We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Sheffield City

Save
Share
Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$55
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$55
View deal
Booking.comUS$55
eDreamsUS$55
Destinia.comUS$57
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 27/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ibis Sheffield City
Updated 27/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 49 hotels in Sheffield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English
857Reviews22Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 240
  • 362
  • 162
  • 56
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lilian W wrote a review 1 Oct
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg11 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a low budget hotel so you will expect to do compromises on service. I stayed there 6 days/5 nights and I was nevertheless not expecting that the room does not get serviced one single time. No fresh towels, no emptying of bins or exchanging teacups. The area is scruffy, and not optimal for a single female traveler. The breakfast is limited with no fresh products. Dinner service also does not have any of the fresh choices (such as salad) from the menu. I did eat a Indian dish which was apps 1 cup size. Staff seemed friendly enough, but could not make up for the rather poor overall impression. Sorry Ibis, a no-go for me.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Erin wrote a review Sep 2021
5 contributions
Booked into the hotel after having read good reviews about the staff and food service. Was due to arrive late(ish) around 9, but knew that there was a bar where one could potentially get snacks and according to google reviews, they served pizzas 24hours. So I thought this might be good. Turned up after a long drive from Scotland. Was greeted by a nice young man who served us at the bar and gave good chat. Into our first drink, we were the only two people in the bar and the two members of staff were (what looked like) cashing out in the office, within our view. I wanted to order a second round and some snacks so just asked, 'Are you guys completely cashing out, or can we still order drinks?' The woman was quite short in her response and the young man just asked if I could give him two seconds. 'Of course!' I thought. Being in the hospitality and entertainment industry, I know what its like trying to juggle a million things at once. No problem! After 5 minutes or so, the lady walks out of the office. My friend who was staying with me asks if they have nuts or crisps. She turned her back to us to walk somewhere else behind the bar, and mumbled something into her mask which we were unable to interpret. We asked again. She just said, 'No!..............Sorry.' Seemed to have a bit of an attitude. We were taken aback. Bit strange for a bar to not have any snacks. We look around for a vending machine. Nothing. We then ask for a second round of our drinks and move from the bar, where we were sitting, to a window seat. On my way to our new seat, I spot a menu on an adjacent table and remember the review about the late night pizzas as well as the fact that Ibis' website advertise this specific restaurant being open until 24:00. (Which I took to mean midnight, 00:00)...anyway. I pick up the menu. My eyes are instantly guided to the bottom of the page where the menu reads 'Available 24/7.' I had been holding the menu literally for seconds when the woman from behind the bar appeared across the table from me and quite stearnly insists, 'Kitchen closed at 10........Sorry!' and nearly snatches the menu from my hands. At this point, I'm annoyed. I advise her that 'you should change what your menu says, then.' At this point my friend can't take the bad attitude and lack of any empathy or explanation and goes into ask questions. We then learn that the bar are 'out of stock' on their snacks and the staff don't know why the website says the kitchen is open late or why people would be leaving reviews stating that they have had 24h food service. We decide to leave it. But I must admit, it ruined my entire stay there. The room was comfy enough, apart from the fact that our pillows quite literally smelled of stinky feet, we slept decent enought. But I will NOT be staying here again. I can not handle bad customer service. It just isn't that hard to pretend to give a sh** about your customer. Its worth saying, that I get that Covid has been hard for everyone and the hotel industry in particular is struggling with having to out source under-par house keeping services, etc...but everyone has been struggling with it. There's no need to treat the customers like crap because of it. Also, its probably worth on the websites 'Covid info' section on the top of the page mentioning if there are any changes to normal service hours, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
ALANMaidenhead wrote a review Sep 2021
Maidenhead58 contributions42 helpful votes
Friendly and helpful staff. Good location, easy walk to the Bus/Rail Interchange. Fitzalan Square tram stop is adjacent to the bridge by the hotel. .Quite a steep walk to the city centre, My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Have stayed here on previous occasions, hope to return next year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
fauvell1 wrote a review Aug 2021
Harrogate, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
After such a long overdue family visit due to the pandemic I arrived at this hotel eagerly to drop of bags, get changed and head to see my parents ...after an hour delay due to room not ready, we finally got to our room to be greeted by the receptionist saying that it wasn’t our room and showed us to another one. We dumped bags and headed out as late already for family meal. On arriving back to the hotel that evening we couldn’t access our room, as the keys we had got apparently were the ones for the room mix up on our arrival? Nothing was explained earlier on this just a staff member opening up another room saying, this is yours. Then on hitting the bathroom, I find no toilet roll had been put in, I panicked, hit the shower, no shower gel, grabbed a towel and on drying myself it looked like I had been covered in cotton wool bits as all bitty and loose fluff like they were new and hadn’t been washed? I headed down to reception in flusters to be handed a loo roll over the desk in the main bar area, people were stood having drinks, you think they would just send someone up to the room as more professional, no tea/ coffee facilities left either, they came to the room to deliver those as I refused to go back to reception again. No tv remote to be seen and couldn’t access main doors TWICE to get to our room on returning over the 3 night stay! I complained and asked for a refund of 1 night NOT 3 ,due to basic measures not been in place and all the flusters and frustration it had caused on arrival. They replied with an apology of it won’t happen again then ignored all my other emails saying it wasn’t good enough as already happened to me, but still didn’t respond when asking for the initial arrival day to be refunded! You would think they would have offered this as a gesture of good will for such a poor arrival day to there hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Kgscad wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
A really good central location for access to the main city. A little run down if you were travelling alone as a woman. Would have been helpful if staff had said rooms not cleaned...no coffee etc during covid but just ask. After the first day they were really helpful and the beds were fantastic. A nice quiet hotel. Rooms are really for the business users only 5 hangers and no drawers but a nice clean spacious room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Brown, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback has been helpful. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$47 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ibis sheffield hotel sheffield
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireSheffield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis Sheffield City
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis Sheffield City?
Nearby attractions include Escape Sheffield (0.3 km), Crucible Theatre (0.4 km), and Lyceum Theatre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis Sheffield City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis Sheffield City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Ibis Sheffield City?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis Sheffield City?
Conveniently located restaurants include VeroGusto, 400 D C, and The Head of Steam Sheffield.
Is Ibis Sheffield City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sheffield.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis Sheffield City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet (6.0 km), Sheffield Manor Lodge (2.0 km), and The Old Queen's Head (0.3 km).
Is Ibis Sheffield City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.