We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown at Woodbridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown at Woodbridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown at Woodbridge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
london
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We booked this hotel as it was near to a wedding we were attending and i've got to say it was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. Check in was very quick and our room was fine. Nice bedroom and very good size bathroom. Staff all very helpful. Breakfast was enormous even for me and check out was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tonycat22
Laura M, Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We're so please to hear that your experience was so good in all areas. We try really hard and it's very rewarding to get feedback like yours. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future. If I can assist you further, at any time,...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Slightly disappointing table as we were stuck in the corner despite having booked so it was quite cramped and away from the gorgeous bar area! But the drinks were so tasty and the food was lovely - i went for the pork cheeks which were delicious but the rest of my family had steaks and didn't rate them! Great service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllenaF94
Laura M, Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Great to hear how much you all enjoyed the food and drinks here at The Crown. Sorry we couldn't give you another table on this occasion. Next time your here, let us know your favorite table and we will do our best to give it to you...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Just had a scrumptious meal here,fantastic service from the lovely Helen ,so attentive & even though it was very busy we got our drinks,starters & meal so quickly ! Delicious mussels ,scallops for starter & fab burger & sea bass for main ,just didn't have room for dessert ,was made to feel very welcome by Helen the manager ,will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joshandholly
Laura M, Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We're so please to hear that your experience was so good in all areas. We try really hard and it's very rewarding to get feedback like yours. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future. If I can assist you further, at any time,...

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

I had business meetings here over 4 days with a Colleague from overseas. Her room was beautiful, comfortable and good attention to detail. The service we received throughout the day was excellent. Staff were friendly, attentive, efficient and helpful. The food is excellent. For business and pleasure this is a wise choice. Impressed!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank juliapapworth
Laura M, Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We're so please to hear that your experience left you so impressed. We try really hard and it's very rewarding to get feedback like yours. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do...

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Booked for husbands birthday more so we could eat at The Unruly Pig (which was fantastic). Paid £160.00 which was steep for the standard of room. Carpet needed replacing, lightbulbs out in corridor and bathroom, sealant and woodwork around bath needed some love, tiny TV, average tea and coffee tray etc. Think they can charge this as no competition in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie T
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that your experience didn’t match your expectations. We are sorry that you didn’t feel able to share this feedback with us at the time, when we would gladly have taken action to resolve your concerns. If I can assist you further, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Everything about this place is cool. Staff were spot on most noticeably Josh Hicks. Totally attentive and professional even when under pressure. Food was excellent especially the breakfast. Fresh orange and starched linen napkins are a wonderful touch !

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dawnstevens01
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

UK
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Newly refurbished, a very stylish gastro pub. Food however a little disappointing. Half chicken seemed very much the flattened pre-prepared variety and was quite plasticky in texture. Chicken pie was over creamy and left a cloying aftertaste. Rosemary chips and seasonal veg were good though, other than extra portion of fine green beans which were undercooked. Excellent Addams on draft....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulm2101
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I can confirm that our method of preparing the chicken, is to debone it and then to cook it with its marinade sous-vide. We have had such positive feedback on the dishes you mentioned, so it's a real shame you did not enjoy your experience. It is impossible to rectify issues with meals after...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Booked the crown as I am getting married at a local venue in the morning. Looked elegant etc. was told on check in that there would be a house music DJ here til midnight, had we been informed? No we hadn't.. I said that due to wedding in the morning I didn't want to be kept up. Was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer B
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly, we would like to congratulate you on your wedding and we hope that you day was wonderful. We were hosting a special event on that evening and it was advertised on the website & our various social media channels. We are sorry this disrupted your stay...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Ensuite room wi fit tea and coffee available , warm and clean , Staff extremely helpful , but limited parking , however plenty of parking a minutes walk away at a public Car park. Good location foe exploring Suffork and the coast , Southwild etc . Resturant had a good choice of fresh local products , breakfast excellant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryn1949
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

This was our first time here and to be honest the food was good but we wouldn't bother again. We came in the entrance that backs onto the car park, walking in we were met with a packed out bar, people shoulder to shoulder very loud (not music) and we just stood on the two steps up to the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lay-mark2015
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us, due to the noise and number of people in our bar area on that night. Unfortunately establishments can not always predict how busy the bar area might become on a given evening,...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.3 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.1 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
962 reviews
11.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
958 reviews
4.7 km away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
493 reviews
14.8 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Darran Hazelton showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Address: Thoroughfare, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Price Range: RM751 - RM958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
10 months ago
London
over a year ago
London

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay , we just used the restaurant twice.”
williamh610, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Speak to staff.”
108JohnC108, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Noisy facing street - Might have quieter rooms”
GeorgieT478, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 7&8 are the biggest and are also quiet”
dawnstevens01, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms I saw seem to be ok .”
bryn1949, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5