We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,630: English reviews
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on business for two nights. There are renovations been undertaken directly outside and around the vicinity of the hotel. Location The hotel is well placed for access to the ICC and walking distance from Birmingham New Street or Five Ways. There is a multi storey car park nearby for those driving. Reception Area & Staff The reception is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Katherine B, Thank you for your feedback and observations, we appreciate your time. Our location is very good for all central amenities and we do have a small car park on site as well as having the NCP across the road as an overflow. Thank you for your observations though. I be sure to pass them onto the team...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So first thing...navigating to the hotel was a nightmare. But after getting the postcode for the car park opposite things got easier. There are a lot of roadworks and other construction activity underway which doesn't help. Checking in was quick and efficient and the room itself was adequate. Clean, spacious and all in working order. Was a bit 'tired' and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RS_1973
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear RS_1973, Thank you for your time in providing us with feedback after your recent stay with us, it is appreciated. The best way to our hotel is down the A38 - satnav code of B1 2DT and it takes you to our hotel. The city centre is being completely rebuilt and like many hotels we have building works taking...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel could really do with a major update. The room was overheated, the windows wouldn't open and the bathroom was very outdated. The bed in my room was single and tiny. I am not a big guy but couldn't sleep in the narrow bed and overheated room. The only saving grace was the breakfast, which was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Paul T Apologies that you had a single bed when you stayed with us, we do only have 3. I will investigate what we can do about getting bigger beds into them Glad you liked breakfast With thanks once again Michael Squire General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I checked into this hotel for one night and have had numerous issues. Firstly, I am informed that they can't do hot food as the extractor fans are broken. While I appreciate this is slightly out of their control it is on top of a TV that does not work, wifi that is intermittent and reception being slow or not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebarr
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Hebarr Thank you for your observations, your time is appreciated. Apologies for the 3 days we couldn't provide hot food and had to close our restaurant, we had a kitchen extract system fail and it took 3 days to get a new one installed. I will let the front desk know that they do need to be aware of...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on business and it was really poor. The location is great and close to the ICC. However it is not a suitable hotel for business trips. It seems to have a 4 star rating but it is not 4 star by any stretch. The rooms are basic and although the beds are relatively comfortable, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Kelly M Thank you for your time and observations about your stay with us, it is appreciated. Apologies for our older building, I will pass the feedback onto the team about not being helpful as that is something we can work on straight away. Thank you once again Michael Squire General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this hotel, city centre location, very nice club room, very clean, staff were great. paid a little extra for a better room than a standard and got one, with breakfast included both mornings which was really good quality and a free drinks voucher for first night. Also a fridge in the room with plenty of room extras. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craigovski F
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Craigovski F Thank you for your fair observations about our hotel, truly appreciated. We are an older hotel, however we do offer some great city centre prices compared with other local hotels. We do have some parking - most others have none. And although it is not as often publicised - there is development works taking place through out...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's OK -clean and functional but looking a bit tired. Staff are helpful, food is good. It ain't the Ritz but I was satisfied. Evening food is oriental only, I like chinese etc so not a problem, but be aware you'll need to eat out if you want different.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 550foxy1962
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear 550foxy1962, Thank you for your time and feedback after your recent stay with us, it is appreciated. We do have a genuine Chinese restaurant in our hotel, but our lounge menu can also be ordered from as well as our Bugis Street menu when sitting down to dine. Thanks once again for your kind words about the team, Michael...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This used to be a really lovely hotel but has gone down hill in recent years. The whole place needs refurbishing. Part of ceiling in my room had fallen in plus there was only one plug socket and it was no where near the bed so I couldn't charge my phone. It had a cheap extension lead plugged into it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markgreg48
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear markgreg48, Thank you for your observations about our hotel after your recent stay with us. Sorry to read you did not enjoy yourself. The team send their apologies for any shortcomings on our part. Thank you once again Michael Squire General Manager

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed on business for a couple of nights in January. It is difficult to find to start with and you must have an up to date sat-nav if you are using that to find the hotel. The reception and bar areas are nice, but, as previous commentators have said, the rooms are somewhat dated. My room on the 5th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Rob T Thank you for your time and feedback about your recent visit to our hotel. The best was to get to our hotel, because the city council are rebuilding the city centre, as we indicate on our website is to come down the A38 satnav of B1 2DT and you drive right to the front of the hotel....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on business in January. It's very dated now and needs a face lift. The bar and the restaurant lacks atmosphere. Breakfast ok but not the best. Orange juice was cordial when we stayed! Fresh fruit was nowhere to be seen at breakfast all tinned. Wouldn't stay here if I was paying for it. Check in was quick though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
MichaelDSquire, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R, Thank you for your time and observations after your recent stay with us, it is appreciated. At breakfast, the orange and grapefruit segments come in prepared but are not tinned. The orange juice does come from a pre-set machine and doesn't have bits in it, but is orange juice. Glad to read that the staff on check...

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#56 of 115 in Birmingham
1,032 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 115 in Birmingham
3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 115 in Birmingham
2,681 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#92 of 115 in Birmingham
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bugis Street Brasserie
Bugis Street Brasserie
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: RM276 - RM768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham England
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the rooms facing the construction works!”
  • Comfortable bed and linen!
  • View from South facing room
  • State of maintenance
  • More neglected maintenance
 of 5 bubbles AbiKinlade, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying more for a club room”
 of 5 bubbles sapph0b, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed on 2nd floor which was good as it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Phill999535, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the 5th floor and had no problems with noise, even though there are extensive road works around the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles dianehale, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles Chris1922_13, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5