We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Hotels.comUS$47*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$48*
US$47*
US$48*
US$48*
US$47*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 382: English reviews
Start your review of Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
 Click to rate
Bury st edmunds
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My cousin and his family we're coming to visit me all the way from Scotland! after I had recently suffered a stroke! I recommended the dragonfly hotel for somewhere for them to stay so they booked a room and asked for another bed to be made up in the room for their 12 yr old son to which the request...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samallar
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at your hotel on Sunday 16th April 2017 for 1 night, as a get away for us for the Easter weekend. we was really looking forward to it. We had travelled up from Walton on the Naze to your hotel which was a nice drive as roads were quiet. When we arrived, we thought what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidcarley
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with the hotel during your stay and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience the issues may have caused you. We take all comments seriously, whether positive or negative, to enable us to improve on what we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner fancied a weekend away for Easter and we felt that Bury St Edmunds would be a neutral ground for both of us. When we arrived, on first impressions the hotel looked very dated. At the reception, the lady was most welcoming although we were shocked that there was only one member of staff to operate the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom Oliver G
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us. I'm very sorry you were less than satisfied with your stay with us and i will be looking into all the comments that you have made and I hope you will consider using the hotel again in the future to allow us the...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good bits the room was clean and had everything we needed, the bed was really comfy, it was really easy to find, my passengers spotted the hotel from the A14 island and it had a nice large car park. Beautiful picturesque walk into the main town and only took us 15 mins or so. Bad bits the room didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl Y
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us, and I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and in a convenient position but a bit dated, but there was information in the room that stated that the chain of hotels were being updated to a much better standard with special beds, new carpets, large TVs etc, so by the time we visit this part of the world again, hopefully it will have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post you review of your recent stay here. I will pass these comments onto the teams here as they always appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again. Kind regards

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for just one night thank goodness,like a lot of people have put the best thing about this hotel is the location as you can walk into lovely Bury St Edmunds,the staff didn't care they wasn't interested in you as a paying guest they was more interested in talking between themselves,we had a pizza and a pint there after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twright125
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with the hotel during your stay and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience the issues may have caused you. We take all comments seriously, whether positive or negative, to enable us to improve on what we...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As stated by many other people, the best thing about the hotel is the location. From there it goes downhill I'm afraid to say. Three of us stayed overnight last night and luckily were didn't spend much time in the hotel. The hotels interior is very tired and needs lots of sprucing up. Very dull and unwelcoming. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank martinsheeran62
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us. I'm very sorry you were less than satisfied with your stay with us and i will be looking into all the comments that you have made and I hope you will consider using the hotel again in the future to allow us the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights to attend a wedding and catch up with friends, so all we wanted was a place to sleep, have breakfast and the odd meal. On that basis, the Dragonfly was fine. The rooms had new beds, which were very comfortable. Only two negatives; 1. The showers have quite low pressure, so are adequate rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your last visit with us. I will pass these comments onto the teams here as they always appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To start with the positives, this hotel is conveniently located 1 minute off the A14, which is both useful for weary travellers and also a godsend in the morning when you will doubtlessly want to escape this hotel asap. The first room I was given did not have a working toilet, I was given a new room but the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce M
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you consider staying with...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel may be comparatively cheap but it still should be avoided if possible. It doesn't start well, the reception is dull and dreary, staff are pleasant though. The room is clean, decent sized bathroom but it's dated, dull and dreary....and no wifi. Again the bar away is dull and lifeless, the bar service is painfully slow. We didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Crispycake1
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us. I'm very sorry you were less than satisfied with your stay with us and i will be looking into all the comments that you have made and I hope you will consider using the hotel again in the future to allow us the...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
365 reviews
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
442 reviews
1.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
237 reviews
4.4 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
184 reviews
3.5 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Address: Symonds Road, Bury St Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: RM241 - RM465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to stay away from the A11 road noise.”
M1701QPstevec, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back, away from the A14 dual carriageway. We had room 317, which was well away from the traffic noise.”
SimonD668, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms as far as possible from this hotel”
DavidBM4388HT, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“comfortable, warm, clean”
jadek410, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check good shower in the room”
Dragonball_13, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$47* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$48
TravelocityUS$47
TripAdvisorUS$47
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates