We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leopold Hotel Sheffield

Save
Share
2 Leopold Street Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2GZ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Hotels.comUS$103
PricelineUS$103
travelup.comUS$114
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (229)
Room & Suite (129)
Dining (29)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 49 hotels in Sheffield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Finding an ideal charming hotel in Sheffield does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Leopold Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Sheffield, Leopold Hotel Sheffield is located a short distance from Police Box (0.2 mi) and The Old Queen's Head (0.3 mi). Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Leopold Hotel offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage. Guests of Leopold Hotel Sheffield are also welcome to enjoy a fitness center and an on-site restaurant. For travelers arriving by car, there is paid public parking available nearby. While in Sheffield be sure to experience local ribs favorites at Grazie, Pho all located within walking distance of the hotel. If you are interested in exploring Sheffield, check out one of the architectural buildings, such as Sheffield Town Hall, Cathedral Church of St. Peter and St. Paul, and The Arts Tower. Leopold Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Sheffield.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
1475Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 663
  • 534
  • 166
  • 74
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karen C wrote a review 24 Oct
1 contribution
Reviewing our stay at the 4 star "boutique" hotel...finger air quotes intended. In short if you happen to be staying here for a wedding in the building...fine. Your hangover may cloud your judgement. If you are stone cold sober...avoid. Save your pennies and go to an Inn frequented by Lenny Henry instead. Staff were friendly. The room was clean & pleasant. There's clearly age in the building although it is a toss up if the brown carpets are an original feature. There is no welcome information in the room about anything. Including how to work the TV. Which took 3 remote controls & 2 members of staff to fix. We asked if moving room would be easier & were told the rooms left "weren't the nicest because they'd had some arrivals". I have no idea what this means. The music from the wedding was extremely loud & went on until 12. Fair enough, but there is an on-site bar which also plays heavy beat music but until 2am. This we could benefit from until 2am, despite being on the 4th floor. Anyway we eventually got to sleep. Nice pillows though. Breakfast in the morning was a bizarre comedy of errors. They have a certificate of excellence for breakfast from 2015. Yes, yes, it is out of date. Ordering breakfast involved ordering a continental (no buffet) & bring told there are "bits" behind a partition. I obediently ordered cornflakes to find that there were cornflakes behind the partition. There were no bowls. The bowls were replenished and then the cornflakes ran out. Spoons were available on request. My other cornflakes and other items then arrived in a wooden box for no apparent reason. They had no alternative milks offered (again this is a 4 star boutique hotel) and gluten free bread when asked, but no dietary offerings on the menu except a vegetarian fry up. The last Premier Inn I went to in Wigan offered all of the above, including spoons. Plain coffee only available because "the machine switches off to be cleaned & it's done it just now". Again, make of that what you will. No hot chocolate or herbal tea. The full English was full deep fried. If this hotel was cheap I wouldn't mind but it is pretty pricey for the low to middling standards.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It's loud. Bring earplugs. Parking is secure but a fair walk away & costs £10.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Whittaker, Guest Services / Front Office at Leopold Hotel Sheffield
Responded yesterday
Dear Karen C Thank you for sharing your review of your personal experience here at the Leopold Hotel and we were of course disappointed that you left feeling underwhelmed. The in room information is available via the QR code on your key card wallet and as we offer a 24 hour reception and in house phones then we are available should you have had an queries. I am sorry to hear there was an issue with the remote control and the issues you faced with resolving this, it very unusual that a simple battery charge does not resolve this. I am sorry that the wedding celebrations disturbed your stay and we do try and ensure that the volume is kept down, very similar to the music that we had in the bar and I will ensure that this is addressed with the team as we generally keep the bar music down to a minimum level. Your comments about breakfast have been duly noted and I have discussed your feedback with the breakfast team. We will look to enhance the content on our menu so guests are aware as standard we generally have soya milk as an alternative but have to advise that we have been experiencing supplier issues as an impact still of covid. I am sorry that you experience was not upto our usual high standard and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the Leopold Hotel to allow us to restore your faith. Kind regards Matthew - Resident Manager
Read more
Riley R wrote a review 19 Oct
1 contribution
amazing, confident and friendly staff, rooms very well looked after. with being young they id’d me a few times but the receptionist felt bad so gave me a beer voucher which i thought was very generous of him so i would definitely come back again 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Whittaker, Guest Services / Front Office at Leopold Hotel Sheffield
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Riley R Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay and we really appreciate the great feedback. Its great that been asked for ID has not offended you and you have accepted that this is something that we have to carry out from time to time and I am pleased that Dan looked after you. We are delighted that you would come back and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Matthew Resident Manager
Read more
LondonDan wrote a review 13 Oct
