We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,617: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a holiday in Stratford upon Avon. It is ideally located for visiting the birthplace and other Shakespeare themed buildings. The hotel itself is stunning and true to the period. My room was stunning I really lived the Tudor themed artwork and the beams. The staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma M
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma M Thank you very much for your fantastic review and so glad you felt the hotel was true to the period and hotel staff so friendly. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards James Lys

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Shakespeare is a lovely, centrally located hotel. We have always found the rooms very comfortable, I would advise upgrading to a junior suite with a four poster if you can. There is a Marco's Italian restaurant attached to the hotel, but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby. The staff are always very helpful and courteous. The only down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul A
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul A Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the hotel staff. It's true the car park is small, but we can generally fit in around 80% of the guests who stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes James Lys

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great location for exploring Stratford. It really couldn't be more central. However if it's an atmospheric stay in a beautiful old building that you are after then sadly this hotel doesn't deliver. The building is stunning but the owners have managed to create the look and feel of a 16th century Travelodge. Featureless, drab and unappealing is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you felt so negatively about the atmosphere and felt the hotel to be characterless and drab despite our efforts. I can assure you we try hard every day to look after our guests in this beautiful hotel. Best wishes James Lys

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Mercure for the weekend ... looking forward to staying in the hotel and enjoying what Stratford on Avon has to offer.. When we checked in we were told that our room was not in the hotel but we had to leave the hotel and walk across the car park and they have an annex.. which is on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deansknight
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deansknight Thank you for your comments and yes, the rooms in the hotel section on the other side of the car park are spacious, and look out over Sheep Street - they are often requested by our regular guests. I am very sorry the 2 beds were not joined together and will address that with the housekeeping management. I...

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the theatre - five minutes walk - and there are several very satisfactory restaurants nearby. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast service and comfortable lounges and bar. Parking is available onsite for an additional charge.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z7287OPbrianr
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Z7287OPbrianr Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The Shakespeare. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards James Lys

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 15 or so years, it's hard to understand how standards have dropped. 1. They got my name wrong on the booking and didn't even change it when pointed out. This caused problems, as I had arranged for flowers to be delivered by a local florist, for my wifes' birthday. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian A Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you encountered so many problems with your stay. I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly to discuss your stay in more detail - thank you. Kind regards James Lys

Paris
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my family during 1st week of April 2017. We had 2 rooms that were in a very quiet area of the hotel, as requested at booking. Hotel is gorgeous with a lot of charm. Not surprinsingly in such an ancient building, rooms were small but well designed. However huge disappointment upon arrival first at reception with person...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benjamincD353CZ
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear benjamincD353CZ Thank you for your review and obviously very concerned to read your remarks which I will act upon immediately - please can you email me details of your stay as soon as possible. I can assure you that what you encountered is not typical of the standard we offer and I sincerely apologise for this issue. I look...

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very helpful and attentive staff. We were a little concerned that it was going to be noisy but in fact was fine. Very conveniently located as we were going to the theatre. Not that easy to find the entrance to the car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzric18
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzric18 Thank you for your kind comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay. The car park visibility in Sheep Street can be an issue - we have erected better signage recently and improved the explanation on our website - I'll see what else we can do. Thank you and look forward to your return Regards James Lys

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The building has great character and obviously dates as a hotel from well before it became part of the French chain . Some ancient features remain ; apart from the half - timbering on the outside there are some parts inside which are probably genuine . The decor is suitably Shakespearean but the wooden floors creak ! Our rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALISON H
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison H Thank you for your review and yes, some parts of the hotel are genuine and date back 500 years or more - we have printed copies of the hotel's history available free of charge at the reception. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards James...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice enough, very quirky. I can't say that I enjoyed my stay too much. The staff were nice. The room was freezing and obviously because it is an old building there were gaps between the windows and walls which the cold came through. The bathroom was done out nice. The odour in the room made it hard to breath. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 82cab
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 82cab Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay too much. I must admit to being puzzled about your room being cold with gaps between the walls and windows - perhaps you could send me an email with details of your stay? Thank you very much. Best regards James Lys

404 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (381)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
0.1 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
984 reviews
0.5 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,076 reviews
2.5 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
818 reviews
0.1 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: RM428 - RM868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that does not overlook the street!”
Pensioner075, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check you are actually in the Hotel”
deansknight, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a junior suite for a little luxury and a fab four poster”
englander1, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not front facing onto the main street as you will get noise from late night revellers.”
  • Bedroom
davidh384, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“old part is small and trad quirky..... new part is clean and exec!!!”
Geridam, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5