We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Beeches

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Beeches
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Beeches
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This is my final night of a 8 day residential course held at the Beeches. The venue is lovely, bedrooms are very clean and functional and refreshments in the day were fantastic. Where the hotel exceeds all expectations is with the staff. Everyone goes out of the way to ensure your visit is enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Jenny L. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and score. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were really well looked after. It was our pleasure to serve you and lovely to meet you. I have of course passed on your lovely comments and all said to pass on their thanks...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I had to stay here because couldnt find an other place for one night...room small dirty uncomfortable...at least the people where friendly...breakfast 7.50gbp and horrible...there is a better place just up the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris m
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear chris m. Thank you for your review, although I apologise that I have not responded sooner. it would appear Trip Advisor have only just published your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, although this is the first time in a long time we have had a complaint against our breakfast. I would love to hear from...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Good location especially if you have a car though a taxi from the local stations will not a great deal to overall costs Had an excellent room in one of the annexes. Could not fault the customer service especially at breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlessim1
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear charlessim1. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I have passed your comments on to the restaurant and housekeeping teams who are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Beeches. Kind Regards. Debra Jones

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

this hotel is more like a hostel its an insult to hotels to call it one. the staff were unhelpful the rooms were like staying in a university student hall accommodation. The food was poor and they absolutely could not cope with any dietary requirements. Its a very long time since I have stayed somewhere so poor and could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 600Jan
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear 600Jan. Thank you for your review, although I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I would be grateful if you could contact me direct in order for me to ascertain the exact reasons for your review, in order for me to try and put it right. Kind Regards. Debra Jones

Cheshire UK
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed for one night for business - It was a Sunday night so the hotel was very quiet. Really nice room for such a low price so I can honestly say that I expected less. Good size room with a balcony overlooking the gardens and pretty much everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Didn't eat as there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelskii
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Nelskii. Thank you so much for your kind review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the wifi, we have now had installed Virgin Media broadband, so you should see a huge difference next time you stay. Kind Regards. Debra Jones

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Attended the conference centre for a business trip and decided to stay over night. Was enjoying my stay relaxing out on my computer doing work in the lounge to hear two members of staff on the bar talking about how they had "slept" with the same guy and discussing intimate details with each other! I looked over and was given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank usedmyname
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear "Mrs S". Thank you for posting your review. Unfortunately this has only been posted to my page today, 2 weeks after you have submitted it. I have asked Trip Advisor to contact me over this, as it does look as though I have been remiss in replying - not a good sign. I would be grateful if you could...

London
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Stayed there on a room only basis as our main conference venue (Woodbrooke just up the road) was fully booked. Nice room and helpful. Only slight criticism was low water pressure in the shower (stayed in the Conifers block) and lack of teabags in the refreshment tray (but latter very easily rectified). Was hardly there other than to sleep but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JollyGreenGiant
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear JollyGreenGiant. Thank you so much for your wonderful score and review. I am glad you stay was good and that we rectified the tea bag situation for you. We have reported the water pressure to our plumber contractors and hopefully they can find the reason for this. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Good parking, great location and historical house and gardens Ideal location for business and social stays A must for any traveler Stayed in a single room Bit cramped but fully functional Receptionist brill Bar staff brill Dinner prepared -just great really delicious

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Flinty2
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Flinty2. Thank you so much for your review. I have passed your comments around the whole team, who were thrilled. It was a pleasure to look after you and we will see you this week in an upgraded room. Kind Regards Debra Jones

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Great location if visiting Cadbury World other than that didn't venture too close to the centre so not sure on transport links etc. The staff were friendly and polite and rooms clean and tidy. The hotel in general did seem slightly dated however that may just be personal taste. Overall a good stay and I would defiantly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 63sc_91
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear 63sc_91. Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to have friendly staff and clean and tidy rooms. I look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the area. Kind Regards Debra Jones. General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Some of the children had given us a one night stay in Birmingham and a ticket for the tour and afternoon tea at Cadbury World as a Christmas present. The Beeches was in the perfect position for this as it is situated just around the corner from Cadbury World. The hotel is a conference centre/hotel and opens on a Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Alan B. Thank you so much for your review. I think you have summed us up perfectly. Good food, lovely welcome and service and all amenities you could ask for. We would love to see you again. Kind Regards. Debra Jones

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westmead Hotel
#29 of 141 in Birmingham
587 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#71 of 141 in Birmingham
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests. In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served. The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: RM221 - RM407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville
The Beeches Birmingham, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beeches staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Beeches staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just request a room in a quiet area”
 of 5 bubbles charlessim1, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here is my tip”
 of 5 bubbles 600Jan, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to the Premier Inn”
 of 5 bubbles jr10002016, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Just don't go”
 of 5 bubbles 188leem, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are quiet good price lovely atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles 411katyp, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay