We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Conference Aston Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Conference Aston Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 370: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Having stayed here last year it was my first choice as it was perfect, this time however it wasn't. The room was fine we had been upgraded due to not being able to have a room next to our friends, but when it came to breakfast it was a different matter, breakfast was served till 10am we went down at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn N
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyn N I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was spoiled by the poor breakfast experience you had. The service you received was undesirable and way below the First Class service we strive to achieve. Unfortunately, a series of unpredictable incidents resulted in equipment failure and staff shortages on the day. This was further compounded... More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely room. Large restaurant area. Staff very friendly, cleared away fast and efficiently. Lots of choice at the buffet. Would recommend. Street map available from reception. Water dispenser on landing. Variety of teas in room. Could show other hotels how to operate. Very quiet at night. Only comment is the grab rail over the bath seemed to me the wrong... More 

Helpful?
Thank mondeomum
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mondeomum Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of Conference Aston Hotel and it's a pleasure to read that you had a lovely and quiet stay and it's always nice to hear compliments about our great team of staff. You have got me wondering though, and I will have to go through all the bedrooms to check the... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not exactly like a student back from my day, but I am softened up from years of good living. The first impression was pretty good, snacks and coffee on arrival, the communal areas are sharp. However, after a few days you realise that half a cup of not quite boiling tea is not quite enough. The rooms appear to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allison M
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allison M Thank you for posting such a detailed review of Conference Aston Hotel and judging by your feedback you stayed in one of our 'Prince' or single bedrooms which have 3/4 size beds and en-suite showers. You mention the tea and coffee facilities which our conference delegates have access to throughout the day. I will contact the drinks... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely stay in this hotel! Great location for conference and with nearby parking. Staff all friendly and helpful too. Had dinner in bar and the food was great. The place has a nice relaxed ambience that feels great.

Helpful?
Thank tina t
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina T Thank you for taking the time to review Conference Aston Hotel and I am pleased that you had a lovely stay. We have recently made some cosmetic changes to help improve the ambience in our bar and it's nice to know that they have worked. Like so many other Reviewers have done, I thank you for mentioning... More 

Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It always gives me great pleasure as a person from within the industry to congratulate colleagues from other hotels/venues/restaurants when they deliver. And deliver CA did in spades. Like a lot of guests who comment on TA, we were there for a conference. But that did not mean second class service. Far from it. The bedroom (new stock) was comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank MStJB
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MStJB Thank you for your outstanding review of Conference Aston Hotel, especially as you are from within the industry. Your 5-Star ratings for Service, Value and Location are also greatly appreciated. We are very proud of our fantastic team of staff and it is a pleasure to read that they delivered. It is positive comments from guests such as... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Use this place a lot since I work on campus, always friendly, efficient and really nice rooms. Big comfortable beds, breakfasts now much improved and just an all round great place. Small bar with good selection of drinks, bottled and draft beers.

Helpful?
Thank Chatz2014
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chatz2014 Thank you for posting such a positive review of Conference Aston Hotel. It is especially pleasing to receive a 5-Star rating from a regular guest such as yourself. It's great to read that you have noticed an improvement in our recently adapted breakfast buffet and we are receiving compliments daily about the quality and variety of food on... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here in November 2016 due to having a conference the following day. I prepaid for parking online beforehand for the following day but it wasn't clear if parking was included for the day I got there. The receptionist was very helpful with this, she was also friendly and welcoming. I found the hotel wasn't easy the find because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie C
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirstie C Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Conference Aston Hotel and I am pleased to read that overall, you would recommend us despite the issues you encountered. If you haven't updated the maps in your SatNav recently, it would be appreciated if you could send me an email to graham@conferenceaston.co.uk with details of... More 

North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I say that the only negative thing about this hotel is that the mirror in the bathroom is too big, it should tell you something. This place is amazing, big rooms, comfy beds, free wifi, lovely food and helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah T Well what can I say except that you are lovely for posting such a fantastic review - thank you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the trick we unfortunately didn't teach you about the bathroom mirrors in the bedroom you were in is that they have a heated section. If you... More 

London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only needed the room for the night and this was perfect. Very clean, great size family room the bed was really big so for my wife baby and I it was perfect. Breakfast was included and was very good, had a great selection for all. Staff very nice and helpful. Car park on site also.

Helpful?
Thank GJSimeoni
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GJSimeoni Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of Conference Aston Hotel and I am pleased to read that you had a great room and the bed was ideal for your needs. Please visit us again once your baby is bigger and feel free to ask for a cot when you book as cots... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, the hotel is within the Aston University campus, near by gym & wellbeing facilities available for free when booked a room. Café and restaurant within hotel, but many options close by. 10 minute drive from Star city which has many options for food. The staff at reception was brilliant , very helpful, friendly and gave good advise as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Turky_FG
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Turky_FG Your review of Conference Aston Hotel is greatly appreciated, especially for your comments about our staff, as it is guests like you who make them feel appreciated and help them maintain their friendly and helpful attitude - thank you. Our staff will be pleased to welcome you back so hopefully you will visit us again. It's a pity... More 

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#24 of 141 in Birmingham
857 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
The Royal Angus Hotel
#53 of 141 in Birmingham
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 141 in Birmingham
767 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 141 in Birmingham
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: RM362 - RM742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston
Conference Aston Hotel Birmingham, England
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#38 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Conference Aston Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Leicester England Uk
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Conference Aston Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good value, brilliant staff”
 of 5 bubbles Turky_FG, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lovely being on floor 5 for the views!”
 of 5 bubbles MRB01, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Generally very good”
 of 5 bubbles SimonW114, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles HalifaxThespian, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room, on the other side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles stephw_11, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay