We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St Mary's Gate Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St Mary\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for St Mary's Gate Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

One night visit to Arundel with my mate , stayed at st Mary's Gate Inn. Great accommodation ,stayed in the family room. Clean fresh and tidy and like the rest of Arundel a bit quirky . We preferred it to a hotel as it is more apartment or Gite style . Friendly staff in the pub and lovely beers /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mackinners
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Visited here for lunch during the Christmas break, and am so happy we did! Had the chicken pie for lunch and it was delicious - generous portions, flaky pastry, and a heavenly mash to accompany it. My friend had the steak & ale pie and was equally satisfied. Decent selection of ales and beers too. A great lunch stop with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tara K
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

2nd stay at St Marys Gate. Again a lovely experience. Room cosy and comfy the staff friendly and helpful. Good choice for breakfast especially the sausages so partner very happy. Also enjoyed two tasty evening meals. Will stay again when visiting Arundel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliediggines123
Slinfold
Reviewed 24 December 2016

As we were both on duty at the cathedral later that day we took the easy way out and lunched at the at the Gate Inn. Friendly greeting, shoepwed to our reserved table, drinks served, main course ordered and it was all very good. I had no room for a dessert but one was ordered for my wife. Amounts, quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidheysham
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We booked for a meal with my brother and family we had not seen for many years. My two daughters and myself age range 80 to 50 arrived first, were warmly greeted and invited behind the bar for a photograph. Family arrived, meal ordered and we were all pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the meal. Pub food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
Reading Berkshire UK
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We had been round the Cathedral on a freezing day and were desparate for something warm and found this nice little pub right opposite the Cathedral. .......We entered a nice and warm environment and received a warm welcome from the lady behind the bar. She attended to us very quickly by bringing menus and asking what would we like to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TTFan3d
kent
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I booked the St Mary's Gate Inn for 3 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday by spending the weekend in Arundel. The inn is situated at the top of a hill next to the Cathedral. We arrived early, Nevin the landlady was there to greet us and show us to our room in the annexe at the rear. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giantkillerjack
bojt2015, Owner at St Mary's Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hi Guys Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to meet you both - especially as you were celebrating! I hope you didnt stub your toe on the foot end :) I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Arundel and hope to see you again. Many thanks & Kind regards Nevin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The room was tiny, the curtains scraped my head all night, and presumably all those heads that had been there before me. The bathroom floor was so mucky it stuck to my shoes and I had to cover it with towels. I felt dirty after a night in there, which was unfortunate because the hot water in our 'family' room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFogg1965
bojt2015, Owner at St Mary's Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hi There, I'm sorry you feel the need to leave such a scathing review. I'm, afraid as you didn't speak to anyone at the time there was no opportunity to investigate the situation. To be honest I disagree with almost everything you have written and in fact your comments seem malicious. The entire B&B was refurbished 2 years ago -...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Met a good friend for a catch up dinner here recently. The venue is well decorated and clean. It was very busy with locals on arrival, a good sign I think. There is free wifi for patrons/guests, which is always handy and appreciated. Overall staff were friendly and attentive however, one member of staff was a little curt and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beaubeaus
bojt2015, Owner at St Mary's Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review - your comments are really valuable to us. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience at St Marys Gate but I apologise you found a couple of issues. I have taken both points on board and will share them with our team. Its constructive feedback that allows us to improve so thank you. kind...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

It was very quiet when we went in, and the place was well kept. Food was good only let down by a tiredish salad. Beer is well kept and the people are very pleasant. Typically a sound three star establishment. However there is a very cute dog who comes over to say hello. Extra star for a cute friendly dog!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M L

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.5 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
587 reviews
0.4 km away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
896 reviews
1.2 km away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,897 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
1.8 km away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Price Range: RM457 - RM603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St Mary's Gate Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Roseville, California

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from St Mary's Gate Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you cannot park close to the hotel then there are other parks around the town.”
ANDREWTHEPILGRIM, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Castle room excellent although we saw one of the rooms off the car park & they looked fine”
Babyblue1995, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 has two beds so can share with a friend or family”
mackinners, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 3 on two occasions. The room is in the outside annexe. Comfy bed large shower. Car parking outside room.”
  • Lovely furnishings
  • Comfy bed
Juliediggines123, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room.”
MrsMinder, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5