We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Malmaison Birmingham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Malmaison Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,057 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,043: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

i stayed at this hotel roughly a year ago and was quite impressed so looking forward to a second stay this january. How utterly disappointed I was! after a fun day of meetings i was able to check in to my room on the 6th floor to find the duvet did not properly fit the bed, there was rubbish left...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaxblondeb
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stay here very frequently, i highly recommend as it is perfectly located for restaurants in the Mailbox and City night life. reception staff are helpful and friendly, I normally stay in a Double room. I advise that you book the room online using their deals they have for example. Room, Cocktails, Breakfast, Evening Meal and Bottle of Wine Bundle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deano150
Gorsedd
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location with reduced parking fees, and only a few minutes walk to New Street Station. Rooms varied in size but all where of a good size, all beds where large king size with quality mattresses and pillows, linen was excellent. Bathrooms where very clean but getting a bit dated with the shower over the bath. Towels large and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian H
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Ian H, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at Malmaison here on TripAdvisor. It was really nice to read your comments & I will make sure that the team are thanked for making your stay enjoyable. I hope that we will see you back with us very soon. Very best...

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic room, big and comfortable, good minibar, retro lighting (proper retro not the original still the after 30 years!!) power shower, iron in room. Bed big and comfortable, extra pillows and cushions comp soap etc really nice, all round very A1, downstairs bar in great and the cocktails are legendary (esp the blackforest martini) only downside....breakfast was low

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandmtennant
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Jandmtennant, Thanks for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that we got things right for you & even more so, that you published your experience with Mal. I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at Malmaison Birmingham. Very best regards Damian

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently booked and stayed in the Havana Suite for my partner's birthday. It was ok, but not quite as good as I would have expected. I called reception to order drinks for the room, and they forwarded me to the bar. The bar then asked why we were calling them and not room service, but did take our order. Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah S
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here in Birmingham. It was disappointing to read that you didn't love your stay in our Havana Suite - feedback regarding this room has always been highly positive so we would love to hear from you and get further details on how we could...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed over Xmas - left Boxing Day - and I felt dirty. Everything seems to be painted black - great for SM dungeons or the 1980's but today? Had an argument with the lady on breakfast duties - really un-necessarily aggressive - you will sit here - no I wont - you will etc. The AC was dead/dying so room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dwalton2000
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear dwalton2000, Thank you for the recollection of your recent stay. Clearly the decor isn't something that suits everybody's tastes which I'm sorry to see. As a hotel we always try and resolve things at the time so it's frustrating to hear of issues with other guests retrospectively, as had you raised this with a member of our team during...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night with my partner on 07/01/2017 we booked the date night package where you get a room meal and breakfast which we were looking forward to then an evening around the mailbox. The room was lovely no complaints checked in quickly everything good. Booked into dinner went to the restaurant took someone 15 minutes to bring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren G
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Whilst I'm glad to see that the room was to your liking, please accept my apologies that your stay wasn't as either of us would have expected from a restaurant perspective. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you what we can do. Very best regards, Damian

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have used this hotel a lot over the years and really appreciated the refurbed look. However I think I will give it a Miss next time I need a hotel in Birmingham. Why? Well no big disasters but... The room was cold and thermostat stuck on 16 degrees so no heat was coming out of the ventilator. How long...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christopher M
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, I'm sorry for your poor recent experience at Mal Birmingham, I don't think that this represents our regular offering but equally will use your feedback to address your concerns and help improve our service levels. Very best regards, Damian

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wanted a hotel that was close to the Barclaycard arena that had a quirky feel to it. This hotel fits the bill. It's not the closest or the cheapest to the venue but it was perfect for us. It was only 6mins walk from New street station and less than 15mins walk to the arena/Brindley place. The hotel itself has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie B
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay at Malmaison Birmingham; it certainly is an exciting hotel to work in. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Very best regards, Damian

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the breakfast, dinner deal for a 2 nights stay and can not fault the great quality of the food, similar to a previous review there was a £2 surcharge for a cooked breakfast but I didn't use its as the quality and quantity available as continental was great. The 3 course set menu for dinner was superb, a highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaraTravels22
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Sara, Thanks for your review of your stay at Malmaison Birmingham. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about our restaurant to the team. Very best regards, Damian

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (261)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 142 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 142 in Birmingham
2,626 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 142 in Birmingham
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#39 of 142 in Birmingham
1,384 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#25 of 142 in Birmingham
889 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 142 in Birmingham
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: RM510 - RM949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Birmingham England
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malmaison Birmingham staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Malmaison Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the deals they have on their website”
 of 5 bubbles Deano150, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room by the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you leave plenty of time for breakfast (service slow)”
 of 5 bubbles jandmtennant, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for the Havana Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lovely hotel good location to stay eat and shop”
 of 5 bubbles 4valb, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay