We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Station Hotel

Save
Share
Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
US$69
View deal
Expedia.comUS$78
Booking.comUS$78
getaroom.comUS$98
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (696)
Room & Suite (340)
Dining (38)

About

#48 of 89 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
2554Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 854
  • 871
  • 444
  • 207
  • 178
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Charlie peacock wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
I am local to Newcastle and have stayed at a few hotels round the city before, the royal station hotel is by far my favourite. Not only affordable but lovely spaces, cozy rooms, amaizng friendly staff especially a lady I met while going down for my breakfast Sandra. She made us well at home her customer service is impeccable. We paid extra for breakfast only 20 for buffet breakfast for two and the food did not disappoint and Sandra made the whole experience. I want to thank the staff at royal station and will definitely be returning and recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Alby41 wrote a review 24 Oct
Alston, United Kingdom43 contributions16 helpful votes
Have stopped here numerous times and this was the first during the Covid times. Room was fine, it was a Classic King room.Bed very comfortable. No water or orange juice in mini fridge like there normally is. Breakfast very good except I would prefer if the tray lids on the English Breakfast buffet were left off. The lids were red hot but the food underneath was warm at best and the fried eggs were stone cold as were the cooked tomatoes. Staff on reception and in the Breakfast room were all lovely. The whole place needs redecoration and a few handymen on the premises would help. Health club on much reduced hours so a swim and a jacuzzi before breakfast was a non starter this time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms. Very small.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
SA R wrote a review 23 Oct
England, United Kingdom33 contributions32 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights with my wife. I love the grandeur of the entrance and the leisure facilities are quite good though the Jacuzzi was broken. On night one whilst in room 120 we were woken at 4am by some noise Irishmen. They eventually shut up after an hour and me calling the night staff. We were upgraded the next day to the bridal suite which was very comfortable. Didn’t eat at the hotel but all in all it’s ok apart from the noisy and drunk Georgies inside and out on weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Cazb7175 wrote a review 22 Oct
18 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Warning! This hotel website advertises itself as... " Rich in historic charm the Royal Station Hotel’s interiors boast 21st century facilities with 145 stunning bedrooms, expertly equipped leisure facilities and a host of event spaces that ooze historic luxury. Indulge In Wellness As well as unlimited access to all of our machines, members are welcome to indulge in our luxuries as they please. Cool down from your workout in our indoor swimming pool before taking time out in our jacuzzi or steam room. " This is completely false. The reality of the Leisure facilities is the opposite. We booked this as a special treat. A hotel with spa facilities which looked amazing on the site. When we entered the spa, we found; No working shower in the changing area Rotten/rusty doors in the spa. Steam room was just dripping water rather than steam as the door didn’t actually shut/seal Broken/chipped tiles in the floor Rust stains on the walls Jacuzzi out of order (also broken tiles inside and holes in the grating) Condensation dripping from the walls and ceiling in the pool area due to the failure of the air circulation system (this is a public health issue) Sunlounger broken (there were only 2 to start with) Steps at one end of the pool out or order...... The list goes on and you can see for yourself from the photos that i have added. The manager's response was, "We do not actually offer “ Spa breaks “ in any of our packages, our Leisure club is a free service to any of our paying guests that would like to use it. And we do not advertise ourselves as a Spa Hotel." (Might want to take it off the website then! " I totally agree that we do have some challenges with the Leisure facilities as the hotel was closed for many months over the pandemic (that old chestnut) and we are just about to embark on a refurbishment of the area." (Perhaps the months of closure would have been an ideal opportunity.) "We only actually re-opened the club recently and are only operating on a one shift per day basis ( 2/10 ) weekdays and 9/6 Sat 8/4 Sunday for now." (What does that have to do with anything?) " I am happy to make a token refund of £30.00 as the Leisure club does not form any part of your booking with us. (REALLY? Surely people book a hotel based on both accommodation on offer and the facilities available!) The club is there to use free of charge to all our guests." (Except that you wouldn't want to!) This is a shameful attitude and response to what is years and years of no investment. They are taking customer's money under false pretenses with their false advertising on the website. Oh and by the way, if you do decide to book, make sure you pay for a room upgrade as the standard rooms are pokey, smelly and cold. Again, nothing like the photos on the site. Cairn Group, hang your heads in shame!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kent Jørgensen wrote a review 18 Oct
1 contribution
This is an old and wonderful hotel. I was first at hampton by hilton just across the street for 2 days, but this is where I chose to stay for 3 weeks. The first thing you think of when you see the entrance and the interior is that it is luxury / posh. The hotel is old and has a unique charm that makes you feel at home. The crew is what makes me want to be here rather than anywhere else. You'll be looking for a hotel like this for a long time. where you feel welcome and at home. Royal station hotel Newcastle is the hotel I will return to soon. Fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel royal station, royal station newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Station Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Station Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EXIT Newcastle (0.2 km), The Glamorous Owl (0.3 km), and Grey Street (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Station Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Station Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Station Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Station Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simla Restaurant, The French Quarter, and Snackwallah.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Royal Station Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Station Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Station Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (1.6 km), The Quayside (0.8 km), and Newcastle Castle (0.3 km).