We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brudenell Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 904: English reviews
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in a Superior room (207) with a sea view. The room was exceptional, large comfortable bed. Nice bathroom with bath and large separate shower. Sofa and the normal TV, hairdryer, iron, nice toiletries etc. The room was very hot but we just opened the window and fell asleep listening to the waves break onto the beach. We decided to... More 

Helpful?
Thank honestchap11
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Very happy to read you had a great stay with us and found the hotel, staff and the restarant to you taste. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back very soon!. Best Wishes, Kairi Kett... More 

Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for a night so this review is only an impression.The staff made a great impression and assisted us in every way possible, even lending a tie when I found that part of our luggage was left at home. Every single person was helpful and cheerful. We stayed in a room that was similar. It delivered exactly what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you very much for posting your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are all very glad you enjoyed your break and we're hoping to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Kairi Kett Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a one night stay last month to celebrate our anniversary, in a lovely second floor superior room with a great view out over the beach to the North Sea. The room was spacious with fresh, stylish decor having a restrained nautical feeling. The large bed was very comfortable. There was an effective shower over the bath. Our only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil M
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thank you for your review. Glad to see you enjoyed your stay at the hotel despite the heat but naturally disappointed to read your comments about our restaurant. I am very sorry you felt that our the menu choice limited, although we offer 14 different options for starters & 15 options for main course. Knowing the offering in... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was no room to park at the hotel but the very friendly staff advised us to park outside on the no through road. We were probably closer to the hotel than if we had parked on site. The room was pleasant with a table and chairs and sofa, and a large bed. The bathroom was small with a separate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traceinnit
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am disappointed you did not find our superior sea view room value for money. All your comments have been addressed, thank you. Glad you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we all hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If I can... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our third stay at this hotel . On our first we were surprised how good it was , on our second it was not quite as good and this time we saw a real downturn in several areas . Firstly you cannot better the position of the hotel and the staff were as friendly and helpful as always... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline B
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline, Please accept my apologies for your disappointing stay with us recently. It's a real shame you did not wish to talk to us in person at the time but if I may ask you to contact me in person please to discuss this further I would very much appreciate it. Looking forward to hearing back from you. Best,... More 

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived for a stroll in Aldeburgh before heading home after a disappointing stay at The Westleton Crown and stumbled across the Brudenell Hotel. What a find, popped in and found a fabulous winter 1 night deal including evening meal, bed and breakfast. Immediately upgraded to a room with balcony, roll top bath, lounge area..... beautiful view over the prom and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline O
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you for your kind review! We are all very happy you enjoyed your stay with us & hoping to welcoming you back shortly. Kind Regards, Kairi Kett Hotel Manager More 

Bedford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a double sea view room. The staff were great and friendly. The room was clean but possibly a bit on the small side for the price. The room was also very hot, the heating was off and the window was open (it was a very cold winter night) but it was still boiling. we mentioned it to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha, Thank you for taking the time and post your review on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry that you found the room too hot, even with the open window & turned off heating. I hope you overall enjoyed your stay and we are able to welcome you back very soon. Best, Kairi Kett Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit to The Brudenell hotel & we will certainly return . A very comfortable sea view room ( to watch the rain when we arrived!) Two really superb dinners in attractive modern dining room . Great choice of buffet and hot dishes for breakfast with good coffee . Altogether a lovely experience in a very charming small town... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us & we are all hoping to welcome you back shortly. Regards, Kairi Kett Hotel Manager More 

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fireworks. We were camping down road in a campervan. The dog took off in fright. Gone all night. We rocked up to the Brudenell at first light, asking if I could charge my out of charge phone, in case anyone found the dog and would call. We were made immediately welcome, given tea, and invited to stay for as long... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kalikellett
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review & thank you for your kind words! We are hoping to welcome you back very soon for some more tea & hospitality! Best wishes, Kairi Kett Hotel Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This is an excellent rather expensive seaside hotel right on the Suffolk coast overlooking shingle beach. Décor is seaside themed, food is outstanding and service outstanding by young, enthusiastic Europeans. On the negative side, room lighting is sepulchral and there is very little storage. Some sea view rooms have good sea views; others less so but at the same price.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brolly52
BrudenellGManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time and post your review. Glad to read you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken the negative comments on board and will be addressing them. We all hope we are able to welcome you back shortly. Best wishes, Kairi Kett Hotel Manager More 

463 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (329)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Standard Double or Twin Room (35)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room (45)
Viewed
Other (43)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
0.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
604 reviews
31.9 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
749 reviews
14.3 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
634 reviews
20.5 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Seafood & Grill Restaurant
Seafood & Grill Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range: RM645 - RM911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Brudenell Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
South East England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Spalding, United Kingdom
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Brudenell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 210 with balcony a real treat!”
 of 5 bubbles 302carolineo, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are booking "sea view" emphasize that you mean it!”
 of 5 bubbles Brolly52, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a sea view - lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the waves.”
 of 5 bubbles 888Patricia888, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the rooms on the upper floors and facing inland for a more interesting view than just the sea!”
 of 5 bubbles Mellinus, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 303 particularly the bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles rhodj871, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay