We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Reading Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Reading Central
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Reading Central
 Click to rate
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Didn't exactly suffice expectations, but the room was clean/comfortable and staff were friendly enough. The motel is convenient being in the town centre and parking was relatively cheap. I parked at Q-Park a 2min walk away and parking was only £5 for 24hrs with the travel lodge voucher. Providing that you leave before 10am the following morning (goes up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blubbergutz
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive and you enjoyed clean, comfortable accommodation during your time with us. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in traveloge reading central for 4 days on my business trip. The stay was excellent no problem in the room. Clean room and with nice fresh smell. The staff was very helpful especially Linel she was very sweet. Good customer service.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank binayp2017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Has gone down in history amongst friends as the most horrendous hotel visited! A group of 14 had 7 twin rooms. I was fortunate to be amongst the first to pick rooms, so managed to avoid the room that still had Smarties in the bed from the previous guests, whatever they were doing! When we did finally pick a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a room for £35 on a Friday night and at that price the hotel offered good value. The location is very central, with the town centre bars, restaurants, shops and station all close-by. There was a strange smell throughout the hotel, but nothing I couldn't live with. It really needs an update though.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stew_P
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review. We’re pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found us to be good value for money. We are sorry to learn that you found the hotel had an unpleasant smell. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto the hotel manager and we hope you will stay...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for a place to stay whilst travelling back to the North from Southend Airport, whilst allowing me to visit some friends in Reading. For a one-night sleepover, we didn;t want to push the boat out, so picked up on this one as it was convenient for the shopping my wife would obviously want to do in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as comfort and cleanliness are the basics of our promise to our customers and we are pleased to see this has been achieved. We thank you again for reviewing your stay and we...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decent centrally located hotel. Nothing special but the receptionist was very polite and efficient, room was spotless, WiFi worked well on first floor. Great location for all city centre shopping and points of interest. If all you need is a bed for the night you can't go far wrong with this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheppardave
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was spotless, well presented, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was brilliant, nicely hot with full-on pressure! Yes, it was basic, and it would be nice to have free wifi, but I'm not paying a 5 Star rate and so I wouldn't expect to get all the bells and whistles thrown in!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank timmN5036XO
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. We aim to offer our guests great value stays in comfortable surroundings and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback is invaluable and a copy...

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Noisy, cold. No way to contact reception. This was a very disappointing trip. I would certainly not recommend. As a single female I felt unsafe. There was a great deal of disturbance at 3 in the morning and I couldn't contact anyone to sort it out.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here over the Xmas period and had used the location before with great success with the train as it is near to the station. This time it was the car but the car park nearby is excellent and good value.......£ 10 for 24 hours with special discount from Travelodge ! The room was fine even though it was...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken w
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay to all of our guests so it’s great that you found us to be good value for money and that you were happy with the location of the hotel. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto the hotel team and we hope to see you again...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The parking in an external carpark cost me £21 overnight. We paid extra for an early check in were told the room was ready after checking with the cleaning staff. After beeing in the room for five minutes my fiancee decided to use the bathroom (it was after a four hour drive) only to be confronted by a member of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason A

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
913 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,080 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#26 of 32 in Reading
267 reviews
2.1 km away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Central

Address: Oxthorn House, 60 Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Price Range: RM250 - RM522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Reading Central 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Reading Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading Central Hotel Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge
Travelodge Reading Central Berkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Reading Central staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Morecambe, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Reading Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fourth floor rooms are quiet. Ask for quiet side.”
 of 5 bubbles 101debis, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 302 and 303 were good”
 of 5 bubbles 246brendanw, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dont choose one, dont go”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelB398, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cheer yourself up at this drab hotel by doing some ironing”
 of 5 bubbles garylW5078HM, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room as for one before hand by calling the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mdymusic1, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5