We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 477: English reviews
Start your review of Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My husband and I went purely to use the gym and pool, £20 each for the day, can't go wrong! The staff are a little uppity, wouldn't let us exchange a wet swimming towel for a dry one unless we paid another £2.50!!! Surprisingly I didn't have any change whilst I was standing there in a dressing gown, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doodles713
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I came today as I was given a voucher for my 40th birthday. We were really excited to go and have 3 treatments and a relaxing day, however unfortunately this wasn't the case. The lady welcoming us was very friendly and helpful, however, £10 to hire a robe and towel, (but getting to keep some cheap slippers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jk7704
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Hi Im sorry that aspects of your visit let us down, and i apologise for the mix up over lunch, and Im so glad you enjoyed your treatments in the Spa. Thanks Daryl

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at this amazing spa for a day and a night. Had a great welcome then when we got there and shown around. we went for a swim Jacuzzi sauna really nice afternoon and to top it off we had back massages and facials. In the evening we had a lovely meal was very special. Now for the bad part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Hi Robert Thanks for the review, I'm sorry about the noise from the laundry. Im so pleased the rest of your stay was a great one. Thanks Daryl

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I came here for the first time for a relaxing spa day. Despite the initial mix-up with our names at reception, the staff were friendly and polite and our treatments didn't seem rushed. Lunch was lovely, although I must say, the fish with the fish and chips was the weirdest shaped fish I had seen! The facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankie123591
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review, I'm sorry about the minor quibbles, and really pleased that the treatments and lunch were lovely. We look forward to seeing you again Thanks Daryl

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible, terrible, terrible to try and deal with. Have spent three days in a row trying to get through to book a Girls Getaway overnight break which my husband treated me to. No-one answers the phone. For three days in a row I have been told I'm 20+ in the queue. Each time I've held for over an hour and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SamLouise67
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Im so sorry you are having difficulties, could you please call the hotel direct and we will help you. Thanks Daryl

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spa stay was a Christmas present which I've been looking forward to. It didn't disappoint. From the greeting when we arrived, right the way through our stay, staff helpful & friendly, especially spa staff. Kimberley who did my massage excellent. We had evening meal, which topped the day off nicely. Room was very comfortable & clean. The stay went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Wow, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, Kimberley will be over the moon !!! Thank you also for your comments regarding the service you received, we will look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks Daryl

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came here with my wife as she has been here several times and she wanted me to experience Clarice House. I must say It was disappointing as so many people are crammed in now that Banantyne owns it,there is not enough places too sit,the conservatory where there used to be chairs is now a relaxation room with only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LordKinally
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for writing a review, I'm pleased to say the lights are now turned off at 10pm. It was particularly busy that day and we have addressed the volume going forwards. We do hope to see you again soon. Thanks Daryl

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on a Virgin Experience Days voucher as a Christmas present. It was my first spa experience so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I loved it! Staff were very helpful, facilities were great, treatments were very good (we both had Swedish back, neck and shoulder massages), and the food was amazing. Our room had a lovely 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsWolf28
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

What fabulous comments, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again. Daryl

Hatfield Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was taken here as a birthday gift with a voucher which included an overnight stay, a 25 min treatment, dinner and breakfast. Check-in was slightly manic as they made us fill in our spa forms and there was no where to sit to do this so leaning on stairs etc was not the best welcome (all the seats in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clodagh G
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments, I'm so pleased you would come back again and we have looked at the arrival times and we have already seen a difference. There is some investment planned for the poolside furniture also. I am sorry about that the treatment you received was too firm, I will certainly look into this. Thanks Daryl

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a spa break for my daughter and I. We had been there before it had been taken over and remembered it as being a cosy relaxing experience. I booked over the phone but when the confirmation came back( by email) it had been booked for the wrong date. Not a good start. When I phoned first time I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maristubbs
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Im so sorry about your experience and thank you for your positive comments. The food is delicious!! We have looked at the volume and have put some steps in place which we have already seen a difference. Your comments have helped us improve our service. I do hope you will return as Im sure your next experience will be a...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
2.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,105 reviews
6.3 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
603 reviews
4.8 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
607 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
347 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5PH, England (Formerly Clarice House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:5 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Summerhouse is nice and big.”
 of 5 bubbles LordKinally, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms were clean but pool area lets it down.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahcO4073LJ, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Honolulu room which was lovely - spacious room with a huge bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles sonian178, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in the Honolulu and summertime rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles cberti, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enquire about which room you have and if it has neighbours!”
 of 5 bubbles CloW86, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5