We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Show Prices
#20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,196: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
 Click to rate
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lacking any character, middle of the road and overpriced - never going back. Lovely grounds, nice garden and friendly stuff, but clearly the chain management has no interest whatsoever to invest in this place - small and stuffy rooms, VERY tired SPA area, which just requires total refurbishment - mouldy and smelly; expensive and disappointing breakfast - full English so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0ndoner
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This break was a birthday treat and quite expensive too However given the Spa hotel is rated as 5 star our expectation was high. Unfortunately it did not deliver. Beautiful stately pile with superb facade, excellent location and extensive grounds- Our initial first impressions bode well. Nice and pleasant welcome from Spa team. Massage as part of the package was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrieS62
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I checked into the hotel on Tuesday 18th April and enjoyed a fabulous stay until we checked out on Friday 21st April. This was our honeymoon and on arrival we were greeted by a lovely duty manager who upgraded us to a gorgeous suite that had a four poster bed. Chocolates and a handwritten welcome card were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent stay at Bath Spa Top notch service By all the welcoming staff Rooms a little dated for these prices but clean nonetheless Wonderful grounds too - nice for a walk around Worth staying here if your in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a spa day on thursday and were welcomed by 5 lovely ladies the treatments were amazing, the facilities were clean and lovely staff were really friendly overall we had a good day will definitely be returning 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonia a
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure what I was expecting, but not a very limited menu of uninspiring choices. Service was excellent, in a quiet ambience with many partakers of the Spa sitting around enjoying tea. It served my needs - a quiet spot to do some work and have lunch, but I'm not sure that I'd recommend it for much else. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happytravelguru
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I understand that national companies have to make money, we all work for the same reason, but having met a friend for coffee at this venue recently was disgusted by the price of two very poorly made and overly bitter Americano's, however the free shortbread appeased my annoyance a bit, however we were still served two rubbish and over priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E S
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked the executive suite, informed at reception upgraded thought odd as had already upgraded day before. Had actually been down graded, after a conversation with management got the right room. Fantastic room and location. However service poor, 15 minutes to get through to some one in room service, and although room was meant to have own butler, he was invisible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chereek372
BathSpaHotel, General Manager at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chereek372 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I am sorry that there was some confusion over the type of room that you booked but am pleased we were able to resolve it for you and that you enjoyed your suite. Our Operations Manager is looking in to the reason for the delay you experienced...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly to be clear we stayed on a Lastminute deal for 2 nights over Easter. I cannot understand any of the negative reviews below as in the run up to the visit they made me nervous I had made a mistake. What a difference when we got there! The staff are superb, very friendly, welcoming, polite. Always saying hello and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
BathSpaHotel, General Manager at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve G Thank you for your comprehensive review and I am very pleased that despite your initial hesitation you had a very enjoyable visit. The Spa is often the highlight of a visit and I’m delighted that you found our selection of treatments to be good. I have passed on your very kind comments to all the team, who...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I have stated here many times over the years and have normally been very impressed. The service is still professional and courteous however the room was a big disappointment. My wife being a nurse is particularly fastidious regarding cleanliness and the bath room fell well short. She had to pick nails from the bath plus it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pilots4812
BathSpaHotel, General Manager at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pilots4812 Thank you for giving us your feedback and I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your room. I know that you mentioned the shortcomings to our Receptionist when you checked out and I have in turn spoken to our Head Housekeeper who has asked me to also offer her apologies to you. If you...

974 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (657)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (70)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (28)
Viewed
Classic Four-Poster Room (26)
Viewed
Classic Imperial Suite (26)
Viewed
Executive Imperial Suite (31)
Viewed
Imperial Suite Penthouse (30)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Skyline Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.5 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,323 reviews
1.8 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: RM831 - RM1,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden View Rooms are light and airy with lovely views over Bath”
Christa_Mazzoni, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try a different hotel???”
Kaelcl, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front have a beautiful view of manicured yard”
KENNETHK301, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher up the better and ask to be at the front”
Maisy65, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden view I stunning”
HippyWithMorgage, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5