Pimlico, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
No manager on site in the morning until 9am. Bad signage to breakfast (which is on the lower ground floor) - took 30 mins to get coffee and was so slow. Huge queues for breakfast if all the tables are full. Coffee awful. Ended up leaving without having time to eat breakfast. Vegan breakfast came with eggs on it. No sauces on table - packet sauce.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Whittaker, Guest Services / Front Office at Leopold Hotel Sheffield
Responded 1 week ago
Dear LondonDan2021 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and personal experience at the Leopold Hotel. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the level of service you received. Our duty manager was available and was on duty from 7.00am and I am sorry if this information was not passed onto you. We did experience some staff shortages due to illness and this did mean that we were not able to offer our usual breakfast service of which again I apologise. Since the pandemic we have had to alter a few ways in which carry out service and the sauce been in a packet is one of the ways as we do find that guest prefer the fact that is sealed. I was of course disappointed that you would not stay with us and again and we do hope that you will re-consider so that we can restore your faith in the Leopold Hotel. Kind regards Matthew Resident Manager
Read more
reiver59 wrote a review 7 Oct
London, United Kingdom175 contributions92 helpful votes
This is potentially an excellent hotel. It is in a pleasant building and has well equipped rooms. The location is convenient. However, maintenance is poor. One lift did not operate properly, my sink did not drain, an electric socket was falling off and the heating did not work. Service is haphazard and a little slow. However, it is quiet with comfortable beds and the price is right. Basically looks like a management issue that could be sorted.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Whittaker, Guest Services / Front Office at Leopold Hotel Sheffield
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear reiver59 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we appreciate all feedback. Unfortunately there is a fault on one of the lifts which has to be undertaken by a 3rd party so unfortunately we are at there mercy as to when this will happen apart from not stopping on one floor both lifts are fully functional. I am sure you can appreciate that items such as sinks can be become blocked and we may not always be aware until reported so thank you for sharing this. I am sorry you felt the service as haphazard without know the specific areas I am unable to comment, the hospitality industry nationwide has been affected by the pandemic especially with regard to recruitment. We are now building a team that works very hard to ensure that our guests receive a great welcome and excellent service and with the on going training and recruitment we have in place I am confident that we will continue to improve and achieve this. Once again apologies for any shortfalls that you experienced and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the Leopold Hotel very soon. Kind regards Matthew - Resident Manager
Read more
AME wrote a review 5 Oct
4 contributions
Not my first time to Sheffield but my first at the Leopold. It won’t be my last! As a wheelchair user travel and overnight stays are always a nightmare so it was firstly nice to see that the accessible details were easy to find on the website and thorough. I was able to book an accessible room online (not always the case) & on arrival a member of staff quickly came over to the wheelchair lift to assist if required. At check in I was asked what assistance I would need in the event of a fire alarm, I have never been asked this before. I was given instructions of where the refuge area was and the fire officer was made aware of my needs and my room number. The hotel was lovely and clean and all the staff I encountered were happy and engaging. My room was large and easy to move around in. The accessible bathroom was useable, which is very often not the case and was able to shower easily. Breakfast was excellent, too much choice, but I didn’t complain! Again the staff were very nice to everyone who came in to eat. The hotel is situated in a square surrounded by restaurants and bars, so no need to struggle for a taxi back, although we were so close to the bars our room was quiet and a good nights sleep was had, well a few hours!! The only minus point would be if I was travelling alone as the car park is a short distance away, I would have struggled. Apart from that our stay was superb and would definitely return and recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Whittaker, Guest Services / Front Office at Leopold Hotel Sheffield
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 169ame, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay here at the Leopold Hotel and it was really reassuring to read such amazing feedback on how we got your stay so right. We really appreciate your comments and its great that all of your accessible needs were met and even exceeded on your recent stay with us. I have shared your review with the team as i know this will also mean a great deal to them. Its great that you will return and recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Matthew - Resident Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leopold hotel sheffield
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireSheffield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leopold Hotel Sheffield
Which popular attractions are close to Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Nearby attractions include The Great Escape Game Sheffield (0.1 km), Escape Sheffield (0.3 km), and Crack The Code Escape Rooms Sheffield (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grazie, Trippets Lounge Bar, and Bella Italia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Leopold Hotel Sheffield located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Sheffield.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Leopold Hotel Sheffield offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Leopold Hotel Sheffield?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet (5.6 km), Sheffield Manor Lodge (2.5 km), and The Old Queen's Head (0.5 km).