We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prince Rupert Hotel

Save
Traveller (217)
Room & Suite (109)
Dining (50)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveller rating
534
412
198
101
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
534
412
198
101
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingchambers restaurantroyalist restauranton arrivalsuits of armourcomplimentary sherryvalet serviceupgraded to a suitefish streetcobbled streetmodern bathroomcar parklovely hotelsat navfour poster bedold buildingcentral location
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,301 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed yesterday

stayed in the prince Rupert numerous times over the last 15 years we have stayed in other similar priced hotels in shrewsbury but always come back to this hotel had a nice room with a lovely updated bathroom.Great location lovely breakfast nice staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Now that our children have grown to an almost self-sufficient age, we can take the occasional mini-break, and we plan to do it much more often. Shrewsbury is an adorable town with delightful narrow, cobbled streets, Tudor buildings and lots of lovely independent shops, bars...More

1  Thank Rogerofsouthwark
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely horrendous room. The hotel needs to review their pricing policy and reduce the rates... Noisy, dusty, dirty room in serious need of refurbishment! Bathroom horrific and furniture dire. Avoid this hotel until they refurbish it.

2  Thank James24562018
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and well furnished but there was always too little lighting to read in bed. When the heavy curtains were drawn back we were clearly visible from the street. The first day we came back for a siesta at 1300 hours as we...More

2  Thank mariannevictoria2014
Response from Mike_Matthews, Owner at Prince Rupert HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Marianne, Thank you for posting a review and also for your constructive comments. I am delighted that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your bedroom and I will ensure that the housekeeping team are made aware of your praise. As a policy we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled by train and was attending the theatre so this hotel was extremely convenient all round. Also interesting because of its history, in fact a tad old fashioned though there's no harm in that: refreshing in this crazy modern world! The food we had at...More

1  Thank Jude084
Response from Mike_Matthews, Owner at Prince Rupert HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jude, Thank you for your constructive feedback and for taking the time to write a review. I am always very grateful to receive guests comments as this directs our efforts in terms of investment in the hotel and staff training. I am delighted that...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$117 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Family Hotel in Shrewsbury
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shrewsbury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$117 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Family Hotel in Shrewsbury
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shrewsbury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (217)
Room & Suite (109)
Dining (50)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Zujeily D
15 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ian P | Reviewed this property |
As far as I am aware they didn't take anything off my card as described in the previous answer.
1
Vote
Zujeily D
15 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from actongladd | Reviewed this property |
Not that I am aware of, as with any hotel swipe of you credit card allows you to have drinks etc placed on your room tab but all is settled when you check out.
0
Votes
annbennett1
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from pamtlol | Reviewed this property |
No problem, pull up outside. Don't use satnav, download a map and you will see a good way to get there!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The front rooms have the view and noise from the street pubs and the binmen, the back ones are presumably..."
Read review
"Just enjoy"
Read review
"Upper floor room, amazing bathroom."
Read review
"Very roomy twin."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing