We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 232: English reviews
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Extremely fab nights sleep, clean & tidy room. Very comfy bed with extra pillows if needed. The only problem I encountered was the room was ice cold when we arrived, arriving in Dec I expected it to be warm at least, so after switching on the oil radiator & figuring out how to put on the wall heater with the...

Thank nicmac1405
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Bit out the way but Very friendly staff great meal value for money would recommend as a stopover 10-15 min drive to metro centre. Rooms are spotless great choice of tea big deep bath to relax in after either long journey or shopping

Thank janeb1967
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Comfortable room. Needs a bit of care and attention though. Housekeeping especially. Waste baskets full of previous occupants rubbish for example. Seems to be a current trend. Last week Harlow, this week Newcastle.

Thank Peter F
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on business last week,. Stay was not what I had expected from Premier Inn, having stayed in multiple others across North of England & Scotland during week, whilst away on business. Bed extremely uncomfortable whilst trying to sleep, No soap in dispenser in bathroom, and hot water tap leaking and hissingevery time turned on. Will...

Thank j_hunnibal
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to this hotel as you were dissatisfied with the bed and bathroom facilities. This is below our usual standard and I apologise that we fell short of your expectations. I have requested for the beds to be quality checked and for your comments to...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good location, although it was slightly hard to find as it's not sign posted from the main road but the car park was a good thing! good service, reception very kindly booked a taxi for me! disappointing breakfast though as it was not a help yourself buffet!

Thank Susan N
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a family room. The third bed was not out because online booking can't request it, the reception staff got the bed out and made it up immediately. The staff also recommended places to go with my 8 year old. The room is adequate, very clean and comfortable. No air conditioning - not a problem in October! Breakfast...

Thank Michelle U
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

usual friendly welcome but bathroom smelt fusty grouting on tiles black also black spots on ceiling above bath and shower. normal comfy beds but not the best of areas will stay more central next time so we don't have to drive everywhere .this is the first premier inn we have been to where we have been a little disappointed with...

2Thank kd102016
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with young family for 2 nights. Comfortable beds, decent breakfast. Evening meal at the attached restaurant was pleasant enough. Typical of what you'd expect of a Premier Hotel decor & cleanliness wise. Bit of a strange (?sour) smell in the corridor & our room but an overall comfortable stay.

1Thank GAMcC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed with children and grandchildren, six of us at Premier, Lobley Hill Pre-booked, got a great price and linked rooms. Staff gave 100%service and support, arranged taxis stored medicine in their fridge and smiled as they helped. The stayed worked perfectly.

Thank pract1cal
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I really enjoyed my stay, the room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were excellent, really friendly and kind. The food was so tasty. I would highly recommend this hotel and will be using it again.

Thank fatimasalih

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (1)
Other (3)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (64)
Dining (7)
Standard Room (24)
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Room/Suite (2)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.1 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
333 reviews
6.0 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
18.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,048 reviews
5.8 km away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
420 reviews
7.9 km away
Ryton Country  House
Ryton Country House
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: RM244 - RM467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the 1st floor so you don't hear people clumping around above you in the middle of the night.”
 of 5 bubbles BarrySandell, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No lift, so request ground floor if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles Jellybellydancer, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We had a room next to the team valley dual carriageway, no noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles 163barbarak, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The inn is near to a road junction although there is not a significant noise problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Rodg657, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Go for rooms that face towards the pub - not sure how much noise there is from rooms facing onto the A1(M) side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Snixy, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay