We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

15th century building so expect it to be slightly quirky. Have stayed twice now on business with colleagues and had very good service and a pleasant stay both times. Food is good with decent beer.the young staff are fantastic and need commending. All in all somewhere I will go back to whenever in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank modatuu
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and liked our selection of beers. We will be sure to pass your comments to the team at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge and we hope that you will visit again when you are next in the area.

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Although I booked the rooms , they were for my sisters and their husbands. They both really enjoyed the stay. The food was lovely ( I did have a meal with them) the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable. The rooms wre querky which is what you expect from an old building. The would definately love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy O
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that your family enjoyed their stay in our quirky rooms and that you also enjoyed your meal with them. We pride ourselves on providing friendly and attentive service and are pleased to hear that your sisters would consider staying with us again. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Room OK but limescale and excrement in the toilet… only one hand towel and one shoer towel. We paid for the executive room and got a dingy large double. Old cartons in a dirty fridge,only two sachets of coffee. Had to ask reception to sort it out. Food basic, nothing to praise about apart from the castle and shops. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaz B
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

We were most concerned to hear of your unclean room and the other issues that you encountered during your stay with us and can assure you that these problems in no way reflect the standards that we usually provide. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems that you had and be assured that your comments will be used to...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

we really enjoyed our stay at the dog and partridge a very comfortable place to stay room facilities are spot on, run by very friendly people that can't do enough for you, and the food is top rate would gladly make a return visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmbassington
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and would recommend a stay at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge. We pride ourselves on providing great food, comfortable rooms, ​and attentive service so it is lovely when our guests take the time to leave us such great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed here for one night on route to Alton Towers, we arrived late and the man that met us was beyond helpful, even whispering so not to wake our daughter who was asleep. He couldn't have been more helpful, sadly we can't remember his name but he deserves praise for his great customer service. He helped my husband with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhCJ
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We'll be sure to pass your kind words to the team at Ye Olde Dog and Partridge. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback it is greatly appreciated.

Wuppertal, Germany
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Regrettably when booking an overnight stay at the Dog & Partridge, a convenient t location to meet up with an old friend again, I was not aware that behind the title “Chef & Brewer” was the Greene King Brewery chain which is also behind the Old English Inns or the Loch Fyne Seafoods. However on arrival on a Friday evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
Sarah T, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review of your recent experience at Ye Olde Dog and Partridge. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with our service and the issues you had with your room. Please be assured that we will have your comments highlighted to the General Manager so that corrective action...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

After a number of domewhat below std meals over the past 18 months tonight was a very enjoyable experience. Staff very courteous and attentive. Service very quick and without promot. Food quality good and hot. It is what should be expected as a minimum when you are spending over £40 but nonetheless well received.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Sarah T, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent experience with us at the Dog and Partridge. I am pleased to hear that you were thoroughly impressed with the friendliness of our staff and exemplary quality of food. We strive to maintain both of these qualities to an exceptional standard so are delighted to...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Having previously been here before with not a very good experience some friends suggested we meet up for a meal.I was reluctant to go here but I believe in giving any pub a second chance if they listen to feed back and can turn things around.How suprised I was from the moment we walked in the service was Excellant by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew281014
Sarah T, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for providing such lovely feedback from your recent visit to the Dog and Partridge. Our guests and their experience with us are at the heart of our pub and we always listen to the feedback we receive - whether this is positive or negative - and do our utmost to rectify any issues that arise. I am so...

Cumbria
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Stayed here last Thursday night, before setting off early for Alton Towers. We stayed in a family room at the top of the hotel/restaurant (room 6). Very pleasant layout with everything needed for a short stay including ironing board, iron, tea/coffe etc. bathroom was really nice with a free standing bath which our 2 young boys loved. We only had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina P
Sarah T, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with such lovely feedback from your recent stay with us. As the hotel dates all the way back to the 15th Century, Ye Olde Dog & Partridge has strong links to the Castle in Tutbury which is why it is rumoured to have a few ghosts lingering around. We're sure if there are ghosts, they...

Newcastle under lyme
Reviewed 15 August 2016

A very nice,modern yet authentic pub.Good choice of food and polite staff-it does feel a bit locally when you first walk in but overall a decent place to have lunch. The beer is quite good and the food excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our high-quality dishes and modern yet authentic feel, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon!

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutbury
5.3 km away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
312 reviews
4.7 km away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
392 reviews
7.3 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
84 reviews
10.3 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
12.9 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Address: High Street, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Price Range: RM337 - RM604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Dog & Partridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 is large and Inhad a really quiet night.”
 of 5 bubbles amfoster13, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the top.”
 of 5 bubbles smudge5352, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All single glazed so take pyjamas in winter😊”
 of 5 bubbles modatuu, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had the family room no.6 it was brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles zhCJ, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It is a struggle up the steep stairs to the rooms under the eves. Ask for a room on the 1st floor”
  • The modernized bathroom but with no hot water in the hand basin
  • The relaxation part of the room with wall TV, writing desk and easy chairs
  • The wooden-beamed bedroom to the front of the house, but under the evesh
 of 5 bubbles normanc459, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay