We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Griffin Inn

Show Prices
#47 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Griffin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Well what a delightful place to spend a night after a long day exploring Bath, the welcome from the staff was wonderful, beer and wine selection out of this world and the rooms both cozy and comfortable and the breakfast plentiful. I really can't recommend the Griffin enough. Try a pint of landlord too!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth T
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Slightly off Bath's main drag, the Griffin Inn is very well run with excellent (and good value) food, well-kept real ales and excellent value and tasty wines. The staff are polite and well-mannered. The rooms upstairs are relatively small, but comfortable. All in all the Griffin offers excellent value for money and my stay there was most enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Griffin Inn is everything you expect from a historic and charming establishment in Regency Bath. The carefully restored building oozes heritage, all the while being a comfortable, up-to-date and quality B&B, restaurant and pub. Combined with wonderfully friendly staff (cheers to Leah, Kate and Hannah!) and a knowledgeable and erudite landlord, I really couldn't imagine staying anywhere for future...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl I
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carl I, It was a pleasure to have you to stay, you were a real hit with the staff. Sam

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

my wife and I stayed the weekend and had a great time. Central location allowed us to roam freely and explore Bath at our leisure. Hearty breakfast and lovely staff. Im a self confessed "tight" Yorkshireman but found the room well priced for our needs. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertpoxer
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert, It was a pleasure to have you to stay, and I thoroughly enjoyed putting the world to rights with you over a pint of Landlord, all the best to your lovely family. Sam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Griffin is tucked away down a quiet side street away from the main drag. I'm a big fan of real ale and I was very pleased to see Landlord on tap, one of my favourites. My wife & I are really into our wine too, but she struggles in pubs because she only likes to drink wine and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlasdairMcEwan
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alastair, You and your charming wife are welcome any time, thanks for dropping by! Sam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I visited The Griffin when working with the Bath Theatre Royal late last year. It was a brilliant find. We had a few hours in the pub and felt very welcome with locals chatting to us and got into some very good beer conversation whilst enjoying a quality pint of Timothy Taylor's. Post show the room was excellent and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Richard D, Always a pleasure to have the theatre crew round! Sam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had a lovely single room at the top of the pub with some beautiful artwork on the walls. I also found a friendly welcome note in my room with the offer of a complimentary drink in the bar. My friends and I made the most of this and the excellent selection of wines. The huge and delicious breakfast the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Victoria W, Such a pleasure to have you to stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sam

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for an overnight stay with some family members. My initial opinion was that the bar area was well kept and the hotel seemed clean. I stayed in a room overlooking the street and it was VERY loud. It was a weekend but people seemed to be gathering outside at around 1.30am after the pubs had closed. It did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemie13
Prince_of_Ales, Manager at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gemie13, Thank you for your comment posted yesterday, regarding your stay with us back in November. Firstly I am sorry that the noise outside your room (in the street) kept you awake. Being based in the city centre it is unfortunately a problems that is completely out of our control. We are very sorry that you had problems with...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed her me one night whilst visiting Bath on business and at £75 it was a bargain. An old pub, very authentic with a very comfortable room. The breakfast was cooked to order and excellent. The lady who served breakfast was incredibly helpful with directions to my meeting. It was a tiny bit noisy (next door bedroom talking very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea S
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I would always encourage guests to phone ahead if they think that they might be arriving out of hours (7.30 am - 11pm) so that we can arrange for someone to let you in. Sam

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely works Christmas party at the Griffin last night. Great food, wine and beer, a lovely atmosphere, fabulous service and friendly staff. We recommend a visit and will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bathmassies
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Delighted that you had a great time, looking forward to seeing you in the new year. Sam

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#25 of 193 in Bath
772 reviews
0.4 km away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
0.3 km away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 193 in Bath
1,004 reviews
0.5 km away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
0.7 km away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#42 of 193 in Bath
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At nearly 300 years old, The Griffin Inn has never looked so good - founded in 1730, it has changed a lot since then - comfortable en-suite rooms, free wifi & a wholesome breakfast, delicious fresh cooked food, 18 craft ales & ciders and a wine list fit for a king! Welcome to our Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Griffin Inn

Address: Monmouth Street, Bath BA1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: RM343 - RM658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Griffin Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Griffin Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Griffin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in the Abby Room or any room at the front of the hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Gemie13, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for front facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles vincenzobagnasco, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Circus room”
 of 5 bubbles sdavies91, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms suit the middle aged ... we are 75's and ours was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Balcombes2013, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Compact but comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Julespickering5, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5