We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 852: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel has a great concept and it was clear that a great deal of thought has gone into creating something contemporary and stylish on a reasonable budget. Unfortunately the rooms are so tiny that couples have to climb over each other to leave/enter the bed and the shower water washes over the toilet at the same time it washes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudine L
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Claudine Thank you for your review providing us with some useful feedback after staying with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Our standard rooms are compact and we do try to advertise them honestly as such. Our pricing policy reflects the fact that they are compact, with rates starting at just £49 for a double room. We do appreciate that...

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked this hotel a while before so that we could go to a show at the town hall and enjoy the Christmas market without the worry of driving back. I became ill on the day and it was too late to cancel so we went anyway. The room was perfectly adequate and modern, had I been well it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of BLOC St Pauls. I hope that you are, by now, feeling much better. I was very sorry to read that you had to check out after just a few hours. I was also very concerned to read about the noise you experienced outside your room. Please do...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was really pleased with this choice , wanted a room with window as can feel claustraphobic . Didn't realise microwave fridge and sink in room . Tea making facilities. Lovely clean bed and great mattress, shower great only downside door to bathroom only partly obscured . Also room was cold , asked at reception to help with more heat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anntink12
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Ann It is great to receive a review from a guest who has stayed in one of BLOC's recently launched Apartrooms in Birmingham. Whist we do have our more compact Vista rooms with windows, you get many more facilities and much more space in an Apartroom. As you discovered there is an integral kitchenette so you can have the...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for business. The room I stayed in was very compact to say the least. Having said this, for me it wasn't a problem as I was only staying for one night. Not sure I would recommend for more than one night just due to the lack of space. I stayed with my partner and we struggled to both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jade F
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Jade Thank you for letting us know how you got on during your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. It is good to know that you had a pleasant stay and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. Our standard rooms are compact, a fact which is reflected in our pricing structure with standard double rooms...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great area, quiet but plenty of bars/pubs/restaurants within a 5/10 minute walk and also extremely close to city centre (15 minute walk to bullring). Room was clean and modern and on first look it was great, but just so small! Really bad lighting, and there is no storage so the room ended up becoming extremely messy. There is no ventilation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69,913,050
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. It is good to know that you found BLOC to be in a great location for your visit and that you thought that BLOC is a lovely hotel. It is a shame that you were not entirely happy with your room size; our standard rooms are...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice looking hotel in very quiet and posh part of Birmingham. Receptionist very pleasant and polite. Car parking is about £5 for 24 hrs in nearby NCP which you can't fault. I couldn't find any parking nearby for free We had vista plus which is nice enough but a little small. Personally I'd go apartment room if I'd come again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiler12
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting such a full and positive review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. We really appreciate feedback as it enables us to make improvements going forward and be aware of those little details that we can work harder at getting right, the window winch being a good example! The St Paul's area/Jewellery...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in an apartroom which was fully knitted out including washing up liquid! Such a clever concept and such a comfortable stay. Wonderful bed. Lots of good tech features. We would recommend to anyone. Oh yes, and great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngieWootten63
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Angie I'm so pleased to hear that you stayed in one of our new Apartrooms and loved it! We have tried to make sure that those who want more space and more facilities are catered for at BLOC Hotel Birmingham and the Apartrooms are particularly well-suited for those who might want to stay for longer than just a night...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel - very comfortable beds (better than the purple hotel Pre....r that says its beds are excellent - NOT) - room was compact as stated, but had all we needed for an overnight stay - bed - tv - toilet - sink - shower reception will give you more coat hangers or blankets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnandSi
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Dawn and Si What a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham! It is also great that the Reception team get a special mention as they are continually working to ensure that guests are made to feel welcome, both on arrival and during the course of their stay. Thank you for...

Bucks
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When you stay anywhere you expect to have more positives than negatives. The Bloc achieves this but you do have to take some of the negatives into account. The rooms are comically small. You don't get breakfast included (extra for a continental brekkie ) There is a bed, a TV, a toilet/wet room and that's it. So the positives are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dexterBucks
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Dexter Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Our concept revolves around the idea of pared down luxury, making up in quality fixtures and fittings what we have lost in terms of floor space. This also means that we are able to offer...

Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

The Bloc hotel is luxury on a budget. Sadly, the luxury is offered in exchange for space. The rooms are very well appointed, but tiny. The shower room is so cramped you could physically shower, go to the toilet and wash your hands in the sink at the same time. There is 1 hanger provided for clothing and no wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EGD1987
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear EGD1987, Thank you for taking the time to review BLOC Hotel Birmingham. You are absolutely correct that our ethos is focused around pared down luxury, providing compact but beautifully equipped and finished rooms, at prices that start at just £49 per night for a double room. We hope that in offering comfortable King-sized beds in pristine surroundings in the...

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Standard Double Room No Vista (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room With Vista (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 142 in Birmingham
1,007 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 142 in Birmingham
2,203 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#27 of 142 in Birmingham
1,060 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 142 in Birmingham
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: RM225 - RM428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloc Hotel Birmingham England
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and ask for a window in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles JASON247, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The apartments are definitely worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Ladowding, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room with a window is better”
 of 5 bubbles Samboii, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the option of a windowless room for a budget price but do accept that they will be small.”
 of 5 bubbles MessengerM, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lots of light switches, hours of entertainment!!”
 of 5 bubbles 293leigha, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay