I am local to Newcastle and have stayed at a few hotels round the city before, the royal station hotel is by far my favourite. Not only affordable but lovely spaces, cozy rooms, amaizng friendly staff especially a lady I met while going down for my breakfast Sandra. She made us well at home her customer service is impeccable. We paid extra for breakfast only 20 for buffet breakfast for two and the food did not disappoint and Sandra made the whole experience. I want to thank the staff at royal station and will definitely be returning and recommending.
Have stopped here numerous times and this was the first during the Covid times. Room was fine, it was a Classic King room.Bed very comfortable. No water or orange juice in mini fridge like there normally is. Breakfast very good except I would prefer if the tray lids on the English Breakfast buffet were left off. The lids were red hot but the food underneath was warm at best and the fried eggs were stone cold as were the cooked tomatoes. Staff on reception and in the Breakfast room were all lovely. The whole place needs redecoration and a few handymen on the premises would help. Health club on much reduced hours so a swim and a jacuzzi before breakfast was a non starter this time.
Stayed here for two nights with my wife. I love the grandeur of the entrance and the leisure facilities are quite good though the Jacuzzi was broken. On night one whilst in room 120 we were woken at 4am by some noise Irishmen. They eventually shut up after an hour and me calling the night staff. We were upgraded the next day to the bridal suite which was very comfortable. Didn’t eat at the hotel but all in all it’s ok apart from the noisy and drunk Georgies inside and out on weekends.
Warning! This hotel website advertises itself as... " Rich in historic charm the Royal Station Hotel’s interiors boast 21st century facilities with 145 stunning bedrooms, expertly equipped leisure facilities and a host of event spaces that ooze historic luxury. Indulge In Wellness As well as unlimited access to all of our machines, members are welcome to indulge in our luxuries as they please. Cool down from your workout in our indoor swimming pool before taking time out in our jacuzzi or steam room. " This is completely false. The reality of the Leisure facilities is the opposite. We booked this as a special treat. A hotel with spa facilities which looked amazing on the site. When we entered the spa, we found; No working shower in the changing area Rotten/rusty doors in the spa. Steam room was just dripping water rather than steam as the door didn’t actually shut/seal Broken/chipped tiles in the floor Rust stains on the walls Jacuzzi out of order (also broken tiles inside and holes in the grating) Condensation dripping from the walls and ceiling in the pool area due to the failure of the air circulation system (this is a public health issue) Sunlounger broken (there were only 2 to start with) Steps at one end of the pool out or order...... The list goes on and you can see for yourself from the photos that i have added. The manager's response was, "We do not actually offer “ Spa breaks “ in any of our packages, our Leisure club is a free service to any of our paying guests that would like to use it. And we do not advertise ourselves as a Spa Hotel." (Might want to take it off the website then! " I totally agree that we do have some challenges with the Leisure facilities as the hotel was closed for many months over the pandemic (that old chestnut) and we are just about to embark on a refurbishment of the area." (Perhaps the months of closure would have been an ideal opportunity.) "We only actually re-opened the club recently and are only operating on a one shift per day basis ( 2/10 ) weekdays and 9/6 Sat 8/4 Sunday for now." (What does that have to do with anything?) " I am happy to make a token refund of £30.00 as the Leisure club does not form any part of your booking with us. (REALLY? Surely people book a hotel based on both accommodation on offer and the facilities available!) The club is there to use free of charge to all our guests." (Except that you wouldn't want to!) This is a shameful attitude and response to what is years and years of no investment. They are taking customer's money under false pretenses with their false advertising on the website. Oh and by the way, if you do decide to book, make sure you pay for a room upgrade as the standard rooms are pokey, smelly and cold. Again, nothing like the photos on the site. Cairn Group, hang your heads in shame!…
This is an old and wonderful hotel. I was first at hampton by hilton just across the street for 2 days, but this is where I chose to stay for 3 weeks. The first thing you think of when you see the entrance and the interior is that it is luxury / posh. The hotel is old and has a unique charm that makes you feel at home. The crew is what makes me want to be here rather than anywhere else. You'll be looking for a hotel like this for a long time. where you feel welcome and at home. Royal station hotel Newcastle is the hotel I will return to soon. Fantastic!