We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Great Barr Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Great Barr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I needed somewhere to stay when coming up for a funeral. The hotel was clean and tidy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only meal I ate in hotel was breakfast which was good. Good selection self service buffet. Cereal, fruit juice, good selection of cooked, fresh fruit and toast with a wide selection of jams marmalade etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flowerfairy27
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has so many bad reviews about so many aspects. I want the guests from this hotel to be careful with their credit cards. I stayed there for 3 nights, on the first one I had a room that during the night the bathroom as flooded. The next morning I asked them to see what was going on and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lu B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a tribute night out with family meal wasn't great at all for £30 ahead tribute acts started very late disappointed will not recommend this hotel needs improving a lot starter wasn't great night wasn't great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csmith8430
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments and please accept my apologies that you did not find your evening to be value for money. The tribute acts come on at the time they do to allow for foodservice to finish, and then there is a period of time for disco, provided by the DJ, and then the act comes on act...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay here was okay, not great but not bad. The room was clean and there was a bed and tv which suited me fine. Didn't have any dinner but had a few pints before bed and the bar person on duty was rather blunt and rude whilst serving, very nonchalant about it all, and for being a manager of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will M
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, I am glad that overall you found your stay to be satisfactory. The comment that concerns me most is that of the rude bar staff that served you on the evening. If it was in fact the manager that is to say me, or the duty manager, I would like to think that you...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this hotel because of an event and it was a good location. The photos on the website looked really nice and so we were surprised by the reasonable prices. Arrived and the room we received on the day was totally different. It was old, dirty and unpleasant. We actually debated leaving and finding an alternative hotel nearby. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waals_123
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Both myself and the staff within the hotel, are disappointed that you found your room in such a state when you checked in, the rooms have and indeed still are undergoing refurbishment throughout the hotel, so hopefully we will not encounter such comments in the future. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. Kind Regards, Mark.

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasant hotel and friendly staff only stayed overnight on business in a single room which was rather small however sufficient for a one night stay . Recently being redecorated so a very strong smell of paint which actually put me off eating in the hotel as was quite overpowering although the menu did look inviting with reasonable prices and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue m
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your views, pleased you found the staff and facilities to be ok in general, sorry that you felt the room to be a little small, I assume you stopped in a single, as otherwise normally the rooms are quite spacious. Should you be in the area again you will be pleased to know that the decorating...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

this is a letter of complaint which i have sent to the Great Barr they have reply saying they do not take responsibility for any problems with the hotel and staff so i have posted the letter on tripadvisor so you can see what sort of things they think are acceptable at a cost of £5000 or more On arriving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane c
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as a local stop off for a night in Birmingham. Pre booked. Clean, tidy and comfortable beds. Breakfast served and replenished as items ran out. Refurbishment in progress but quite dated decor. All staff pleasant and helpful. No major issues and would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teamxxx
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, both myself and the team of staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark Aplin.

Wokingham
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I came here for a meeting and my first impression was, not the best looking place from the outside. The main reception looked nice, but I entered by the bar door. The place is in the state of refurbish with bare walls and the smell of paint. Nice breakfast area and well stocked. Moving through the building I was surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Many thanks for posting your review and raising your concerns. You are correct in that we are undergoing a period of refurbishment, which will ultimately result in the bar area receiving a well earned facelift, we have attempted to minimise the disruption this causes to guests within the hotel, although we do accept that sometimes this may infringe...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Had to come to the Great Barr Hotel when the Holiday Inn at Jct 7 decided they wanted to do a private function so lost our business, free car parking and the lounge area with the coffee machine was ideal for what we needed on a Saturday morning. Would return next time we are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJGough

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Park Hotel
#99 of 141 in Birmingham
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#104 of 141 in Birmingham
399 reviews
Westmead Hotel
#29 of 141 in Birmingham
587 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#72 of 141 in Birmingham
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: RM277 - RM549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr
Great Barr Hotel Birmingham, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cardiff
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book a double room as the single was particularly small”
 of 5 bubbles suem555, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“be very careful when booking this hotel if you want a special day please advoid”
  • this is how the cable were scattered around the room
  • hair dryers in rooms showing the last pat test
 of 5 bubbles dianec289, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Possibly freshen up the decor but very good value and we really enjoyed our stay.”
 of 5 bubbles neilpU1377OO, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms can be next to function rooms at the weekend are really noisy.ear plugs needed.basment rooms are prone to flooding.”
  • August room
  • August room
 of 5 bubbles Margmagistrate2, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Hotel is in a quiet setting, rooms are well appointed”
 of 5 bubbles lesleys324, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay