We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure George Hotel Reading

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure George Hotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure George Hotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

I arrived on Sunday night around 21:30 and was checked in without issue. When I got to my room it was clear that the floor was not level in the slightest, to the point my feet were almost above my head when lying on the bed which is not very comfortable. Even the furniture was leaning back against the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty J
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectation. I would very much like to discuss the matter and would appreciate if you can call me at Mercure George Hotel. Kind Regards Kayum Ansary

Reviewed 23 June 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend Royal Ascot. Was pleased with the room thought it was a great price. Its centrally located so very noisy you will need ear plugs. The rooms were clean and well equipped however they were very warm even though the heating wasn't on so not the best when trying to get dressed. Over all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sausage201
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay at Mercure George Hotel. Look forward to see you again. Kind regards Kayum Ansary

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately,there doesn't seem to be a "good" category which is what i would have selected,just average or very good. I stayed here for one night for a work trip.Very handy location- right in the centre of town and a short walk from the train station. Quick and easy check in and was given a free upgrade to an executive room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amie289
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and i am glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We have reviewed all our beds and will make necessary replacements soon. Look forward to welcome you to Mercure George Hotel soon Kind Regards Kayum Ansary

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

Wasn't a great experience. Food was poor and they turn it into a curry takeaway at night. The actual hotel was a maze and apparently haunted (dead mice I should imagine) We ended up eating in a local restaurant called cosmos.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Benladen
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to know your stay was not upto your expectation. We will speak to our chef regarding your comments and i am sure we will improve and will not give you another chance. Look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards Kayum Ansary

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

George hotel has is very welcoming with polite and friendly staff who are more than willing to assist where they can. One of the problems I found instantly was that there was no lifts, Dragging a suitcase up the stairs is quite difficult! The rooms are accommodating however very basic! Interior decor was worn and shabby, and was in desperate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank littledavi1981
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure George Hotel. I am sorry to know we did not meet your expectation however we have made a note of your comments and we are in the process of updating our standard rooms. I would request you to try some of our executive rooms...

Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

Not impressed with my stay. The rooms were far too hot and there was no air conditioning and you couldn't even open the window, it was horrible. Some odd smells and a strange atmosphere, hardly luxurious or inviting. To quote a friend, 'a slight aroma of curry and fags'. Perfectly adequate but certainly not something to talk about. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annafbarker
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to know your stay at Mercure George Hotel was not upto your expectation. We are looking at the Air Conditioning units for the hotel but being the old listed building its not straightforward. However we will work around it and surely our maintenance dept. will come up with some solution. I hope you will give us another...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed on my own recently in a single room. I had a pleasant stay. Room was clean,bed comfy, decent bathroom. I didn't eat there so can't comment on that. Very helpful ( eastern European?) receptionist who kindly helped me work the telly! I'd stay at this hotel again. Not luxurious but clean comfortable & functional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sybiltheswan_11
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will be happy to see you again soon. Regards Kayum Ansary

London
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

I have passed the hotel before and been impressed with the outside, but never stayed. The building is attractive and obviously historic which is great for Reading but not always a great sign for a hotel. Anyway, check in was easy, staff were friendly and efficient. Directions to room sounded easy. As mentioned, buildings are old, but I am not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank busman77
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and i am glad you pointed out few issues with the room. We will ensure every room is checked and up to our standards. I am sorry if this has caused any inconvenience to you during your stay. Look forward to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards kayum Ansary

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

I have stayed at the Hotel before and used it this time in what I call a "Flop run" - where I travel at end of day, arrive late, flop into bed and then up early to get going. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and in the centre, easy to find etc. Reception was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time to write a review. I am sorry to know that your stay did not meet your expectation. I would very much like to discuss this in more details and would appreciate if you can call me on 01189573445. Look forward to your call. Kind regards Kayum Ansary

Knutsford
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Working away so after a long drive a bit fed up with no parking, plus a walk from the car park. Over priced, especially when you see rooms for £49 when I paid £92! Room was up lots of stairs and very noisy, wifi didn't work so all in all a bad experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank disco_munro
Kayum A, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am really sorry to know you were not happy with your stay. We have mentioned on the website we do not have parking and we have arrangement with Queens Road Car park where you get 50% discount with the hotel voucher. You can book the rooms at cheaper price if you book in advance and on a advance purchase...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
911 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.6 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
889 reviews
0.2 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 32 in Reading
459 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: RM316 - RM815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading
Mercure George Hotel Reading Berkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I just wouldn't book again”
 of 5 bubbles Char21A, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“001 brilliant for zero stairs access and fully disabled equipped if needed. Very quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles petersL830TM, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There isn't a life in the hotel, so probably if you are elderly you would be best on the lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles 294paulat, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the Main Street for a bit peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles bibs1966, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 317 is quiet and not street facing (you can't see out the window, so if staying for several nights you might find this odd).”
 of 5 bubbles EmerK20, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5