We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

pentahotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,031 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,986: English reviews
uk
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Hotel was nice and quirky! The bar was ace and service was great. What lets this hotel down is the extremely uncomfortable beds! They are very hard and the quilts were also very thin. Overall great hotel, very clean but didn't sleep a wink due to the beds which has put me off wanting to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charky11
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at the pentahotel Birmingham. I am sorry to ready that you only had a good experience and not a fantastic experience. I have taken on board your comments and will certainly discuss this with all of my team. I hope on your next visit we are able...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

It was our first time staying here and it was fantastic! Near enough to the centre to walk in so you don't waste money on Ubers. Funky interior, a lovely bar and lounge, and a lovely room! Very polite and helpful staff and fantastic drinks at the bar!!! You made a perfect weekend even more perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sasha R
Management response:

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at pentahotel Birmingham. It was really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the team and I are always thankful of hearing that we have got things right! I hope that we will see you back again soon!...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay recently, as we stepped into the reception of the hotel we were impressed how laid back it is. When we went to the room we were happy to get to bed. After a brief nap we had a look. There was damp under the bed... The noise at night was awful the room smelt over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJulia
Management response:

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here in Birmingham. It was disappointing to read that we only provided an average experience for you – this is not what we aim for. If you would be willing to return back to us, we would love to hear from you and...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

A very nice hotel, a clean modern room with a massive shower, the only down fall was the air con was loud and that's being picky. The cocktails from the bar were excellent and well presented as was the whole hotel and bar. Good vibes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jordan114419
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham City Centre hotel, we're always pleased to receive feedback from our guests. Our team here work hard to provide great customer service to all of our guests and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Very best regards Chloe

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Very quirky hotel, took me a bit to find reception as it is at the bar!! The staff is very friendly and super helpful. Free movies/music, tea/coffee/water in the room. Will defenitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 988simona
Management response:

Dear Traveller, Thanks for the kind words here on TripAdvisor. pentahotels are new to the market & we are really excited about the changes that we are making & the positive feedback we are receiving. I hope that you will continue to support the brand & that we will see you back again soon. Very best regards Chloe

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

we booked in this hotel for one night to watch the cricket at Edgbaston. we arrived at 09:00 and although we knew the rooms would not be available the staff were very friendly and were more than happy to take our bags. when we returned after the game the bags were already in our rooms. excellent service always with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
Management response:

Dear Traveller, Thank you for the kind words following your stay with us here in Birmingham. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience of pentahotels, it certainly is an exciting chain of hotels! I hope that we will see you back with us very soon. Very best regards Chloe

Trowbridge
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The hotel itself was good apart from the awful smell in some of the bathrooms, I think there must be an issue with the plumbing. On arrival the room I was issued smelled very strongly of what seemed like urine. I informed reception and housekeeping mopped the floor however the next day the smell was back again so I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandadJ4644NS
Management response:

Dear valued guest, Thank you for feedback following your stay with us at pentahotel Birmingham. I am really sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and would love to have the opportunity to get some further feedback and make things better for you. If you could contact me directly at gsm.birmingham@pentahotels.com I would hope that I can restore...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I stay frequently here for business and I love it. The staff are friendly and accommodating and I'm always made to feel like a valued guest. The food is wonderful and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. This is always my first choice when I travel as it's like a home from home. Thank you to all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaleach77
Management response:

Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us at pentahotel Birmingham. The team will be really happy to receive such kind words & I will ensure that they are all thanked accordingly. I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at pentahotel Birmingham. Very best regards Chloe

Melksham
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Room fine,air con not working,good breakfast ,bar prices dear even for city centre hotel. No information given on parking nearby. Would stay again now I know how to find hotel and where to park. This information very poor on website.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulmG5286ES
Management response:

Dear Traveller, Thank you for the great review of your stay with us at pentahotels. The team here in Birmingham are all working towards making the hotel a great place to relax & stay & I am glad that this came across during your visit. Best regards, Chloe

Newport
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Pentahotel Birmingham was going to get a 0 off me but luckily Chloe saved you. Our first waitress Marta has absolutely no customer service in her. She was rude and told us that the hotel didn't need our custom. We were pleased the one night when she was no where to be seen as we hoped we'd get a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janicecI6905AF
Management response:

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our dedicated team take pride in working to ensure our guests enjoy their experience of our hotel and I will highlight your comments with our staff to ensure we improve our service. Please...

446 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 141 in Birmingham
2,160 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 141 in Birmingham
848 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#5 of 141 in Birmingham
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 141 in Birmingham
770 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 141 in Birmingham
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Better because it's Birmingham! We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! The recently renovated 4-star hotel features two conference rooms, a fitness centre and an on-site restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests enjoy free Wifi in the entire hotel. High-speed internet is available at a surcharge. In your comfortable room you will find a large flat screen TV with free movies and have your private bathroom with rainfall shower. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: RM316 - RM1,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Pentahotel Birmingham England
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a decent sized window”
 of 5 bubbles VGL5167, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take some joggers with you ... they have a ace gym !”
 of 5 bubbles Essex-PaulB, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from 210 - unless you don't mind the full on drumming of the cooling units.”
 of 5 bubbles X4371CKmarkf, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and get higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles 282garryc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not much view however higher floors would be better”
 of 5 bubbles 449aidap, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay