We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Plough Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Plough Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit, recommended by a relative and we weren't disappointed. We were shown to a table after a very short wait despite the restaurant being busy. drinks were ordered as soon as we were seated and our order taken when the drinks were delivered (very efficient) I was told that the beef was pink but i could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DennisL99
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it very much. Hope to see you return again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Completely loved this place! Stayed here with a few friends last month and we had the most incredible time. Beautifully decorated throughout, rooms are spotless, food was delicious (recommend the mussels) and what a stunning location! For us though the real highlight was in the hosting and warm family atmosphere. This really is a family that goes the extra mile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review..... we hope to see you all again soon, muddy jodhpurs boots and all!!!!got a good supply of hot water bottles for those who end up in the North Sea in winter!!! Have a very happy new year and im sure jack will come up with something to bring you all back up...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booked in for a pre christmas meal. warm welcome and very relaxing seats while waiting for other family members.food was excellent along with the friend..ly and efficient service.atmosphere was just right and it was a change on a cold day to arrive and feel warm throughout our stay.would highly recomend a visit to this very smart and updated property which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again. Many thanks. All of the staff at the Plough inn.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food, service and value for money. Went here for a family lunch having just arrived from Australia for Christmas with the in-laws. Great selection of roast Sunday lunch set menu and a la carte options as. Portions were hearty and well prepared . I had mussels in a creamy sauce, roast turkey and sticky toffee pudding. Service was polite,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macs_aus
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Have a lovely Christmas with your family and hope you visit again when in U.K.

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Six family members had a superb lunch at The Plough. The staff were very helpful in seating us in a quieter area to help one of us who uses hearing aids and struggles with background noise. The menu is varied and satisfied everyone in our party, ranging from 26 to 90 - quite a feat. The food was beautifully presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geordiegirl255
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

We aim to please and are very grateful for your custom and lovely review.

northumberland
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Last night a group of our friends got together to celebrate a couple of birthdays and the upcoming Christmas season and we went to The Plough. It's a popular regular haunt of our's that never fails to hit all the right spots for us all, due mainly to the consistently warm welcome and the wide varied menu selection that has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandGaggle
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. All of the staff here at the Plough truly appreciate your review.it makes all of our hard work very worthwhile. See you soon. Thank you.

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Had a beautiful romantic meal, the food is just amazing, great choice for whatever your mood. Management are very welcoming as are the rest of the staff. Would highly recommend, you won't be dissapionted. Thank you for a lovely evening and an amazing meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstywithers
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Plough Inn. I am lucky to have great staff who work together very well. So pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Rothbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I have lunched here several times during the past year, with friends and family, and the food has always been excellent, congratulations to the chef! The service has been very good with one exception when it appeared that one waitress was left to cope on her own with a lot of tables to look after. The venue is fitted out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you keep returning. Regarding the staff issue, we do try to make sure we have enough floor staff, sometimes it's difficult as we can't predict numbers arriving, we usually have a pretty good idea of the busiest times of the week and then of course there's that problem of staff being ill...

diddy
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Just visited very disappointed by being given a sandwich that was made with dry bread.No one available to complain as I was unable to eat dry stale bread I informed the waitress when she cleared the table only to find her very rude stating I had left the bread to long before eating.Never to return advice to management improve customer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank diddy7
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

You ordered soup and sandwich to come together. You ate half your sandwich, all of your salad and crisps, then a substantial serving of homemade soup with a bun, then left the other half of your sandwich. Your words were the first half was perfectly fine, bread was ok. After 25 minutes of it being served you decided the bread...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight here after stumbling across this in August on our way home . We had a lovely meal then and loved the look and atmosphere so decided to visit for a birthday in November . There are three rooms all beautifully decorated . I had a look at all three as my friends had booked the other two ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We all enjoyed your visit as you are such a lovely, fun group who know how to enjoy themselves. We try to go the extra mile here at The Plough Inn and it is much appreciated by all when this is recognised by our customers. Look forward to your return....

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
6.9 km away
Ryton Country  House
Ryton Country House
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
161 reviews
15.0 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
443 reviews
7.9 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,016 reviews
28.1 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,016 reviews
25.7 km away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following an extensive period of refurbishment, the Plough Inn is once again ready to welcome and wow guests who come to call. Ran by the Graham family, the Plough Inn is located between the village of Stamfordham and the hamlet of Eachwick, a mere 10 miles from the city of newcastle Upon Tyne. The Plough Inn;s location makes it an easily accessible place to enjoy a tranquil and relaxed environment perfect for either a quick drop in or a more leisurely vista. all tastes are catered for, with delicious food and refreshing drinks, with particular focus on those designated drivers. With a number of different spaces available, the plough inn is a venue that can offer a venue as distinctive and individual as your event. From our off set 'Drawing Room' which offers the opportunity for an intimate and private fine dining experience for up to 24 guests, to our fabulous first floor Restaurant with its own dedicated bar, for parties up to 60 people. Be it a wedding, a special birthday, an impromptu gathering or even a meeting or conference, we are confident we can exceed your expectations and deliver an event to remember. With 3 well appointed en-suit rooms, the plough Inn offers a luxurious place for you to unwind and base yourself for a break or for business in North East England. Located close to Newcastle International airport, our location is within easy access of the beautiful North east Coast, the rolling unspoiled country side of Northumberland and the world heritage site of Hadrians wall. we are within an easy drive of the bustling city centres of Newcastle Upon Tyne and Durham and also Europe's larges indoor shopping centre The metro Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Stamfordham Road | Eachwick, Newcastle upon Tyne NE18 0BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plough Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room was stunning and beautifully clean.”
 of 5 bubbles kerryh618, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyw110, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet location only three room available”
 of 5 bubbles j_eglinton, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice and quiet accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles wrighte365, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Only went for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles N10BOR, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5