We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

916 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 882: English reviews
Start your review of Hillingdon Prince Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just returned from a girls weekend away in Reading, staying at The Hillingdon Prince Hotel. I have to say, I was a little worried after reading some recent reviews but I should not have been! The hotel staff were really friendly upon arrival and checking in was quick and easy. We were arrived early,but the hotel staff checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelp81
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a great detailed review to help other guests when choosing our hotel in Reading. My breakfast chef was very pleased to have feedback on her food, we do pride ourselves on buying good quality products from local butchers, farm shop etc I am glad you liked the facilities in the bedrooms inc our fridge and...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had two rooms for one night for our trip to Reading, cheering on our daughter in the Half Marathon. All the staff were at all times friendly and helpful. Ample, hassle-free car parking. Beds very clean and comfortable. Can't comment on restaurant or bar as didn't use these facilities. We had un -refurbished rooms, but thats fine if its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am not sure if you noticed but we currently have the decorators in to upgrade the hallways and then the hall carpets will be replaced! I am glad to hear you had a great stay and hope to see you on your next visit to Reading. Kind regards Katy Beeson General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at the Hillingdon last weekend as my husband had to go into the Royal Berkshire Hospital (we are from Oxford) the receptionists were absolutely amazing, they were very kind, helpful to me when my husband was admitted and made me feel like I was a person not just a room number and for this I was very grateful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and your kind comments are really appreciated. I would like to wish your husband a speedy recovery after his operation and hope next time you will stay for nicer reasons! Best wishes Katy Beeson General Manager

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OK, so only wanted room for 1 night out of town as didn't want to pay for over night parking and the location of this hotel is prefect if you don't mind a walk, about 20 minutes. Its a lovely building on the outside, traditional architecture for the area, lead light windows etc so was quite excited about the interior....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deeley91
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I read several reviews that were polar opposite about this hotel. The key thing to appreciate is that you get what you pay for & must be realistic. However, saying that, this was an excellent experience. We were warmly greeted, check in was simple & were personally escorted to our room in the Kendrick Building. On the ground floor with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simanda147
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your kind comments. I am glad to hear you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you again next time. Best wishes Katy Beeson General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So glad I chose this hotel again to celebrate by birthday, stayed 2 years ago and was very happy so I decided to book again. Staff are so friendly and helpful even before I arrived via email. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff Beds are comfy and fridge was handy to have in our rooms Highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rpool14
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night, thankfully. Let's just say never again.. it reminded us of a hostel. We were put in room 508 and there was a lovely white stain on the headboard? Can only imagine what that was. Throughout the night people where in and out of the building which was very odd especially early hours of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica D
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

I am sad to receive your review as I have no record of your complaint at reception and no record of any loud music, I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed. The cleaning issues you mentioned will certainly be investigated and are certainly not to our usual standard. It is such a shame to hear about any...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Spent the first hour cleaning my room - I requested anit-bac spray from the reception after being ignored by a member of cleaning staff. Pubic Hair, stains, Grey Toilet Brush Water -& a blocked toilet. I requested help to clean it and was ignored. The location is in quite a rough part of Reading - I don't feel particularly safe....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A-RJames109
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

We take all guests comments very seriously as we want all our guests to have a great stay with us. This is an unusual review as this lady lives close to the hotel and knows the area well, therefore I am surprised to read her comments about the area being rough and cars not being safe. We are in a...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a good sized family room , had issues with the window, however, Darren sorted this instantly. We ate the veggie curry which was good value for money. Very convenient for the university and the shops, both within easy walking distance. Ample free parking and left the car there the second day without charge. Staff are very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tine1971
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your kind comments Darren was especially chuffed to see his name on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Katy Beeson - GM

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I stayed for a couple of nights in this small, elegant and very friendly hotel in November quite close to the University in Reading. My room was simply furnished but spotlessly clean and came complete with mini kitchenette. I particularly liked the relaxed, comfortable and cosy bar area and the large lounge with comfy armchairs and also the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 271Peterd2014
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review regarding your stay at our hotel, all the staff really appreciate your comments. I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the UK. Did you pick up one of our discount cards? if not please do let us know so we can post one to you. Many...

402 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
3:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Budget Double Room (21)
Viewed
Club Double Room (22)
Viewed
Double Studio (21)
Viewed
Family Room (for Four) (29)
Viewed
Family Room (for Three) (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Small Single Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.6 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
933 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,704 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,134 reviews
2.4 km away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 32 in Reading
286 reviews
2.5 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: RM204 - RM436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn
Hillingdon Prince Hotel Reading, Berkshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillingdon Prince Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hillingdon Prince Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Deeley91, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles rpool14, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms looking over Christchurch or with a view of the church (at the front of the hotel) are better and the road is quiet too.”
 of 5 bubbles 271Peterd2014, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to book the studio accommodation as this does give more space in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AEGP, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are varied. We prefer the Club rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 353ians, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5