We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Station Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Station Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,720: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Station Hotel
 Click to rate
North Northumberland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A lovely surprise for our anniversary. On arrival in Newcastle and thinking we were staying in one of the budget chain hotels I discovered my wife had booked us into the Royal Station again. A great two night stay in a lovely room. Some reviewers have said the hotel is outdated, I like to call it character, it's clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigKat62
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great surprise anniversary stay with us. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards Royal Station Hotel

Leeds
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were only here for one night, the hotel is lovely very glamorous as you come into reception. The room we were given seemed to be a suite, we had a large bedroom, and a living room, very spacious. The rooms were clean and tidy, there are tea / coffee making facilities and the fridge had some water, juice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were more than happy with your allocated room. We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kindest Regards Royal Station Hotel

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from staying at Royal Station Hotel. This was our 4th visit to here and definitely the worst and last!! Booked a superior double room after our last visit we were so impressed with the space. But on this occasion the superior double room was know bigger than a standard double. Not even a walk in shower. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark C
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your stay this time was not as enjoyable as your previous stays. We are sorry that the allocated room this time was not to your liking and that the alternative rooms you were offered were...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights in March. I just needed a central base as I was out all day and ate out in the evenings. It met that need very well. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was unexciting but a decent size and clean and well equipped and the bed was comfortable. I had two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Goddesstobe
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent city centre location. We are sorry to hear that your room was not to your liking, Had you contacted reception after check in we would of been more than happy to try...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Old fashioned but very welcoming Hotel in the city centre and adjacent to the railway station. You can enter the hotel direct from the station. Newcastle is vibrant and the Hotel is a peaceful comfortable place to stay and relax.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bmj46
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our excellent location. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards Royal Station Hotel

Birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here recently,lovely hotel,very grand,well kept,friendly staff,great breakfast,very well located,one small gripe,the rooms are very,very warm,you cannot open any windows,perhaps a fan in the room?,other than that 10 out of 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do have fans/heaters available upon request just so you are aware for your next visit. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards Royal Station...

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location is one of the Royal Station Hotel's best qualities. It's like a wonderful hotel out of an earlier era, grand staircase and lobby, plush carpeting, lovely dining room, but it's also got the modern amenities you'd expect. My room near the laundry room was noisy during the daytime, but not at night. Room was warm, bright, well-appointed and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank D L
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We do hope to see you again very soon. Kindest Regards Royal Station Hotel

Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night in order to catch an early train the next morning, but on entering the beautiful reception area we wished we could have stayed longer. The check-in process was efficient and the staff more than helpful. Our room was on the third floor and was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had two showers, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin1096734
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great over night stay with us and that you were more than happy with your allocated room. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards Royal Station Hotel

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a twin room and we were put in a small double, went to see reception about it and they were very rude and unhelpful, Carol at reception is the most impolite staff member I have ever encountered in all my travels. NEVER AGAIN

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ronan K
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you feel this way. Please allow me to address the issues during your stay with us. Firstly your booking which was made back in January was for a Small double room, Which was the room type...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel in a great location. The hotel is spotless with all of the amenities that you could possibly want (restaurant, bar, nightclub, leisure facilities etc). Very grand entrance and beautiful throughout. The City centre is literally right outside of the front door, as is the train station taxi rank, (you can actually enter/exit the back of the hotel directly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris H
royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our great city centre location. We do pride ourselves on having friendly and helpful staff in our hotel, So this is always nice to hear from...

630 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (277)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (17)
Viewed
Double Room (35)
Viewed
Four Poster Bedroom (18)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Spacious Bedroom (23)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
Suite (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)
Viewed
Twin Single Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,108 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,055 reviews
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
944 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
969 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: RM313 - RM659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Station Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Harlech, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Horwich
3 months ago
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
24 days ago
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 month ago
1 month ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Station Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Little bit of traffic noise at the front of hotel . But we would not be put off by this ...”
 of 5 bubbles sandra19592013, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back of the hotel are supposed to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles dot_bayliss, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As per other reviews, book a better type room.”
 of 5 bubbles 626angusm, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see your room first.”
 of 5 bubbles C9991KRanthonym, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“just enjoy”
 of 5 bubbles Icampbell2015, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5