We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 426: English reviews
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

Rude staff and dirty bathroom. Stayed for 2 nights, took my towel and didn't give me a fresh one. 1/4 toilet roll left and no refill. Soft pillow just as hard as the hard one. Bonus is that there are left over food on the table from the previous guests

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soya888
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Soya888, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay....

Reviewed 29 November 2014

I arranged to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Star City in Birmingham. My accomodation was arranged for just two nights; the staff were very inviting and made me feel welcome. My room was situated on the ground floor, very close to the reception and breakfast/ dining area which was nice but also a little uncomfortable since you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shahidmuhammad
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear shahidmuhammad, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff and the rooms. However, we’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this concern. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2014 via mobile

My wife, our son and our friend stayed one night to go and watch a football match at local Villa Park. Hotel is well presented and clean. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Bathroom splendid. The only two members of staff I had dealings with were the chap who booked us in and out and the guy behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sollypaul
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2014

The hotel was a bit remote for getting to Birmingham centre. Taxi costs about a tenner. We visited for the Christmas market, group of 4 adults. The carpet and walls in our room were a bit dirty. Cobwebs on the ceiling. They failed to clean the room after first night and change the towels this was rectified quickly. My sister's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arto2010
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Arto2010, Thank you so much for taking some time out of your busy day to leave us a feedback.I am elated by the fact that you were able to find delight in the service provided and in the quality of sleep that you have experienced in our hotel, reflected on your ratings. However, it is regretful to learn that...

cleethorpes
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We were booked in for 2 nights. We asked for a ground floor room and it wasn't a problem for them. Everything was perfect. Good sized room, clean bathroom. The lady on reception was pleasant. The breakfast is adequate. No complaints at all. Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marijoy23
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We visited Birmingham German market and stayed at this hotel. It's easy to find and plenty of space for parking (note, the secure parking I'm not sure about as the gate was always open) The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. We were given just 1 pillow each and when I requested more they only had another 2 as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999Nick34
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear 999Nick34, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It is regretful to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay because some of our room amenities did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I have noted your comments and shared them with...

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2014

We have just returned after a weekend at the christmas market. This hotel was perfect. Good price,clean and nice breakfast. There were eight of us we had four rooms and each room was equally good. The staff were helpful. We were all very pleased.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moo234
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014

I had arrived at the hotel around 11pm as I had finished my shift and drove from London. Check in was quite fast but card machine was not working so they couldn’t charge the booking but I had explained it was paid for by my company. Once I had gone to my room I checked the room to see everything...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Yahya P
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Yahya P, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring...

Canterbury
Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

Really lovely hotel, good value, breakfast was tasty and rooms were clean. Free Wifi was very fast, and easy to sign on to (unlike some other hotels which require a barrage of info and landing pages before allowing you to browse the web). Only points to improve on are: TV Provision - on Hotels.com it was advertised as having Satellite,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank guymayhew132
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Staff are friendly - rooms are basic but cleans & spacious. Breakfast was Good & plentiful. For the price i think its a great place to stay and i have stayed here twice now and will probably return if i need to stay in Birmingham again. Its in a great location as its in the middle of everything.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgie S

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
913 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
3,419 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: RM288 - RM576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City England
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 1AceTraveller, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 915alanp, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont stay on the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles JaneD252, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles stumpysbird, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book Early for good room rates”
 of 5 bubbles grendall69, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5