We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,119: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room for a relaxing weekend and went for a double deluxe room. We end up in a non renovated room (no discount or mention of it) on the hight street side and in a very noisy part of the hotel (we could hear people walking as if they were in the room). We went to the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank legrandchristo
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry to have given you a reason to be dissatisfied however we did try to make contact with you, prior to you posting this review. Please can you make contact with me via email, so that we can follow up this matter with you...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Afternoon tea for a birthday celebration. Lovely environment, attentive service, very expensive! Regularly enjoy afternoon tea at different venues and feel other places offer slightly more for less money! For example, although hot water was offered to top up tea, pot of tea itself was not replenished as in other venues. Also, food wasn't replenished if desired as at other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathermavis
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our dinner was absolutely fantastic and the service exemplary. Food connoisseurs should be impressed with an option for five courses if desired. But believe me three courses were ample. Breakfasts are also very good, full English, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, etc., and all served to the table. We had a downstairs junior suite... available for travellers with dogs who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 880gnb
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Suffolk UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in on spec and liked the look of the menu however the head waiter almost took pleasure in telling us the restaurant was fully booked. We nearly left however decided to look at the bar menu. So pleased we stayed as Manos was very helpful. We had aperitif and then ate the Chicken Kiev with a glass of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimSuffolk
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotel with very professional staff, the food and drinks menu is second to none. The rooms are large and the bar and seating area is very relaxed. The village itself offers nice gift shops, pubs and restaurants all within easy walking distance. The hotel also excepts well behaved dogs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevc00p
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Suffolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night b & b with dinner. Rooms lovely and clean, dinner and service very good although only one vegetarian main and the breakfast excellent. Addition of the spa makes this a really lovely venue for a weekend break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful medieval building, tastefully modernised. Its not just the choice of restaurants, spa or the unique bedrooms which warrant mention so much as the hotel staff. The reception, restaurant and bar staff were excellent; they combined expertise with a friendliness which showed interest without intrusion. Our room was number 35 which overlooked the High Street and there were no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mouse188
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Chelmsford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had booked the Swan Hotel for my mother's 80th Birthday as it was somewhere we had always wanted to visit, we were not disappointed. The Staff were friendly and helpful during the check in process, there was a lovely olde worlde lounge to sit and relax in. We had to rooms for our party the room on the ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 6 celebrating a birthday (82 yrs young). The hotel itself is delightful with its Olde Worlde charm and facilities. We arrived to find that Storm Dorris had taken out the power and a generator was being delivered. Fortunately a change back to mains power (with one further, much shorter interruption of supply) was completed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forkbender
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I have discussed your comments with our Head Chef. All of the venison came from the same haunch, so the differences you describe are hard to identify, after the event. We very much wish you had brought these matters to our attention, whilst you were on site...

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Swan at Lavenham Thursday 23rd of February for a wedding turned up to a power cut due to storm Doris, so as you can imagine we were worried but no need the staff of the swan made us welcome and due to their hard work the weeding went off without any problem had a fantastic stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philb1956
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. The entire team were determined that Storm Doris was not going to spoil the bride and groom's wedding day. We're thrilled to hear that you encountered great service, on what I know was a very challenging day at The Swan, due to the power cut. Thank you again for your kind words and we...

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (275)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
25.8 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
17.5 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
949 reviews
30.5 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
838 reviews
29.0 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Price Range: RM587 - RM1,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
Alicante, Spain
over a year ago
Hinckley, United Kingdom
9 months ago
2 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Your room may not look like the website photos.”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaH439, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a larger room go for the superior room”
 of 5 bubbles Lesleyhearts, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Call & ask, so much easier to talk to the hotel direct.”
 of 5 bubbles Pauleve51, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near fire escapes which are noisy and used by staff very early in the morning and late at night”
 of 5 bubbles jandd832, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As The Swan is a 15th Century hotel, if you are tall just mention as some doorways are low. However they are padded.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaF205, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5