We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
6 people are viewing this hotel
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (880)
Room & Suite (345)
Dining (138)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#38 of 90 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Travellers' Choice
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Lithuanian
3020Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,364
  • 810
  • 399
  • 233
  • 216
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tour570631 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We held our wedding here and the staff couldn’t be more helpful and pleasant. However the whole hotel needs a refurbishment. The rooms are tired and shabby with very antiquated fittings. Only one set of toilets available in the entire hotel once you came out of your room, and these toilets could be a film set for Trainspotting. I’m not sure why this hotel is 4 Star. It’s an alright 3 Star at best. We’ll definitely head for the Mal Maison or Crowne Plaza next time for a more modern hotel experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Lorraine M wrote a review 16 Oct
2 contributions
Pro's - Fab breakfast, great location, friendly staff. Cons- heating on timers rooms are freezing even with the heating on, there was only 1 small radiator in the room. We checked in at 3pm, my partner had surgery on his eyes and needed to rest, it was that cold I had to keep my coat on until the heating kicked in but we were both cold all night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Marie-Anne F wrote a review 15 Oct
Glasgow, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
After a busy week at worked we booked a last minute trip to Newcastle. With little availability we were pleased to see what looked like a very classy hotel with a room left. It was pricey but we thought after not getting away for so long due to COVID it would be a treat. The hotel was lovely. The noise from the club below was not. From reading other reviews I can see this s a common problem. Shame as staff and facilities lovely. If it wasn’t for the nightclub noise this would be a great hotel. If you want to sleep though don’t book a hotel with a nightclub below. Unless of course you are there to party.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Room Tip: Request a quiet one
See more room tips
DJMAKMA wrote a review 15 Oct
1 contribution
An evening reunion of 17 people with dinner in a private room, followed by an overnight stay. Excellent dinner with attentive service. Comfortable bedroom. Good breakfast. Pleasant ambience throughout the hotel. Staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. If I had to make a criticism it would be that queues built up at check-in and check-out with only one (very pleasant) member of staff in attendance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and comments which we really apprecaite and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and renunion with us. We hope to see you again. Kind regards
Read more
Izbat wrote a review 15 Oct
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom64 contributions40 helpful votes
Stayed here for a business trip, booked through a third party provider who our company uses for thousands of trips every month. Arrived to be told I couldn’t have the pre-paid room (attached to a company credit card, with meal allowance attached) as I didn’t have a chip and pin card with me. This was not made clear when booking, which The Vermont needs to rectify if they want to use a third party booking system for business travellers. I offered to pay a significant deposit on my card (on my phone), or leave my iPhone as collateral, or give them my actual card number etc., but due to a ridiculous policy they still wouldn’t give me the room. I had to call a colleague to drive over an hour with their card; had I been on my own I would have been stuck. I was given a glass of wine as an apology, but it didn’t make me want to use the hotel again for personal or business use. Room was okay, plain but clean, although the bath plug was stuck in so I couldn’t empty it. I was the only person at breakfast at 7am and my muffin with the Eggs Benedict was burnt, so that went uneaten. Blonde lad at the bar doing a 10 to 10 shift was friendly and the only person who cheered me up on an otherwise disappointing stay. The concierge was also helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review however the policy is very clear on our website, all third party websites and our email confirmations to all our guests, clearly states that you require a chip and pin card on check on. This policy is operated all over the UK/World in hotels and is not something that we have put in place as an indivudal. I am glad that Kane looked after you and I will pass comments onto him. I have passed your comment about breakfast to the Chef as this is unaccetable and I do apologise and hope it was rectified for you. Kind regards
Read more
US$87 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
vermont hotel newcastle upon tyne, vermont newcastle upon tyne
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Vermont Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Vermont Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Glamorous Owl (0.3 km), The Quayside (0.4 km), and Grey Street (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Vermont Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Vermont Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Vermont Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Vermont Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simla Restaurant, The French Quarter, and Revolution Bar & Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Vermont Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Vermont Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Vermont Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Lithuanian.