We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wheatsheaf Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Wheatsheaf Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our company training day was held nearby in Grayswood and we adjourned for lunch in the Wheatsheaf. The food was excellent with a menu that catered for all tastes including vegetarian. The staff were very welcoming and it was pleasurable to relax in a convivial and traditional pub setting. Everyone felt refreshed, restored and ready to carry on with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBaigrie
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

George , thank you very much for such an excellent review , it's great when people take time to let us know we are doing things right . We at the wheatsheaf are all trying very hard to provide great food and good service , it seems we are on right track reading your review . Thanks once again More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here at the very end of October so it was nice and quiet. Ken and Di and all their staff made us feel very welcome. The Wheatsheaf is dog friendly and we were not even charged extra for the dog. She was even allowed to join us when we were having our meal. The breakfast was very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank 372Stephen
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Dear Stephen , thank you so much For reviewing us , I am so pleased that you and the doggie were happy here . It's always nice to get such a super review . We use these reviews to correct things when we are told we are doing things wrong or not up to,scratch , but from your words it... More 

Rochester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a dog with us, room was clean comfortable. We asked for table in pub with dog and were accomodated. Food was great staff friendly very helpful. Conservatory restaurant set up for wedding look lovely. Breakfast lovely. One failing they ran out of brandy which was our chosen drink after dinner. Reasonable rates great find. Would recommend 100%.

Helpful?
Thank Tomcathandy
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Cathy and tom what at great review , it's so nice when we learn we have pleased our guests . Let's hope you can come and see us in the near future . Many thanks di ken and all our super team More 

Diegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The staff is great and makes you very welcome. The rooms are clean and you has everyting you needs. At breakfast, you can ask what you want and the English Breakfast was not to fat at all. We also had a dinner with our friends over, and it was great and lovey !!!

Helpful?
Thank Tazke
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Dear tazke , thank you very much for such a great review , it's really good to get such a good review , we all appreciate your taking the time . Hope to see you again . Best wishes from all at the wheatsheaf More 

Stowmarket
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Great hosts, great food. Comfortable rooms, lovely well maintained grounds, breakfast was superb. I will return again when back in the area, the landlord makes you feel very welcome. Not too pricy given the area either, all good.

Helpful?
Thank carpernick C
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Carpenick thank you so much for a great review , it gives us a real boost to know we have pleased someone and that they take the time to tell us , hope to see you again soon .cheers ken di and all our team More 

carmarthen
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I would not hesitate to recommend The Wheatsheaf Inn to anyone..Ken and his staff are warm, welcoming and ensure all the guests are made to feel at home.. The rooms are clean and very reasonable in price. The food is excellent I had food in the evening and the inc breakfast both were freshly prepared and very tasty.. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank star93
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Star thank you so much for your great review , it makes all our hard work more worthwhile when we get such a good review , we enjoy meeting all the different people who stay with us and it's great to hear from a contented guest . Cheers ken di and all our team More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Convenient location when visiting Goodwood events and the surrounding areas of Surrey. Staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food was tasty. Their full English breakfast was especially good value. Our double room was clean albeit a little tired, but this did not spoil our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Telvenso
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Telvenso , your review is very welcome , thank you very much for taking the time . Overall you seem very happy with us and that is very pleasing . Hope to see you again best regards ken Diane and our super staff More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Nice specials board & God menu. Very nice and accommodating staff. The meals were freshly cooked and nice. Great children's menu too. We had Saturday lunch without a reservation and were made very welcome.

Helpful?
Thank paulaboyceuk
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Paula Thank you so much for taking time to review us , we are all very happy that you had a good time when visiting the Wheatsheaf . It's such a morale booster to receive good reviews . Hope we can see you again in the future . Cheers ken di and all our wonderful team More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

First the positives. The staff are very friendly and you can't fault that. The breakfast is really lovely and they go out of their way to help. It is a nice environment. Dinner was served in the conservatory and was nicely presented. The duck starter was terrific. Main course of home made burger was relatively dry. I didn't complain since... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jdsilverman
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Jonathan , thank you very much for giving us a review , it's much appreciated . It's great that you enjoyed the food . And that you found my team friendly , I take on board you comments re the rooms , we are constantly trying to improve them , but I take comfort from the fact that overall we... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We had the warmest welcome from the owners and all staff when my son and I came to stay at the weekend . Our room was clean fresh and comfortable . We had made some queries related to our needs pre arrival which were responded to quickly via email and telephone and met with no difficulties . Our vegan breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovecornwall30
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lisa Thank you so much for such a great review it makes all our efforts worthwhile , glad you had a good time at Haslemere fringe and most of all that you had a great time with us . Please call in if you are in the area . Cheers ken di and our great team More 

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.9 km away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
441 reviews
2.2 km away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
975 reviews
2.9 km away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
6.0 km away
Grayshott Spa
Grayshott Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
488 reviews
10.2 km away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wheatsheaf Inn is a traditional country pub located 1 mile north of Haslemere on the A286. It has 6 cosy en-suite bedrooms all with TV, direct dial telephone, wi-fi and hospitality tray. There is a traditional bar serving real ales and a wide selection of wines from around the world. This is complemented by a more formal restaurant and meals can be enjoyed in either, freshly cooked by award-winning chefs from a menu ranging from traditional pub grub to fine-dining dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Price Range: RM424 - RM440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice room dog friendly conservatory restaurant or pub area”
 of 5 bubbles Tomcathandy, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only had lunch”
 of 5 bubbles RogerVanstone, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are fantastic....”
 of 5 bubbles Pierre-Loup-DeCam, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you stay here, eat here. The food is superb.”
 of 5 bubbles Pops31, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Contact the Landlord direct for room information.”
 of 5 bubbles merrysolo, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay