We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 917: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed here before and love it. It has a lovely boutique feel and includes a good bar and nice bistro (reviewed separately). There is parking - although can be a bit busy at peak times and the rooms are lovely. Great showers, comfortable beds. It's really close to the city centre and some quayside bars and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgegibbs
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've stayed here a couple of times now and it has never disappointed. The staff, the location, the look and feel of the hotel, the food in the restaurant and the rooms all come together to make this place a special one. I would move in if I could, it's simply amazing! I honestly can not speak highly enough of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charley H
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Charley H Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. It is always a pleasure to welcome back regular guests and it is pleasing to read that it was yet another memorable stay. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team as it is...

East Anglia, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated a birthday with dinner at Hotel du Vin at the weekend. Staff very attentive, food very good. Chef piped white chocolate Happy Birthday with strawberries onto a plate, very nice touch. Loved the fire in the lounge, relaxed after dinner. Great location and atmosphere, certainly recommend this as a top venue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Steve C Many thanks for taking the time to share you feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. It's great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the team took such good care of you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards...

Kilmarnock
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful stay, excellent staff, lovely location! Food also great! Let down a little by the parking situation as you have to pay however it wouldn't put me off coming back. Keep up the good work guys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hurlford1124
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Hurlford1124 Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Newcastle. It is great to read that your stay was thoroughly enjoyable and made memorable by our fantastic team. Sadly we do only have a small car park but we do also have a further 10 valet spaces off site...

Manchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last night. Nice room and good breakfast. Reasonably priced for what you got. Check in was simple and staff were nice. Word of warning, parking is £10 per night and is not advertised anywhere. When arrived, car park was full, but front desk said there was pay and display opposite for 50p an hour (as it was free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SparciaM
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear SparciaM Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. It is great to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay especially in respect to your bedroom and breakfast. Sadly the hotel only has a small car park, but we do also have a number of valet...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed for 1 night including breakfast with my Girlfriend in a Deluxe Double. Our room was great. I have stayed in a few hotels around Newcastle, and none of them have had such a beautiful bath tub or walk in power shower. The decor is bold and well presented, and the bare brickwork gives the room a feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micky W
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Micky W Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you both had such a memorable stay with us and particularly liked the room decor and facilities. It is worth noting for your next stay that if you require any extra items for your breakfast, please just ask the team. They...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a Fabulous Friday deal. Room stylish, meal delicious. Unfortunately, had same nocturnal experience as BoBrinck the very next night in the same room, Penfolds. Probably the same people staying overhead as we were woken at 3:45am by heavy footsteps and water running through very noisy pipes which went on for over an hour. Additionally, regularly disturbed by other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yabeclare
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Yabeclare Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased that we were able to discuss the points raised and that the follow up email from ourselves was located. It is always our aim to respond to guest queries within 24 hours so i am pleased that this was the case. Again we would like to apologies for the noise...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Was really impressed with the room and the look of the whole hotel, staff were friendly and the food was very nice, decent location if you want to go to some bars on the quayside as it's only a five minute walk. Had an issue where at 5 am the pipes/boiler made an awful noise for an hour and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matty A
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Matty A Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. I am pleased to read that you have a memorable stay and that the team took such good care of you. We do apologise that your nights sleep was interrupted by the hot water issue, in 8...

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel du Vin Newcastle. Spend to nights there. The room (Penfolds) ground level was large and luxurious furnished with a large bed and a double(?) shower and a small toilet. Unfortunately the upstairs neighbors walked around like elephants in a cage and when they decided to take a shower 4Am it woke me up with a sound that sounded more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoBrinck
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear BoBrinck Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. I am a little perplexed however that you have marked the hotel as 'Terrible' with your 1 star review. Even more so as the studio room is by your own admission luxuriously furnished and offers a king size...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Best hotel in Newcastle. Gorgeous rooms and possibly the best steak I've ever eaten. Added bonus of bumping into Paul weller too! Lovely cocktails and an amazing stay. Can't wait to come back XX you won't be disappointed if you stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisepj
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Louisepj Many thanks for sharing your very kind review following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin Newcastle. I am pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. In regards to your steak, we changed our butcher in October 2016 and the steaks and meat they provide us with are outstanding. We have become quite...

448 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,120 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,057 reviews
1.5 km away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,064 reviews
0.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,304 reviews
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: RM452 - RM926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
england
1 month ago
england
1 month ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The superior rooms were nice.”
 of 5 bubbles georgegibbs, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If they send an email offering an upgrade when you get there, if available, take it. Mine was worth every penny!”
 of 5 bubbles jordis100, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't overlook the Ouseburn river, you can smell it in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles christinetK9183XM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a split level room”
 of 5 bubbles MoiAli, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the optional upgrade offered on email”
 of 5 bubbles DrinksfromWales, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5