We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,051 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,045: English reviews
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has all the good points that you want in a restful break. The staff are very efficient and courteous, food is excellent, the restaurant very pretty, just a nice ambience.The villages around and about are worth visiting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ross742
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We reserved a standard double en suite room for five nights for the end of November, I knew from the moment I made the booking that this hotel was something special, as the receptionist and all staff were very professional, from the moment we reserved to the moment we departed, we were surprised to receive a free upgrade to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

The appointment we booked at the spa for my wife 5 months ago was cancelled by the spa with less than 12 hours’ notice due to a staff absence. We were offered a replacement time just before hotel checkout time the following morning, which would not have been a time we would have chosen. We expressed our extreme disappointment with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SXK526
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us. The cancellation was due to staff illness, something completely unforeseen I am afraid. Unfortunately, due to our remote location and a busy weekend we were unable to find a replacement therapist to perform the treatment. Every...

Stanford le Hope
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted to go to Lavenham for a long while. The hotel was superb. Reception excellent. Made to feel special. A very pleasant welcome and shown to room where all amenities explained. Room very comfortable and clean. Service excellent from the bar to the Brasserie Restaurant. Food top quality and well presented. Will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Many thanks for your kind comments and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you, when you return. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time at the Swan and hopefully not my last. Me and my partner booked 1 night in a Gainsborough room for our anniversary, with the 3 course dinner option and a romance package. We also booked afternoon tea and 2 60 minute treatments in the spa. Room - huge room with a four poster bed, dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. We're delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed aspects of your visit, including dinner and your visit to Weavers' House Spa. However we're very sorry to hear that your entire experience was not 5 star. I have copied...

Cambridge
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a night on a DBB package. The hotel is full of character and an added benefit is access to the spa facilities. There is a vitality pool to lie in staring up at the sky - in November! The restaurant is very atmospheric and provided an excellent evening meal and a superb breakfast. We took our well behaved dog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear that you (and your dog) enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan again, very soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Kids with grandparents; a hotel not too far from home; wife's birthday and two nights together. The stars were aligned - the lottery, metaphorically, won. Room 11 was tucked away, by Wool Hall, and has two outside walls. Thankfully this wasn't a problem. It was warm and quiet enough to be a lovely place to stay. The bed is one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R0bertBROWN
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed a weekend away and we hope that your children enjoyed the weekend with their Grandparents, as much as you did with us! Thank you again and if I can...

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have just had a fabulous night at The Swan as a late birthday present for me. Not our first visit, and it won't be our last. As everyone says, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the surroundings are unique (room 10 is gorgeous) and the food and service in the gallery restaurant is some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nosmadanai
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Return visit. Very pleasant staff.Clean character rooms.Great food. Our only problems were that our room was very hot and we were disturbed by road noise and a 5am delivery to the butcher opposite. We came home tired.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger N
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I am really sorry to hear that your experienced some issues with your stay, which we will happily look in to. I have already queried with Lavenham Butchers about early morning deliveries, but I have been advised that the staff there don't start until 6.30am. I will...

london, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night and loved every moment of our stay. The welcome was warm and friendly in particular to our dog that we had with us. Our room was spacious and a quiet location overlooking the garden. The bed was large and comfortable and the hotel had even thought to put in a welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tedsterlondon_UK
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your four-legged friend enjoyed their stay too. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan at Lavenham. Thank you for your kind comments. If I can assist you further, at any time, please...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
25.8 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
33.6 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
887 reviews
17.5 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
29.0 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
619 reviews
23.8 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Price Range: RM526 - RM1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
Alicante, Spain
9 months ago
Hinckley, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room not on the High Street.”
 of 5 bubbles CANDANorfolkuk_10, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles tonyslv, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As we only saw our own room I cannot comment but it is in a village.”
 of 5 bubbles marzi554, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room under the stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles TomK935, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Have a room not alongside a road!!”
 of 5 bubbles Eurotraveller777, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay