We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 512: English reviews
Belgium
Reviewed 16 May 2016

this is the best Mercure I've ever been too. Great setting, clean, pleasant and very attentive staff. Didn't use the large pool, but it look wonderful. Definitely great value for money in this wonderful part of England

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cauchy138
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cauchy138 I was delighted to read your review of you stay at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge - thank you very much!! Praise indeed... and I shall definitely ensure that the team see your lovely comments. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

All in all we would definitely come back and stay. Rooms in need of a renovation, air con system very intermittent and with this freak UK heatwave was a bit stuffy in our room all night and location of our room, meant hearing the wedding music until the early hours of the morning. But despite that comfy bed, spacious room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S Thank you so much for your balanced review. I'm really pleased that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay however I was sorry to read that you faced some issues with the Air Conditioning and bedroom location. We don't normally suffer complaints regarding wedding noise, because of the locations of the bedrooms, so I'm very sorry that...

Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Attended a beautiful family wedding breakfast here, which included staying the night. This place is lovely, had a thoroughly good time celebrating at a family wedding. Of course, seeing family and friends after a while apart was lovely, but the venue made it even more special. Stunning rooms, bedrooms very comfortable and food excellent. Might have to pay it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter Y Thanks very much for your lovely comments. We're really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you enjoyed the wedding! We look forward to welcoming you back for that second visit!! Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Woking
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Room 209 looked great. Cosy bed and a great bathroom. However there was no tv remote in the bedroom so we couldn't use the tv. In the morning we went to make coffee and the UHT milk had gone off. Every single carton in the room! We had called to say we were checking in after 12pm and that wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie O
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stefanie O Thank you for your considered review and whilst I'm delighted that you enjoyed your bedroom and bathroom I was disappointed to see that you had some issues with the milk in the bedroom. This is something that we haven't experienced before and, upon checking the whole hotel, is not something we've found in other bedrooms either so...

kent
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. The bed was comfortable, the shower excellent and the room was so quiet! It had a balcony where you could sit and look over the garden. We ate in the restaurant and had great food and superb, unobtrusive service. All in all a fab experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adobeKent
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adobeKent Thank you so much for your review - we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that everything was to your liking. The Garden Rooms are indeed stunning - especially at this time of the year! We do hope to welcome you back soon! Nick

Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We have not visited this Hotel for some time and not since it became a Mercure Hotel. It has been completely modernised and although it is not as cosy in the old style that it was,,the modern decor is very pleasing to the eye. We ordered the roast beef and egg sandwiches which appeared to be expensive but turned out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank watchman2015
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear watchman2015 I'm so pleased that you decided to come back to the hotel after the refurbishment. I really hope that we balance modern and traditional and it seems you liked that balance. The hotel has such a rich history that it's important we represent that in the decor. Thank you for your comments regarding the lunch that you were...

Reviewed 24 April 2016

Spent a wonderful day here as a wedding guest - food was exceptional, service unobtrusive and very efficient - everything went like a swiss watch - a truly memorable experience at a venue we have known for years which just gets better and better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roland M Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the wedding that you attended. We do a fair few weddings so the aim is to run like clock work, and I'm really pleased that you noticed the service. Thank you also for the comments that the hotel is getting better and better - I'm delighted that you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

A lovely setting, attentive staff and wonderful food. A wedding reception was also being held so they were busy but we were treated with importance and were attentive to our needs. Although busy due to a wedding reception plenty of parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsey A
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey A Thank you for posting a review of the hotel. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea here and gratified to read that, even though busy, you felt you were well "looked after" which is what we aim for. I shall certainly make sure that the team read your lovely comments. See you soon...

Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

My friend and I decided to pop in to the Burford Bridge for breakfast after dropping my son off camping at Box Hill. We received a warm welcome and were seated at a table by the window which gave us an interesting view of the classic cars which were meeting in the nearby car park. We chose eggs benedict off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill C Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding breakfast in our Emlyn Restaurant. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it - we love it when non-residents come in to experience the most important meal of the day!! I really do hope that we can welcome back in the near future... Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Food was lovely but service very poor indeed. Very under staffed. Struggled to find anyone to take our order, get the bill, tea came without milk, had to really search for a member of staff. No one to welcome us or say goodbye. Won't be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juleslambert04
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juleslambert04 I believe that I spoke to you on the telephone and have sent an email response too. I hope that you received it. As you can imagine, Afternoon Tea is one of our most important and popular items at Mercure Burford Bridge and we generally receive very positive feedback, as our Trip Advisor reviews will testify. I really...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
6.8 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
41 reviews
2.4 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.5 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
178 reviews
7.6 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
502 reviews
7.5 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: RM458 - RM878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
23 days ago
london
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the garden are lovely, but as the weather was bad, we changed to a room in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles CHP1536, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 102 !!!!”
 of 5 bubbles mariathatsveryfussy, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As far away from the Barn (late night music) as possible and at the rear for no traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Alison49, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on garden side (very loud on the road side according to an unlucky colleague)”
 of 5 bubbles Winchris, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back should have less noise...we think?”
 of 5 bubbles Akwandrews, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5