We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Booking.comUS$125*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 528: English reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We travelled to this area for a family wedding. The hotel is located near box hill which is a national trust site. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and efficient. There is plenty of room to relax either in the bar or meeting places areas along with a garden patio area. The hotel garden contains an outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael F Thank you very much for your considered review. I was delighted to read your comments about the hotel, surrounding areas and the team. We hope that you do return and stay at the hotel in the future. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

It's BH Monday, not busy, just wanted a sandwich and a glass of wine. Long wait to be served, longer wait to receive sandwiches, bread stale, longest wait for the bill and had to eventually go and find someone. Not worth the wait or the money. Young girl on her own, not her fault

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill B Thank you for comments regarding your visit to Emlyn on Bank Holiday. I'm really surprised at your comments and can only apologise. Our bread is baked on-site, seven days a week so I cannot understand what happened? I do hope that you reported this to the team at the time and had the sandwich replaced? I was...

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

On entering the hotel if is bright modern and stylishly decorated as is the whole ground floor. I was excited hoping our room would be of a similar quality. We had one of the newly refurbished garden rooms, some bits were modern and smart but others like the coffee table, bedside tables lamps and desk just let it down. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear whetheryouthink Thank you for kindly writing a review of your stay. I'm really pleased that, on the whole, you enjoyed your visit. I shall investigate your comments regarding your bedroom as it's important that the hotel is consistent throughout. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future... Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Swanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We visited this hotel for our anniversary and were slightly disappointed after reading such positive reviews. Our stay was for only one night which proved to be partially sleepless due to the noise from a party in another part of the hotel which went on until 1am. We stayed in room 311 and realised how thin the walls were when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew E
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew E Thank you for your kind review and comments. I'm really very sorry that you feel the level of service didn't meet your expectations. As our reviews will testify we normally receive very positive feedback and it's very rare to receive negative comments regarding noise in the bedrooms or our general service levels and I shall certainly investigate...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Party of six to Burford Bridge for lunch. Drinks in the lounge were served promptly and for the most part were perfectly pleasant (the mojitos were distinctly sub standard and were sent back to be quickly replaced with G&Ts at no extra charge though the £19 cost for the two mojitos remained on the bill). Lunch was rather good -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyinbrighton
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tonyinbrighton Thank you very much for your considered review and comments regarding your lunch here. I'm really pleased to see that, on the whole, you enjoyed your visit to Emlyn Restaurant and I shall certainly feed your comments back to the team regarding your drinks and food. We do hope we get to meet you again in the future....

Epsom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

What a lovely evening! Staff were attentive, food was amazing and the venue was perfect. We had a family birthday celebration in the dining room with pre dinner drinks in the lounge. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenandTony24
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HelenandTony24 Thank you very much for your lovely comments following your family celebration. I might be biased, but I think this is a great place to hold a party!! I shall certainly share your lovely comments with the team and hope to see you again in the future... Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Belgium
Reviewed 16 May 2016

this is the best Mercure I've ever been too. Great setting, clean, pleasant and very attentive staff. Didn't use the large pool, but it look wonderful. Definitely great value for money in this wonderful part of England

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cauchy138
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cauchy138 I was delighted to read your review of you stay at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge - thank you very much!! Praise indeed... and I shall definitely ensure that the team see your lovely comments. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

All in all we would definitely come back and stay. Rooms in need of a renovation, air con system very intermittent and with this freak UK heatwave was a bit stuffy in our room all night and location of our room, meant hearing the wedding music until the early hours of the morning. But despite that comfy bed, spacious room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S Thank you so much for your balanced review. I'm really pleased that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay however I was sorry to read that you faced some issues with the Air Conditioning and bedroom location. We don't normally suffer complaints regarding wedding noise, because of the locations of the bedrooms, so I'm very sorry that...

Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Attended a beautiful family wedding breakfast here, which included staying the night. This place is lovely, had a thoroughly good time celebrating at a family wedding. Of course, seeing family and friends after a while apart was lovely, but the venue made it even more special. Stunning rooms, bedrooms very comfortable and food excellent. Might have to pay it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter Y Thanks very much for your lovely comments. We're really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you enjoyed the wedding! We look forward to welcoming you back for that second visit!! Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Woking
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Room 209 looked great. Cosy bed and a great bathroom. However there was no tv remote in the bedroom so we couldn't use the tv. In the morning we went to make coffee and the UHT milk had gone off. Every single carton in the room! We had called to say we were checking in after 12pm and that wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie O
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stefanie O Thank you for your considered review and whilst I'm delighted that you enjoyed your bedroom and bathroom I was disappointed to see that you had some issues with the milk in the bedroom. This is something that we haven't experienced before and, upon checking the whole hotel, is not something we've found in other bedrooms either so...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
7.1 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
63 reviews
2.6 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.5 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
514 reviews
7.5 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
636 reviews
7.4 km away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: RM499 - RM919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
1 month ago
london
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms you are directed to the outside path to get to but you can go up the stairs and round instead.”
charlotterL6624LE, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rear of the hotel, away from the road.”
  • View of the main body of the hotel from the room
  • Lovely & bright & gleaming clean
  • Welcoming balloons and wine
770andyh, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We thought the rooms in the main hotel building were great”
BARRY28544, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the garden are lovely, but as the weather was bad, we changed to a room in the main hotel”
CHP1536, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 102 !!!!”
mariathatsveryfussy, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$125
HotelQuicklyUS$152
Hotels.comUS$125
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates