We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Coventry South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Coventry South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 315: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Coventry South
 Click to rate
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have read all the recent reviews, so here's mine. Rooms big and spacious - far bigger than I would expect to get for the money I paid. I had plenty of hot water in my room. I accept that the wifi issue is a major problem if you are there on business. Warning signs about the lack of Wifi coverage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear David C, thank you for taking the time to post your review and understanding of the one off incident with lack of hot water, this was resolved within a couple of hours. The wifi we are hopeful will be resolved soon and are also expecting fibre as an upgrade to improve the speed. We are pleased to read you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

How is that possible you might ask? Well, the food is pretty good, room was nice, very helpful staff and no parking fee. But what went wrong? No internet and no hot water!! And yet, when checking out I was told what, why, when by a lady that fully understood that we were not interested in paying a lot for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarmannSam
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear BarmannSam, thank you for your kind words reagrding the team whilst facing some challenges during your staff. I know our Reception Manager was concerned at the inconvenience this caused. I'm really pleased she resolved the issues to your satisfaction and do hope we can welcome you back to the Coventry South soon. With kind regards, Christine

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located on a major road with lots of traffic but not very much around it by way of amenities. Initial reception ok and room adequate but issues over the week as I stayed there. The Wifi is terrible and rarely stays up for half an hour if you are lucky. Failed totally every night and had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mangonian
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear Mangonian, thank you for your full review following your stay last week. I am really sorry to read of the basic issues you experienced within the restaurant and I will address this with the team front and back of house. We are chasing BT to fix the external cable fault as this is having an impact with the Wifi...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

No hot water, no wifi, no bowls for cereal, no glasses for fruit juice, no information just no good !! Poor girl at reception had no idea what was going on, had to cancel my first meeting as I couldn't have a shower ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roamer1966
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear Roamer1966, please accept my apologies for the poor levels of service received at breakfast, unfortunately one team member was unwell in the morning and at such short notice we were unable to cover this position. This was the first time we had a fault with the hot water boiler and was rectified by 10am but appreciate this caused an...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is right next to the highway - not the most appealing surroundings for sure. The rooms need a major overhaul. And the view literally on a wall from the window was depressing. And the wifi did not work during my entire stay - which is absolutely unacceptable for a business hotel like this one. According to the manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pierre T
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear Pierre, thank your for your review. The Hotel is located within easy reach of main road networks, however we do not experience many noise concern. Our bedrooms are a very spacious size which suits many of our business customers who stay each week. Following your conversations with our Reception Manager, it is correct we are awaiting an upgrade to...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just got back from a weekend stay. I was very happy with the hotel, friendly greeting when we arrived, the clean room and comfortable bed, really powerful shower and helpful staff. I have to say, the food was excellent. I had a perfect steak, breakfast was a buffet and everything was very good and kept being replenished, the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayne h
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear Jayne H, thanks for taking the time to write your review and I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, especially the food and helpful team. I will pass on your thanks. With regards, Christine

chester
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for Crufts as the hotel accepts dogs. The wifi didn't work for the whole stay. When reception were informed they were obviously aware of a problem so must be ongoing. Rooms are extremely dated and tatty, a real 1 star hotel!! Unfortunately although dogs are accepted in the hotel they are not allowed in the bar area unlike...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledwelshie
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear Welltravelledwelshie, thanks for taking the time to post your review and we are ideally located just 20 minutes from the NEC for events such as Crufts. I apologise for the wifi issues, we are investing in an ugrade to fibre as this is not currently available in the area and should be live very soon. With regards, Christine

Beaconsfield
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Very old style and out dated ... from 1980 ! style ... over priced .... dirty and old carpets in rooms ... no lift... NO WIFI .... AVOID ! Breakfast was really poor so as in room service ... you can't expect more from 3 star anyway ... but they charge you same as a 5 star hotel .... paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sami N
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear Sami N, thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, and we are sorry to learn of your disappointment. We offer best available rates, Coventry is a very busy area mid-week hence the pricing. I apologise for the issues you experienced with our wifi we are investing in an upgrade as currently there is no fibre in our location...

Scarborough
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We normally stay at the Premier Inn, when visiting our granddaughter in Coventry. This time it was fully booked, so the alternative was here. So glad that this was the case. Super comfy beds, friendly staff and good breakfast. Next time will look here first !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thetreasurer1997
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear Thetreasurer1997, thanks for your kind words regarding the Hotel and the team. I will pass this on as it makes lovely reading. We are very pleased you found our hidden gem with our spacious rooms and new bedding package. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With regards, Christine

Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I'm afraid my heart sank as I entered the carpark to realise that I'd mistakenly booked the hotel I'd had a horrendous night in just into the new year. Back then the room was freezing (and I don't like a hot hotel room) as the heater didn't work and mistakenly thought it would be OK. No fault of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 55Julian55
Christine E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coventry South, responded to this review

Dear 55Julian55, thank you for your detailed feedback on TripAvisor, I am sorry you were unable to speak to anyone during your stay. I do understand your frustrations. Unfortunetly we did have a breakfast colleague leave in the morning unwell and were unable to cover his shift with no notice. Please do contact me at gm.hicoventry@kewgreen.co.uk so that I can...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
1.3 km away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
462 reviews
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
7.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
5.8 km away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel is located minutes from the historical centre of Coventry and less than 1 mile from Coventry International Airport and 6 miles from Birmingham International Airport and easy to reach from the M1, M6, M69 or M42, M40. It's an ideal base for leisure guests with Leamington Spa, Rugby, Derby, Nottingham, Leicester, Warwick Castle and Shakespeare's Stratford upon Avon a short drive away. The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) is within 20 minutes and the National Agricultural Centre (NAC) just 5 minutes along with Stoneleigh Park. Coventry City Football Club s new stadium, the Ricoh Arena, is just an 8 minute drive. The Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel facilities are modern and friendly with spacious public areas and exceptionally large bedrooms each with High speed internet access. Dine in our restaurant, from a wide choice of International dishes, or choose to relax in the lounge bar, alternatively treat yourself to room service. Whatever the occasion, the Holiday Inn Coventry - South Hotel is an ideal venue for special events. We offer a variety of Wedding & Conference packages including, The Perfect Wedding Venue & Conference Center - Holiday Inn Coventry South ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coventry South

Address: London Road, Coventry CV8 3DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Price Range: RM271 - RM772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coventry South 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Coventry South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coventry South Hotel Coventry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Coventry South staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Coventry South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 28 Lovely large King size twin bedded family room - not sure children would want to share a bed with siblings though.”
hilliemason, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're disabled, don't book.”
931ginnyg, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Staff needs a makeover”
moayd2016, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Yes, rooms 51 and 52 both doubles and roomy”
michaeldj2014, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no idea if i'm honest. just hope for the best id say”
RajBirdi, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5