We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

It's a little outdated and tired but good for a overnight stay staff are friendly and has ample parking. Ensuite facilities were clean and well maintained. Could not really fault it for me and my husband it was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumdadbaby
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with the service received and the cleanliness of your room. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The site is a little old & tired, but the staff have always made the stay. Helpful, friendly & professional. They always seem to be cleaning. Location wise, it's a typical motorway side set-up, but set amongst trees & grass at the back of the services. Nice little 'sneaky' back door exit avoiding the motorway.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about our team members, we will make sure to pass this on to the hotel for you. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are delighted to see this has been achieved. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel, we do hope to see you...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 27 November 2016

My family and I have booked in to travelodge frankly Birmingham from the 18/11/16 and are due to leave on the 09/12/16 . Staff very unhelpful. The bed that my son was to sleep on was I single bed . As he got in bed he complained about a urine smell coming from the bed . I went to reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahmed512016
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team. at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our...

Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Friendly staff, good en suite, clean and spacious room...shame there was no lift and were given a family room upstairs. Good value for money compared to other hotels! Appreciate the 12 noon departure time!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 292angelae
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found the staff to be helpful and your room to be clean and spacious during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

All the reviews about loud traffic noise and the WiFi not working are accurate. Cleanliness is not quite up to scratch. We had dirty towels and the bathroom is functional but little touches like the bath plug being broken and stains really shouldn't happen. Sleep was disturbed at night by other guests and in the morning by staff shouting from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carwyn c
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into...

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

As a coach driver I stop at many services and frankley is the worst! Horrible food horrible staff very unhygienic! I will never stop there again terrible staff terrible food equals terrible experience!.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ableman
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We had a long journey and these services were a great place to stop off and break up our journey. There are plenty of fast food places to eat nearby, and the service station was open all night. Lots of people around, the room was lovely and clean, and the shower was fine, and my children loved being able to...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as a half way point on the way to Devon. The family room we stayed in was clean and adequate for 2 adults and 2 children for one night. Although our room was on the motorway side we had no issues with noise. The staff were pleasant and the motorway services were ok. As others have mentioned we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hmcg1707
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the WiFi service. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback such...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

An excellent welcome by friendly staff. WENDY was both helpful and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms excellent with a good sized TV. Plenty of tea and coffee available. Hotel is in a good location with easy access to both sides of the M5

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tim p
Plymouth UK
Reviewed 24 October 2016

we used it for the NEC. Although 26 miles away it was all motorway and found it easy driving. Very clean and and handy to get on and off the motorway 25minutes and we were there. Better than a drive from Plymouth first thing in the morning.. Food was from a service station Burgerking. We have used it three times...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmatthews25

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
3.2 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
#55 of 115 in Birmingham
244 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Rubery) Hotel
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Westmead Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#40 of 115 in Birmingham
601 reviews
15.0 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
13.5 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Perry Barr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound

Address: Frankley Motorway Services Illey Lane, Birmingham B32 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: RM188 - RM370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Travelodge Frankley m5 Southbound Hotel Birmingham
Travelodge Hotel Birmingham
Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound England
Travel Lodge Birmingham
Birmingham Travel Lodge
Birmingham Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“even motorway side rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles potteringaround2015, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms facing the car park are very quiet and do not get any m5 noise”
 of 5 bubbles martinbR1888CW, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing car park further from motorway so probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles lenkalass, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi is only 30 minutes.”
 of 5 bubbles gma5018142, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the quieter car park side”
 of 5 bubbles Lyn_T149, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5