We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Angel Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Angel Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,039 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Angel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,034: English reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I went to the Angel Hotel for afternoon tea on Sunday and thought it was very poor value. Not only had they not got all the items as described on the menu, but what they did provide for supposedly two people was very limited. At £17.50 per person I would expect, and having been to several other places for afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VictoriaBontoft
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VictoriaBontoft Thank you for taking the time write your review regarding your recent Afternoon Tea experience with us. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests in order that we may improve the service we offer. I would like to sincerely apologise for the experience you had in our lounge, and the standard of Afternoon Tea you...

UK
Reviewed 9 July 2015

lovely room good food the hotel is right in the middle of the town opposite the park so very convenient. our room was in a court yard next to the hotel. please note all the rooms differ though so please enquire before hand

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon J Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Angel Hotel. We look forward to your return in the near future. Kind regards Lynn Cowan

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

From the moment we arrived, the attention was exemplary. A wonderful Georgian period hotel in the very centre of this picturesque town (city); you cannot find better. As soon as you drive through the entrance arch, staff take your car and luggage; amazing attention, but not in any way patronising. We paid £10 extra for a superior room; it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicallendentist
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nicallendentist Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Angel Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that we impressed you with our level of service and attention to detail. Your comments will certainly be warmly received by The Angel Team. I do hope we may welcome you back in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

After a long and stressful week at work, culminating in a two hour, stop start drive on a Friday rush hour, we arrived at the Angel 5 minutes before our dinner reservation at the Maison Bleue round the corner, and far from relaxed. We noticed as we arrived that there was a wedding party on at the hotel, and feared...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew F
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew F Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Angel Hotel. It is such a pleasure to hear that we were able to relieve your week worth of stresses on arrival at the Hotel. Our team work very hard to ensure they deliver high standards of customer service, and it is great to hear that we...

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We stayed for two nights. I have recommend the Angel to visitors several times. We were told we had the last available room and thought this was why it was so disappointing. The window was painted white so we could not see out. This was because there is a public car park in front of the Angel. If one cannot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara W I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last minute stay with us at The Angel Hotel. As you mention we only had one of our modern and very contemporary Impressions Rooms available at the time you booked with us. These rooms are located on the ground floor of the hotel, some of which...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Just spent the weekend in The Angel hotel, this being our second time in seven years, on our first visit we absolutely loved this hotel, so on our second visit our opinion has not changed one bit, the location could not be better, The Abbey Gardens & Cathedral are just across the road, we stayed in a courtyard room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek C Thank you very much for returning to The Angel Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that we still managed to impress on your second visit to us. Your positive comments about our staff have been warmly received by the whole team who work very hard to deliver high standards of customer service at all times. It...

england
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Room was dated the food was good the more money you spend the better the room we had a deal for overnight stay and dinner room was not that great food was ok it would be better if it wasn't a package I understand some rooms are lovely but we didn't have one of these maybe next time

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank francesEngland
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear francesEngland Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us at The Angel Hotel. We have a range of different room types here, from the traditionally designed Classic rooms right through to our Contemporary and Romantic Suites. Whilst I can appreciate our traditional rooms may not be to everyones taste we do...

Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

It is a beautiful older hotel. We spent lots of time in front of the wood burning fire place in the lobby having drinks and chatting. Restaurant was lovely and food good. Stayed for a week could not fault. Really close to the abbey gardens which is great when the suns out ☀️amazing views from windows

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julianne787
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julianne787 Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay with us at The Angel Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I am so pleased to here you enjoyed your visit. Kind regards Lynn Cowan

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

The Angel Hotel is situated directly in front of the historic abbey ruins and attractive, tranquil gardens, yet very close to the high street, shops, bars, restaurants etc. My room was modern, spacious and well furnished, with a satisfactory en suite. My only niggle was the over soft mattress. The hotel lounge is comfortable with unusual decorative items. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charles R
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charles R Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this fair review. I am very pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of the views overlooking Abbey Gardens. As you have recommended I would suggest making a request for a...

horsham
Reviewed 11 June 2015

I stayed here with my wife for one night as I had to attend a business meeting and my wife went shopping (as it was market day) The hotel is excellently located for access to the great sights and shopping in Bury St Edmunds and it has the added advantage of inhouse car parking. Whilst we elected to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HorshamMoosehead
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HorshamMoosehead Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Angel Hotel, and for taking the time to write this review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with your room, your food and the service you received. We hope to welcome you...

605 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (314)
Viewed
Coach House Room (34)
Viewed
Contemporary Suite (33)
Viewed
Impressions Room (32)
Viewed
Ivy View Suite (38)
Viewed
Originals Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Romantic Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
269 reviews
4.7 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
564 reviews
37.2 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
408 reviews
4.8 km away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
569 reviews
16.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Angel Eaterie
The Angel Eaterie
Cuisines: European, British, Italian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: RM594 - RM1,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had excellent rooms in the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles BrianF201146, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the new courtyard rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles poppyr515, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Accessible rooms in modern extension to Georgian main part of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles TrippingLady, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check with the staff that they know exactly the location of the rooms and if they know for sure how quiet they are.”
 of 5 bubbles YogagirlPelsall, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay in room 115 unless you know a good chiropractor!”
 of 5 bubbles 597gilesp, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay