar for pre dinner drinks - stays open late”
 of 5 bubbles Char21A, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back in the centre. Much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles M4J1K, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Lisa21MiltonKeynes, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room as the road noise can be excessive.”
 of 5 bubbles jpktrk, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quieter room on a higher floor, when you book”
 of 5 bubbles 727nickl, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5