We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 482: English reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed as part of a group for a friend's wedding close by at Sandon Hall. Location was very good I've to say. Otherwise rooms look a bit dated and requires some updating, but at least they were clean. Not had the opportunity to try the food there, but had drinks at the bar post-wedding ceremony which were ok. Parking available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We always enjoy hosting wedding parties, and i am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we are able to welcome you back soon. Thanks Nikki

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

High end mid range. Very well laid out, nice bars and seating, options to eat from a tip top Restraunt to gastro pub grub. Staff friendly. We stayed overnight - comfortable. A first class breakfast menu which should please all and it really was a delight. Will call again when looking for an overnight just off the M6.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruicksontour
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your kind review and for your quick pit stop at The Swan. I am pleased to read that we were able to provide a well earned rest on your travels. We look forward to seeing you soon. Nikki

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as we were at a wedding in sandon. We had other options of hotels but chose the swan as it looked very pretty and of a higher standard and for that we were prepared to pay a bit more. Unfortunately our expectation of our bedroom versus the price we paid were not met. In hindsight we should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brownsar
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We pride ourselves on delivery individual experiences that can only be gained from visiting an independent hotel. I was therefore disappointed to read that there was a slip in standards on this occasion. I have passed your comments onto both our maintenance and housekeeping management teams, to ensure...

Heathfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Family Sunday lunch, all twelve of us had a good time. Menu for lunch was varied, we included a vegan and a vegetarian and the restaurant had separate menus:excellent. Food was consistently good,tasty,and warm. No complaints from anyone. Service was friendly and efficient-not quick but I like that. I've eaten in Stafford and around for over 15 years. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Swan Hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your family Sunday lunch here at The Swan and that you found our food good, tasty and warm and that there were no complaints from anyone. I'm also glad that you found our service friendly and efficient. We look forward to welcoming you back for...

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Came to see the band, they are not loud enough as it very busy. However I went to the bar and waited for 15 minutes loads of people who only arrived at the bar after me got served as they all have boobs where as I don't. Very poor service. Not what I expect when you are paying these prices

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davecarr1709
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dave, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I was disappointed to read your comments and can assure you that in no way do our bar team, who are made up of both male and female members of staff, favour customers based on their gender. We are lucky enough to have a great selection of...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Staff were very pleasant. Niggles were: Wait of half an hour for breakfast but we had no train to catch just as well. Waiting staff need some training. We ate our complete breakfast without a single dirty plate being removed despite staff constantly passing empty handed on their way back to the kitchen.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T8055SHronc
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Swan Hotel. I'm pleased that hear that you would rate us 4 stars overall and that you found our staff so pleasant. I'm disappointed that you think our waiting staff need more training and that your plates weren't removed when finished with. I will speak to the staff in order to ensure...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I booked a room about 3 weeks in advance for a Double Room. When we arrived it seemed all nice and the staff member at check-in was very efficient the parking was a bit of a nightmare considering it a central hotel and a large hotel with a restaurant a lot of the parking spaces are "Reserved" for management..... Anyway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis M
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Swan Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you found our reception efficient and nice when checking you in and that you found the bed comfortable. However, I'm disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your room. We aim for every customer to leave our hotels refreshed and happy...

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Didn't stay in the hotel only visited the restaurant but certainly the hotel looked very nice. Would imagine restaurant would be very noisy when full but plenty of space between the tables. The food was very nice as were the waiting staff. Nice bar area and plenty of space.Steak night seemed to be popular. Don't forget to collect the plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Swan Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you found both our food and waiting staff so good. Steak night on a Wednesday certainly does get very popular and is very much a favourite at The Swan. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Many thanks, James.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I stayed whilst visiting a friend. My room was beautiful with a lovely working desk and a comfortable sofa. The refrigerator was a nice touch and useful as well. The bathroom was very good. The only relatively minor issues were WiFi - very poor connection and speed, I could neither work via email nor listen to music via Amazon prime....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr_David_Horgan
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The Swan Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you found your room beautiful and comfortable. I apologise for your bed and the WiFi, we'll certainly look at that room and make sure that the necessary changes are made so that it is as excellent as the standard we hold ourselves to. Many thanks,...

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

A good clean hotel.... Comfy bed and lovely biscuits... Oh and Fantastic breakfast!!! The breakfast menu is brilliant and lovely quality food.. Coffee top ups galore..Good bar and a fantastic selection of gin! Only moan was thin walls! We stayed here for a family wedding. Great weekend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L W
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Swan Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Swan Hotel and that you had a great weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Many thanks, James.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
5.7 km away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
713 reviews
5.9 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
673 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
0.3 km away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
178 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Price Range: RM450 - RM719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet room on the second floor at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Mossey2014, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Never be afraid to ask the staff to help....it makes all the difference. Service with a smile.”
 of 5 bubbles paulsM2307ZU, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a double bed!”
 of 5 bubbles Kenneth_Smith, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Probably best not to stay in a room that faces the high street”
 of 5 bubbles BlueDog01, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“have not had an overnight stay so cannot comment”
 of 5 bubbles karenconn1, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5